We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyed the stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Time New York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Time New York
Ranked #135 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Ft. Pierce, FL
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

I got a very good price for this hotel. Basically half the rack rate, which went a long way with me. The location is fabulous if you want to see the shows and be in the heart of Manhattan. Like all NYC hotels, the room was small but it was very clean and well appointed. The bed was particularly comfortable, though the "duvet" was pretty much a bunch of lumps, rather than a coverlette. Clearly it had been washed a few too many times. Clearly that is better than not washed at all.

The front desk staff was very helpful, printing out misplaced show tickets purchased on line, only minutes before show time. We did have a continuing problem with out television. Some channels had no sound, some were in Spanish and some were in English. Despite 2 visits from the maintenance crew, the problem remained unresolved. We were offered another room but we declined. We didn't come to NYC to watch television. A nice bottle of red wine was sent up as an apology.

At over $500 per night I would have been unhappy but at half that price, i was very pleased.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ankonagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mvales, Manager at The Time New York, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and the complimentary bottle of red wine. We will be starting renovations soon and once they are complete I hope you will visit us again.

Josh Sims
Sales Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,067 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    690
    744
    348
    171
    114
See reviews for
344
758
142
300
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

Was there recently on a business trip. First impression was great, the gentlemen at the front desk was very friendly, and got us on our way very quickly. The room was amazing very clean, smelled good and very comfortable. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jorge p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mvales, Manager at The Time New York, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you back again at the hotel.

Regards,
Josh Sims
Sales Coordinator at The Time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devonport, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

My partner and I travelled to NY as the 3rd stop on our US trip from Australia. Upon arrival which was relatively late, around midnight we arrived. First impression good of lobby, location in times square/broadway etc, the staff member who greeted us was very very friendly and offered us a room upgrade upon check in (great!) When we got to the room, we were very disheartened. The room was a matchbox! Barely room to fit our suitcases (our stay in NYC was 10 days) and the bathroom was tiny too. I, in a rage and tired from a day of travelling, when to the lobby and calmly requested that they change our room as its not appropriate for a stay as long as ours and also doesnt look like the pictures of the room we booked (nor the room we supposedly got upgraded to) and I was told initially that if I wanted a bigger room, I have to pay an additional $50 per night. After not backing down the lady offered that we bring our luggage down in the morning. To shorten the story they moved us to level 9 (from level 4) and the room was a good size and we were reasonably pleased after that. The laundry service was overpriced. Probably the shining lights for this place is location and friendly staff. The concierge were helpful with information for the Subway trains and another lady with recommendations of things to do on our last day. I would probably try another hotel next time, but really after the first night things weren't too bad.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danielreid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mvales, Manager at The Time New York, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to give us your feedback on your recent stay at The Time in New York.

It is our objective and commitment to consistently exceed our guest’s expectations by providing a memorable experience. We welcome positive and/or constructive comments such as yours.

We would like to inform you that the hotel is going under renovation pretty soon amd we will be coming up with world class product by early next year.
Kindly contact me directly at asharma@thetimeny,com for your next visit to New York City. It will be our pleasure to have you stay with us again .

Hope tp see you again!!!

Thank you,

Kind Regards,
Anjali Sharma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

On my recent visit with my husband to New York City I was so pleasantly surprised to stay at this cute boutique style property located in Midtown Manhattan. We had received a good rate. The experience was very good right at the start. We were greeted by a very friendly doorman and then checked in very quickly and efficiently by the front desk person. She explained the amenities and was kind enough to give us a free upgrade upon learning that it was our wedding anniversary.we were pleasantly surprised to see a bottle of red wine waiting for us in the room. The entire experience was a pleasant one. We had a little problem with the TV remote control and called the Front desk who sent up an Engineer to fix the problem right away.
Upon check out we were able to leave our bags with the Front Desk for a few hours before we returned to pick them and headed out to the airport.
We were one happy and satisfied guests and among other things we owed our great visit to The Time Hotel for making our stay such a comfortable and pleasant experience. Guys be rest assured that we will be returning to you again and will gladly recommend you to our other friends.

Room Tip: Higher Floor facing 49th street
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Singh0163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mvales, Manager at The Time New York, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words and it is our pleasure making your stay such a comfortable and pleasant experience. We look forward to you returning and staying with us again.

Best regards,
Josh Sims
Sales Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
detroit
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Had been vacationing in NYC , found this place through a referal did my digging on trip advisor, but boy was I impressed yes I was. Right from the reservation stage to being greeted at the entrance to the welcome at the check in desk, house keeping attendants all the staff members truly are a class apart unike my other experience in NYC Hotels. The Hotel does make a serious effort in looking after their patrons even for the smallest of requests, staff gave some excellent info about the city which I had missed on my previous occassions especially the village and SOHO area. Rooms were well appointed even my requests were met and were in wait for me. Excellent location just a few minutes walk from times square, great dining options nearby all at a walkable distance , theatres less than a minutes walk. Cosy bar on the lobby level. All in all a perfect stay at the best address in NYC. Kudos to all for making this a memorable experience. Once again A big thank you.and hope to be back soon to experience the warmth of fine hospitality.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank overdoze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mvales, Manager at The Time New York, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We look forward to you visiting again to enjoy our hospitality and excellent location.

Best Regards,
Josh Sims
Sales Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Me and my husband stayed at The Time for the first time.We had really great time.The staff were very helpful.The location is very close to Time Square and also Broadway Shows are very nearby.All the train stations are very close from the hotel.The hotel is not new but very clean and comfortable.We really like to stayed at the hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mohammad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mvales, Manager at The Time New York, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Thank you so much for all of your compliments and 5 star rating. We are happy that you and your husband enjoyed yourself. We will be starting renovations soon and hopefully when they are complete you and your husband will return.

Josh Sims
Sales Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the Hotel this month with my family and had a great stay. Service was fantastic and I really enjoyed my stay. We had a meal at the restaurant and that was amazing.

The Conceirge service was pretty good with great recommendations for shows and even booked our car service.

Thank you Time hotel for an amazing time in New York.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank dallastx_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mvales, Manager at The Time New York, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Thank you so much for giving us a 5 and for the amazing praises. We look forward to you returning in the near future.

Josh Sims
Sales Coordinator at The Time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#23 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,577 reviews
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#19 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,310 reviews
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#61 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#196 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,162 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#37 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,311 reviews
Midtown
Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel
Renaissance New York Times Squar...
#182 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Time New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Time New York

Property: The Time New York
Address: 224 West 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#106 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Time New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Time New York offers travelers an urban lifestyle destination with a refined edge in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. The Time New York has all new accommodations and was designed by David Rockwell. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Hotelopia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Time New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Time Hotel New York City
Time New York City
Time Hotel New York City
Time Hotel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing