We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value, clean, good location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Time New York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Time New York
Ranked #151 of 467 Hotels in New York City
singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great value, clean, good location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

Greatly surprised by the warm services at the reception and the good maintenance. Location is great with many subway stations nearby. Staff have been very helpful. Amenities is enough. Bed was comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yayalala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Time_Hotel_Manager, Manager at The Time New York, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Hello,
I would like to thank you for your wonderful feedback. We are thrilled you had an enjoyable stay with us and had a warm welcome from our staff. We hope you think of us again on your next trip to New York City. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly for future arrangements

Best Regards,
Allen Gallardo
agallardo@thetimeny.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,045 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    673
    740
    347
    171
    114
See reviews for
340
750
141
297
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

great mid town & theater district location. Nice restaurant. Rooms seem small with older, minimally maintained fixtures and mostly with indirect light from the open center of this older building that also houses a 2nd. floor night club.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank William P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Time_Hotel_Manager, Manager at The Time New York, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Hi,

Thank you for taking the time and giving us your feedback. I am happy to read that you enjoyed the Time’s location. Like you, most of our guests are thrilled to discover that the hotel boasts one of the best addresses in NYC and is located within a short walk of all of the major attractions of the city. I am very sorry that you were not satisfied with the condition of your room. Our ultimate goal is complete guest satisfaction. I apologize that we missed the mark. I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future. Please contact me personally, so that I can be of assistance with making the necessary arrangements.

Best Regards,
Allen Gallardo
Agallardo@thetimeny.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

Next to the Eugene O'Neill Theater where "Book Of Mormon" was playing. Rooms are small but it was OK because we were out and about most of the time. I am tall so the bed was a tad short, but very comfortable otherwise. Food, shopping, entertainment were all within easy walking distance. Breakfast at the Serafina restaurant downstairs was very good; best coffee we'd had in NYC. No Wi-Fi or business center and there was a daily charge for internet so we opted out and just went down the street to FedEx Office instead. Staff was all very helpful. Best surprise: the Glass Pavilion on the Penthouse floor. One afternoon we bought wine, bread, cheese and salami at a grocer's and had a private picnic up there with lovely views!

Room Tip: Our room was on the alley side but backed-up to the elevator which being new wasn't terribly noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank valbres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Time_Hotel_Manager, Manager at The Time New York, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Hello,

I want to thank you for taking the time and giving us your wonderful feedback. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us at the Time. If you ever find yourself visiting NYC again, we would love nothing more than to welcome you back. We hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards,

Allen Gallardo
agallardo@thetimeny.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Binghamton, NY
Level Contributor
49 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

Someone with a very good eye for clever design and a very sharp pencil decorated these rooms. Everything looks as if it should be high end but when you look closely, it's really quite poor. The amenities are the standard of highway motels, the rooms are small, things are, because they are not quality, entering the 'shabby' stage. We were not impressed at all. The level of cleanliness in the bathrooms was quite poor as well. The tv did not work; we reported it and it was not fixed.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank htwollin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Time_Hotel_Manager, Manager at The Time New York, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time and giving us your feedback on your experience with us. It is through direct feedback like yours we can improve our service standards. I apologize for any inconvenience you had and do hope that you will join us again in the near future. If you have anything you would like to speak about from your previous stay, please feel free to contact me direclty.

Best Regards,
Allen Gallardo
Agallardo@thetimeny.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

The Time hotel is in the heart of it all, with restaurants, Times Square, bars, theatres, shopping, etc. just steps away. It's THE location to be. Unfortunately, the room left much to be desired. If you're like many visiting Times Square, though, you won't be spending much time in your room.
The staff was helpful, check-in was quick & easy and we were pleased that our room on the 15th floor was ready earlier than the 3:00pm check in (without any early check-in charges). I had read reviews in advance and was surprised to find that our room was larger than we expected it to be. The room had all the basics- a queen-sized bed, double windows (ours didn't have much of a view), reading lamps, a small closet with hangers and space for a suitcase, a desk, TV, stocked mini fridge (with high prices), a digital alarm clock (which was unable to keep accurate time), and a safe large enough for valuables.
The bathroom is where the room truly lacked. The sink/countertop were miniature, so there wasn't much space to spread toiletries out. The shower was very small, triangular in shape, with just enough room for a regular sized adult (if you're a larger person, you will not be comfortable in the shower as there's already not much room to maneuver). The water pressure and temperature were fine, but the glass shower door did not close properly so water poured onto our bathroom floor during each shower. The ceiling was covered in mold (likely because the shower in the room above us was also leaking onto the floor and causing mold on our ceiling). The bathroom has a hairdryer (it's also very small, but it does its job) and it's stocked with standard toiletries (shampoo, conditioner, soap, body wash).
Had we paid full price for the room (we booked using a coupon code on a travel site), we would've voiced the bathroom issues to the staff (although the housekeepers clean the room each day and would already be knowledgeable about the mold). Overall, I'd rate our stay "Average" at the Time Hotel and because there are many hotel options in the area, we would not be likely to stay at the Time again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChicBurbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Time_Hotel_Manager, Manager at The Time New York, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Hello,
I would like to thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to provide feedback regarding your recent stay at The Time Hotel. The feedback we receive from our guests is vitally important to help us grow and provide superior service. I am very glad you enjoyed your stay with us and the amenities we had to offer. I am pleased to announce renovations will be happening in the near future! We look forward to hosting you on your next trip to New York! If you would like to speak futher about your previous or future reservations please feel free to conatct me.

Best Regards,
Allen Gallardo
Agallardo@thetimeny.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

I stayed at The Time for the first time last week. It always feels like a lottery booking a place in Manhattan. The good 'known' properties are busy and overpriced, and anywhere else is a gamble. The Time loked good online when I booked it, was competitively priced (for mid town New York City) - and it it did not disappoint.

The welcome was good, the look and feel of the 1st floor lobby is good, and the rooms are clean, stylish and reasonably well equipped.

Above all, when I had a problem with the hotel wifi and sending email - critical for any business person when travelling - they responded impressively. They never got fed up taking my calls, they offered to move me to an upgraded room almost straight away (which was pretty nice!), and when we did eventually fix the problem - they were interested, and appreciative of my patience and help to get to the bottom of what was going wrong.

The breakfast which I only had one day, was excellent and played well with my client who was my guest, and the hotel is on 49th street so very close to two of the Times Square/mid-town subway stops riding east west or north south.

I will definately be very happy to go back and stay there again and could see this becoming a regular haunt...

Well done - very refreshing in a world and a town when good service gets overridden by commercial pressures and lowest common denominator levels of quality. The sort of service you might expect to experience for twice the price and more....

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Time_Hotel_Manager, Manager at The Time New York, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time and giving us your feedback also for all the wonderful words you had to say about our service and your experience. The feedback we receive from our guests is vitally important to help us grow and provide superior service. I am very glad you enjoyed your stay, please feel free to contact us directly for your future visits.

Best Regards,
Allen Gallardo
Agallardo@thetimeny.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

Service from staff was good. The rooms were cleaned thoroughly but are of a poor standard for £250 per night. Location was excellent probably the main factor in cost. Very noisy air con tiny bathroom.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
3 Thank Liam O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#23 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,513 reviews
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#16 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,289 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#194 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#61 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,869 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#37 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,252 reviews
Midtown
Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel
Renaissance New York Times Squar...
#178 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Time New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Time New York

Property: The Time New York
Address: 224 West 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#112 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Time New York 4*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Time New York offers travelers an urban lifestyle destination with a refined edge in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. The Time New York has all new accommodations and was designed by David Rockwell. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Hotelopia and Odigeo so you can book your The Time New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Time Hotel New York City
Time New York City
Time Hotel New York City
Time Hotel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing