We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular serviice and accommodations”
Review of The Mark

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Mark
Ranked #30 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 February 2011

The hotel is beautifully renovated and feels brand new. The staff is superb - gracious, helpful, going way out of their way to remember guests and their preferences. Fabulous rooms. Very luxurious and welcoming feel!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joybunson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (742)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

608 - 614 of 742 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2011

This is what my boss says whenever he needs to travel to NYC - which he does with frequency. Business, and leisure, find him all over the world, and he is not usually insistent that he stay in one specific hotel. The Mark is one of the few exceptions, and the only place in NYC that he will stay. The staff is wonderfully helpful and attentive, and while the price is high the fact is when you consider where you are, and what you are getting, the cost is more than reasonable. Location, accommodations, service: The Mark excels in every category.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PAL1017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2011

Visited for pleasure, it had the intended purpose of making my spouse very happy. The hotel is beautiful in a very modern way. The staff was very nice, especially the door staff. Breakfast was also a treat. We liked the neighborhood but it was just too cold to really see much of it. I don't get effusive often but this was very well done. If any issues, it is not inexpensive and a hair noisy, but the rest more than makes up for it. ALso, the bathroom and especially the soaking tub are winners.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flyway2much
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2011

Loved the new Mark. The Bar was too much fun and the decor was great. Met the GM, a very distinguished Englishman that had me in stitches all night. Definitley recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelling234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2010

We stayed here for 4 nights in November 2010. Impeccable lobby which opens to a bar (very busy at night) and the restaurant. Smooth check-in, beautiful room with very good bed and marvelous bathroom (marble - glass) with bath and separate shower. Very clean, luxurious, high standard materials and stylish. Quiet nights.
We had high tea once and breakfast twice, these were less impressive - just standard without any cheff's signature to it. Service here was friendly.
Location is very nice, near Museum Mile, Central Park and good shopping.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tripcat900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2010

stayed there for my birtdhay trip to NY, still under the spell. Only minus is the view from courtyard rooms on lower floors, if you go for courtyard, make sure to request a room higher up.
apart from that it was perfect!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kawa1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2010

I Stayed at this hotel October 22-23rd . From the moment I arrived at the Mark, to the moment of my departure, I was treated like a VIP. The Mark is located in New York's Upper East Side, near the Metropolitan Museum of Art, local trendy shopping and boutiques, and Central Park!

My check in was quick and very pleasant. I arrived a few hours early, however I could not get an early check in due to the hotel being sold out the night before. It was not problem for me. They allowed me to store my luggage as I wanted to get buyy shopping. As I returned later in the afternoon, I were escorted by a to my room. The hotel escort explained everything in the room from top to bottom.

I had one of the gorgeous Seventy-Seven King rooms. The room overlooked the street and overlooking the historic East 77th Street. These rooms are not only gorgeous but they are also HUGE. My room was over 500 square feet and came with all of the bells and whistles.

The bathroom alone took my breath away. It was very chic with its black-and-white marble floors, its beautiful double sinks, deep-soaking tub and separate glass shower. In the bathroom mirror is an extra TV so you can watch TV as you get ready for dinner or any other time. I loved the heated towel racks in the bathroom and there is also an additional telephone located in the bathroom. The beds are out - of -this world comfortable! I loved the Crestron room control panel that controls temperature,TV, shades and lights with a touch of the remote! I loved having my own bar in the room with glassware. There was also your own ice in the SubZero drawers.

When I return to New York in the future there is no question with regards to which hotel I will choose to stay in – The Mark. I can’t say enough about this amazing hotel and the 5 star staff . I would urge anyone booking a trip to New York to stay at the Mark Hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank innate18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
The Surrey
The Surrey
#90 of 469 in New York City
1,897 reviews
Upper East Side
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Upper East Side
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
#297 of 469 in New York City
803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper East Side
Loews Regency New York Hotel
Loews Regency New York Hotel
#36 of 469 in New York City
1,599 reviews
Midtown
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
#7 of 469 in New York City
711 reviews
Midtown
Park Hyatt New York
Park Hyatt New York
#23 of 469 in New York City
1,499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mark

Address: Madison Avenue at 77th Street, 25 East 77th Street, New York City, NY 10078
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in New York City
#24 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#28 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#31 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £390 - £1,167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Mark 5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mark is housed, as it has always been, in the beautiful, 1927 landmark building at the corner of 77th Street and Madison Avenue. But, inside, the Mark has been completely reimagined, and given new life and identity for the 21st century. Newly reborn, The Mark combines old-world comfort, avant-garde design, up-to-the-minute technology and an unprecedented level of personal service to create the finest five-star hotel of the 21st century. Drawing on the expertise of an extraordinary group of talent – foremost, among them, the designer Jacques Grange, Chef Jean-Georges Vongerichten, hair stylist Frederic Fekkai and the hotel general manager Olivier Lordonnois – The Mark Hotel is now a beacon of high French style, and modern American technology and comfort. The delights of The Mark are both bold and discreet. The graphic lobby is colorful and convivial, situated with unique objects d’art that surprise and intrigue. Studded in one of New York's most exclusive neighborhoods, The Mark is surrounded by the world's premier museums, shops, restaurants and the splendor of Central Park. The Mark not only surrounds you in luxury and style, it places you at the epicenter of Manhattan’s social and cultural riches. The Mark Restaurant by Jean-Georges, set within The Mark Hotel has received a Wine Spectator Award of Excellence by Wine Spectator in 2012. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Mark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mark Hotel New York City
Mark New York City
Mark Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing