We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good location”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Time New York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Time New York
Ranked #135 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Level Contributor
70 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Very good location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Had a very good stay at The Time, from 14th April for 3 nights. Very unsure what to expect after reading some particularly negative reviews, but was pleasantly surprised!
Room, whilst not huge was of average size for Manhattan, bed was extremely comfortable, yes could probably do with a fresh lick of paint here and there, but kept well by the very friendly housekeeping staff. Bathroom again quite small, but had everything needed, shower pressure was great!
Didn't use the restaurant so can't comment on that.
Overall very acceptable stay and would use again if the room rate was good!
Location, right in the middle of Times Square, pretty tough to beat!

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Ken E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mvales, Manager at The Time New York, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Kim E,

We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your TIME here at the Time Hotel.

If you are in the area again soon please email me directly and we can go ahead and get you the best rate out there!!

Mark Vales
mvales@thetimeny.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,067 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    690
    744
    348
    171
    114
See reviews for
344
758
142
300
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Goole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

best location for exploring manhattan, helpful staff , rooms quirky and clean. Great local eateries try Daniella for breakfast and Brazil for evening , both on the next block from the times

Great place to stay

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cate4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mvales, Manager at The Time New York, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Cate4444,

Thank you so much for your kind words!

We all hope to see you back real soon.

You can contact me directly for any future plans that you may have.


Mark Vales
mvales@thetimeny.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S-O-T, UK
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Initially booked The Time Hotel through Booked.com in October for our 3 night stay in April. A bit concerned when the hotel sent me an email saying they'd charged us the wrong price and suggesting it would be amended to a higher price. However, I contacted Booking.com and they got me an assurance from The Manager that the original price would be honoured. That and some of the bad reviews on trip advisor made me quite wary. However, good all round. Staff were welcoming and pleasant. We arrived early but our room was ready. Very roomy and clean. Excellent beds....so comfy. Plentiful towels and nice toiletries. No outside noise at all. Yes the shower rail was rusty and there was a little mould on the bathroom ceiling but none of these affected our stay and apart from sleeping, we spent no time in our room.

I would definitely stay here again - convenient location, great rooms.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Motherlilac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mvales, Manager at The Time New York, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Motherlilac,

We are so pleased to hear of the pleasant time you had with us.

Let me apologize personally for that error that occured with booking.com. We fixed it as soon as we could.

Other than that issue, it seems you had a great time in NYC.

if you ever need accomodations in the future, please contact me directly and we can work on getting you the best rate out there.


Mark Vales
mvales@thetimeny.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, Virginia
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

This New York Hotel was comfortable and was located in a very convenient area of Manhattan: however they were in the middle of switching cable carriers and the listing of channels supplied in the room was not accurate. I was disappointed that I was not accommodated for that inconvenience and was not told up front.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank syq1230s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mvales, Manager at The Time New York, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear syq1230s,

Thank you for taking the time out to give us some feedback on your stay with us.

I would like personally apologize that nothing was metioned upon check in. It was an error that will never happen again.

If you do plan to stay with us in the future, please contact me below, and i will see to it that we apply a discount.

Mark Vales
mvales@thetimeny.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

Good location where Theatre District is only around the corner. Overall, the room is cleaned and comfortable in a modernised setup. The room size for two super single-sized beds is still roomy for two and bathroom facitilies is reasonably well furnished. Two slight setbacks - (1) No pluck for hair dryer usage in bathroom (2) Wifi is not entirely free as it is chargeable in the room but wifi access at lobby is free though. Overall, it is still a satisfying stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaslynKGL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mvales, Manager at The Time New York, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear JaslynKGL,

Thank you kindly for taking the time out, and writing a review on our property.

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, but I would like to just touch on a few issues you had.

In regards to the wifi, yes it is free in our lobby- but if you like us on Facebook, we will gladly waive the normal fee of $10.81.

As for the plug in the bathroom, we do have a few availble to use. It is a possibility that maybe you just did not notice it.

I will leave my email below. Please contact me if you have any questions or concerns.

Thank you

Mark Vales
mvales@thetimeny.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

This hotel is right in the theatre district so very central. Lovely comfortable beds as well as fast lifts which worked all of the time. The staff were mainly excellent, especially the front desk staff and doormen. The concierge however, - a girl - seemed more interested in her mobile phone than speaking to me. The Wi-Fi in the lobby was also very poor, only working sometimes. However, these are only small complaints and overall I would recommend the Time to anybody going to NY.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank tooshortda5foot5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mvales, Manager at The Time New York, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear tooshortda5foot5,

Thank you for taking the time out and posting a review.

We are glad you were happy with our customer service. We definately pride ourselves on that.

As for the two complaints you did speak of, we severely apologize for them. The wifi has since been upgraded, and we will conduct a meeting with the concierge.

Please email directly if you are interested in any future dates. I will definately try my best to offer a good rate.

Mark Vales
mvales@thetimeny.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

Well located but tatty and not worth the money - even by NYC standards. The room was filthy, including some handprints on the headboard! It was really poorly kept. The hairdryer didn't work, had to wait ages for the staff to sort it out.

I would not stay here or recommend it. There is a much nicer (and cheaper) hotel just up the road which we moved to!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank K_R_F_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mvales, Manager at The Time New York, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear K_R_F_82,

We are truly sorry to hear of the bad experience you had with us.

The Time Hotel holds much pride in giving our guest the best experience we have to offer.

if you would like to give us one more try if you find yourself in the Times Square area please email directly. We would love to make this right.

Mark Vales
mvales@thetimeny.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#23 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,577 reviews
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#19 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,310 reviews
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#61 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#196 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,162 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#37 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,311 reviews
Midtown
Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel
Renaissance New York Times Squar...
#182 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Time New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Time New York

Property: The Time New York
Address: 224 West 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#106 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Time New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Time New York offers travelers an urban lifestyle destination with a refined edge in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. The Time New York has all new accommodations and was designed by David Rockwell. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotelopia, Agoda, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Time New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Time Hotel New York City
Time New York City
Time Hotel New York City
Time Hotel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing