We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place in the middle of Soho”
Review of The Mercer Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Mercer Hotel
Ranked #331 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great place in the middle of Soho”
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Whenever I go to New York I stay at the Mercer. Although Soho has changed a lot in the last decade this hotel is still the sophisticated, serene and unassuming place I fell in love with many years ago. The rooms and suites are beautiful and light and offer great views of Soho. Food and service are also very good. Until next time!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luc M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercerHotelNYC, General Manager at The Mercer Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you so much for your great comment about the Mercer.
It's our pleasure and commitment to make our guests happy and feeling at home..
Looking forward to welcoming you during your nest stay with us.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    75
    26
    13
    7
See reviews for
33
99
25
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

I had visited Mercer before but hadn't stayed there. It had the kind of buzz that excited me. Pretty people move in and out of the hotel. The lobby / hangout area / restaurant works very well as the fulcrum of the hotel. The rooms were on the smaller side but then again it is New York. Overall we enjoyed our stay at the Mercer and we would again. Our only gripe would have been the service. For the price you pay you expect a little more. If you are looking for a property in the heart of Soho that is happening, the Mercer is it.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buddakhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercerHotelNYC, General Manager at The Mercer Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Dear "Buddakhan"

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts after your stay with us. We appreciate your suggestions and will ensure to exceed your expectation of service during your future stay with us.
Hopefully it will not be too long before we are able to welcome you back to the Mercer.
Best personal regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

My wife and I enjoyed a four days stay at The Mercer in April. The Studio room was spacious and very comfortable - the bathroom in particular, with very high quality towels/bathrobes and amenities. Also the bed and the textiles in the bedclothes were experienced as being particularly comfortable and of high quality. The only negative experience in the room was the climate control which did not work properly. Result: had to open the window - traffic noise.
The service and attentiveness at the Front Desk as well as the concierge/bellboys was excellent.
The service in the Lobby bar and the restaurant Kitchen was however occasionally very disappointing and the breakfast service experienced as slow - but the quality of the food when finally served was very good. One could get an impression of inadequate organizing and over staffing - this is definitely an area for improvements!
But, in total, a fine Manhattan experience in April!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olav Egil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercerHotelNYC, General Manager at The Mercer Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your comments. We are delighted to know that you found the hotel and staff to be accommodating. Your generous remarks will certainly be shared with the team. It is very rewarding for them to learn how much their efforts are appreciated.
Also your feedback regarding the service at the Lobby/Restaurant area is very important to us since we are constantly working on keeping a high level of service in this department as well.

Hopefully it will not be too long before we are able to welcome you back to the Mercer.

Best personal regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

• The staff is amazing. I didn't order a pink grand piano to my room, but an early check-in and a late check-out was handled with no hassle and even smiles.
• The location kicks some serious behind. Very much in the middle of Soho. Very convenient. A busy street corner without being a crazy street corner.
• The design will not amaze you. It's not meant to. It has been described as "understated" and I agree (since I was brought up on Scandinavian design, I can't really go oooh and aaah over any so called minimalism). Want things to shine and glitter? Stay elsewhere.
• And about the Ulmer Scale: Some folks will try not to look at you when you enter the lobby, but why care where a Clooney or a Crowe stays? The "great place to see stars"-label is actually an insult to this hotel. It's a way too good a hotel for that.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank guidebook_dot_se
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercerHotelNYC, General Manager at The Mercer Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding your May stay with us. We are thrilled to know how much you enjoyed the Mercer and its staff. We will make sure to let them know about it, as it is always rewarding for them to learn how much their efforts are valued by our guests.
Looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Best personal regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

This was our second stay at the Mercer. We spent three nights at the hotel.

We returned to the hotel because of its excellent location in the heart of SOHO and because of its comfortable, if fairly small rooms.

This time we stayed in a Mercer room. It was slightly larger than the Courtyard room we had last time, though with a view over the street, it was not as peaceful.

The room was furnished/decorated in a minimalist style, there was plenty of room for storage of clothes and suitcases (better than the Courtyard room in this respect) and the bed was large and comfortable. The ensuite was a shower room only, no bath, but the shower was large and powerful. Plenty of nice toiletries were provided. The walls between rooms seemed quite thin- we could easily hear the TV in the next room - and this, coupled with the odd bit of road noise at night could trouble light sleepers but was not a big issue for us.

We had breakfast in the lounge lobby and once again found the selection to be good. The service was prompt and the dishes tasty.

All in all, a good hotel in a good location. Quite pricey for the size and style of the room but we would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cherylanddavid2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercerHotelNYC, General Manager at The Mercer Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Dear guest,

I would like to personally thank you for posting your comments. I am delighted to know that you found the hotel and staff to be accommodating. Indeed our Mercer rooms, 300 SqFt are larger than the courtyard rooms and the bathroom are also quite spacious.
Your generous remarks regarding the quality of the food will be forwarded to the chef and the kitchen staff. It is always rewarding for them to learn how much their efforts are being appreciated by our valued customers.

Hopefully it will not be too long before we are able to welcome you back to the Mercer.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

A nice hotel for the superb location in Soho with an exclusive feel (lack of signage and photography restrictions to cater for the rich and famous). Expensive for the actual facilities though, so I won't be returning.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercerHotelNYC, General Manager at The Mercer Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks you for taking the time to post your comment after your April stay with us. Every and each feedback is always very helpful for us to exceed our guests expectations. The privacy of our customer is very important to us and to all our valued guests.
If you ever happened to stay again with us I would be more than happy to personally meet with you.
In the meantime and with kind regards,
I remain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013

Rooms loft like but quite small. Great concierge who gets you great tables at hard to get in restaurants. Staff friendly and cool. Walk out and see New York, great location. Small but quite iconic hotel. Good restaurant in house, great for breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FearnMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercerHotelNYC, General Manager at The Mercer Hotel, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for posting your comments following your stay with us in September 2012. I am delighted that you found the hotel and our restaurant to match your expectations.
Your generous remarks will be shared with the staff, it is always rewarding for them to know how much their efforts are appreciated.

Best personal regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#74 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
SoHo
The James New York
The James New York
#149 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,361 reviews
SoHo
Soho Grand Hotel
Soho Grand Hotel
#169 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoHo
11 Howard
11 Howard
#41 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
SoHo
The Broome
The Broome
#9 of 467 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
SoHo
Crosby Street Hotel
Crosby Street Hotel
#4 of 467 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mercer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mercer Hotel

Property: The Mercer Hotel
Address: 147 Mercer St, at Prince St, New York City, NY 10012-3203
Region: United States > New York > New York City > SoHo , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#94 Business Hotel in New York City
#204 Family Hotel in New York City
#205 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mercer Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate boutique hotel housed in 6-story brick, Romanesque Revival building dating from 1890, originally built for John Astor II. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your The Mercer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercer Hotel New York City
Mercer New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing