We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful experience-not one minus”
Review of The Mark

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Mark
Ranked #28 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
los angeles,ca
Level 6 Contributor
350 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“A wonderful experience-not one minus”
Reviewed 7 October 2012

Staying at the Mark was a delight. Everything hit the mark. First of all, we were upgraded to amazing accommodations. The view was lovely. The bed and the linens on it were most comfortable. We always look for good lighting as we are avid readers.The lighting was perfect.The suite was a joy to return to after a busy day. Breakfast was good and the bar a lively place in the evening.What a great pineapple mojito I had!The service at the Mark was exemplary:the housekeepers, the doormen,etc-truely professional. We would like to single out and give special thanks to the concierge Jeannie Voltsines who so kindly helped us with some thorny problems. This was our first time at the Mark and certainly, it will not be our last.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: An upper floor is helpful as it is less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mflickermd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olivier L, General Manager at The Mark, responded to this review, 16 October 2012
Thank you very much for sharing your thoughtful comments of your recent stay with us at The Mark. I am so glad to hear that you had a great stay! I am pleased you were happy with the in-house dining, our concierge, doorman and housekeeping and especially glad you enjoyed one of our signature cocktails, the Pineapple Mojito. I will pass on your comments to our staff who will be delighted to read them. We’re so happy to have been able to make your New York experience even more wonderful and we look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    556
    112
    35
    11
    6
See reviews for
141
279
63
136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012 via mobile

My husband and I have travelled to NYC with work quite a bit and stayed in quite a few of the large 'big name' hotels such as the palace and the Waldorf, we have generally been underwhelmed by these experiences.
The Mark was refreshingly different, modern, clean and stylish. The room was decorated in an art deco style similar to Claridges in London with elegant lines and a lot of beautiful white marble in the bathroom. The bath was massive and the amenities were of a great quality.
Downstairs there was a lively bar and although we didn't eat there the restaurant looked extremely popular.
We did eat at the boulud restaurant round the corner which was great. I note this because the location is a little residential which is something you should be aware of from a restaurant and nightlife perspective but brilliantly located for the Guggenheim and the Frick collection, it's also surrounded by great shops, and bikes are available at your disposal.
Service throughout was excellent. We really loved our experience and will now treat it as our base whenever we stay in manhatten.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HotelMavenLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, CA
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012

My wife and I spent a quick weekend at the Mark with another couple. The service is gracious with European touches and the Mark’s rooms were generously sized, especially for NY standards.

Liked: Free wifi (rarity at this price point); location well suited for boutique shopping along Madison Ave; Jean-Georges restaurant was excellent; vibrant bar scene; well done room Crestron room controls; plenty of closet space; most comfortable beds ever!

Anomalies: Extreme room service pricing and delayed well beyond quoted time (as in 20 mins turned into >1 hour; questionable room servicing/cleaning

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonnyHei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Firenze
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 330 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

The Mark is one the new york classics.
The location is nice in the exclusive madison avenue, close to the shops and museums, next to central park.
The rooms are well decorated, maybe not too big, but an attentive service+good restaurant and a fekkai hair saloon make it a good competitor of the carlyle and the other luxury hotels in town.
New york is a noisy town and as per many other hotels the rooms are not sound proof. Something to keep in mind if you want to sleep here

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mgiornet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New England
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012

This was a very fortunate experience. I had a leading hotels of the world voucher which was due to expire and chose to apply it (on a just-in-time basis) to The Mark. So I was given what was probably a run of the house roon, facing the street, low floor. It was splendid.

The service level from start-to-finish was remarkable. Every detail was performed with élan, and even though the service touch was so high, it wasn’t unctuous. It was a pleasure to see decent water and good internet access provided gratis.

The room layout was just right. The bedding was quite comfortable, and the bathroom was a tiled treat. All in all, only kudos for my experience with the hotel. It might not be everyone’s cup of tea to be situated so relatively high on the east side, adjacent to the park, but it was a nice quiet retreat with a more neighborly feel than one might otherwise get. I would imagine that going rates are steep for such a quality experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ValuingTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 September 2012

The Mark is a very nice modern hotel. Rooms are large and beautiful, bathrooms are also big and very functional.The service is very kind and people are willing to help.
We had a wonderful night in the Upper East Side, very close to Central Park and park Avenue
A perfect stay at the perfect place

Room Tip: The hotel is very quiet and safe. We were on the third floor facing 77th street and we heard no nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathalie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

I just spent the last weekend (September 14th to the 17th) at The Mark with my husband and two children (ages 5 and 8). The hotel is in a great neighborhood especially when you are with young kids. Central Park is one block away. The area is not loud, crowded or dirty. It is also not very touristy on the upper east side in comparison to other areas. It seems like the Jean Georges restaurant and Frederick Fekkai hair salon are busy with local residents. The shopping surrounding the hotel is incredible and in my opinion the best shopping neighborhood in Manhattan. Now onto the actual hotel. The lobby is gorgeous, the staff are very friendly and accommodating, the gym is great, the rooms are clean and comfortable and the food in the restaurant is incredible. The room was not the nicest I have ever been in but it was good enough and the location made up for it. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sydneysammy36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
The Surrey
The Surrey
#80 of 466 in New York City
1,849 reviews
Upper East Side
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
#249 of 466 in New York City
774 reviews
Upper East Side
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper East Side
Loews Regency New York Hotel
Loews Regency New York Hotel
#30 of 466 in New York City
1,498 reviews
Midtown
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
#8 of 466 in New York City
691 reviews
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mark

Property: The Mark
Address: Madison Avenue at 77th Street, 25 East 77th Street, New York City, NY 10078
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in New York City
#24 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#26 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#31 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Mark 5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mark is housed, as it has always been, in the beautiful, 1927 landmark building at the corner of 77th Street and Madison Avenue. But, inside, the Mark has been completely reimagined, and given new life and identity for the 21st century. Newly reborn, The Mark combines old-world comfort, avant-garde design, up-to-the-minute technology and an unprecedented level of personal service to create the finest five-star hotel of the 21st century. Drawing on the expertise of an extraordinary group of talent – foremost, among them, the designer Jacques Grange, Chef Jean-Georges Vongerichten, hair stylist Frederic Fekkai and the hotel general manager Olivier Lordonnois – The Mark Hotel is now a beacon of high French style, and modern American technology and comfort. The delights of The Mark are both bold and discreet. The graphic lobby is colorful and convivial, situated with unique objects d’art that surprise and intrigue. Studded in one of New York's most exclusive neighborhoods, The Mark is surrounded by the world's premier museums, shops, restaurants and the splendor of Central Park. The Mark not only surrounds you in luxury and style, it places you at the epicenter of Manhattan’s social and cultural riches. The Mark Restaurant by Jean-Georges, set within The Mark Hotel has received a Wine Spectator Award of Excellence by Wine Spectator in 2012. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Preferred Hotels, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Mark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mark Hotel New York City
Mark New York City
Mark Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing