We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not Hospitable for a Hospitality Hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Warwick New York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Warwick New York
Ranked #90 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not Hospitable for a Hospitality Hotel”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Visited NYC and stayed at the Warwick for 5 nights. Look for better bargains. Good points - very convenient location, excellent housekeeping staff and large room. Downside - Staff (other than housekeeping) are not very helpful, way over-priced breakfast even by NYC standards, little things that just irritate you. Let me explain, we arrived on a Monday at 2:30 and room was not ready, the bellman took our luggage from the car and left it in the lobby with no one to watch it. Asked a bellman who was standing around to store our luggage. At 3:05 room still was not ready so we took a walk and by 3:30 room was finally ready. The front desk couldn't be bothered to ask if we had luggage that could be sent up so we ended up taking our luggage from storage and as we started to walk away, the bellman finally asked if we needed our luggage brought up. We declined and after 11 attempts to use the key (plastic), we finally got in our room. This became a theme that we played a game on guessing how many times it would take to get the key to work. Yes we tried different keys. The room was large and the bathroom was small which created a situation where my wife and I had to figure out who could put what stuff in the bathroom. Our favorite item we discovered our first hour in the room was that room service stopped at 11PM. We had breakfast three times in the hotel. We never got the buffet, $31 dollars for bare bones buffet is not a value. The menu was limited and over-priced. Three eggs and 3 pieces of bacon cost me $29 dollars. I could go on and on but instead, I urge you to look elsewhere for better service. The Warwick needs to retrain its staff other than housekeeping and Sam (Valet/Bellman) on how to provide service.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brisberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, General Manager at Warwick New York, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you very much for staying with us recently and for posting your feedback on Trip Advisor. While I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our location, your room, the cleanliness of it and the services provided by Sam, I was sorry to hear that your stay was not the smashing success we would have liked it to be. Please accept my apologies for the shortcomings you experienced and rest assured that we will learn from your comments. Should you decide to return in the future, please do not hesitate to contact me directly for any assistance I can provide.

Warm regards,

Peter Walterspiel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,233
    1,380
    325
    116
    75
See reviews for
1,062
1,452
180
612
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (803)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, VA
Level Contributor
111 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I stay here frequently for business as it is accross the street from our office. The hotel is very, nice, but many of the standard rooms are pretty small. Room service is very good but very expensive, and they clearly regard the mini bar as a profit center. The fitness center is small but not crowded. The staff is unfailingly polite

Room Tip: Aak for an upgrade when you check in, you can never know if one is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 48stever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, General Manager at Warwick New York, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you very much for having made The Warwick your home when traveling to New York on business and for posting your feedback. We are glad to hear that you have been enjoying your stays with us and we look forward to many more.

Warm regards,

Peter Walterspiel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fullerton, California
1 review
Reviewed 20 June 2014

WARWICK IS great, I do recommend you use this hotel. Very luxury and very elegant , you will enjoy every little moment there.... WARWICK IS great, I do recommend you use this hotel. Very luxury and very elegant , you will enjoy every little moment there

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnGhun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, General Manager at Warwick New York, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you very much for staying with us recently. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,

Peter Walterspiel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

What can you say about the Warwick other than, to me. it is like a old good soft glove that you like putting on. The Warwick has been there forever and the location is truly the best if you like the East side. Short blocks to Central Park one way, short blocks to Times Square the other way, short blocks to St. Patrick's for noon mass and 1 block away from 5th Avenue where you can stroll the fancy stores and dream. The service is top notch and you are made to feel special even when you walk in the door and the doorman turns the turnstile for you as he sees you walking up. The concierge knows his restaurants and gets you the reservations you want. The lounge serves a good cold martini, a little expensive, but, hey, you are in NY after all.

Room Tip: Get the Premier room if you can. It is spacious.
See more room tips
Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank JDMoya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, General Manager at Warwick New York, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you very much for staying with us and for posting your feedback. What a nice analogy to be compared to a soft well, fitting glove.We were very happy to hear that you feel this way and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warm regards,

Peter Walterspiel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nice, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 10 days, nothing more to say except wonderful place. I recommend everything here. Service, place, room... Breakfast buffet is really good, and restaurant/bar too. The hotel is really well situated, you can visit New York really easily. Next to shopping of 5th avenue, Central Park is just five minutes from it.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lytletrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, General Manager at Warwick New York, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
We are so pleased that you enjoyed everything our hotel has to offer and that you took the time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor. Thank you for staying with us and please come and stay with us again the next time you visit New York.

Warm regards,

Peter Walterspiel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

As first time travellers to New York we were not exactly sure which hotel to choose. We spent eight nights at the Warwick and were so pleased with our choice. Our room was upgraded from what we had chosen and our room had a bottle of wine and fruit on arrival. Staff were great and very friendly. The location is absolutely fantastic which is important if you are walking everywhere. The beds are large and very comfortable. The bathrooms are small but do have a bath. Loved the decor of this very old hotel and will stay here again if we ever return to New York

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kerri W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, General Manager at Warwick New York, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
We were very happy to hear that you chose The Warwick as your hotel for your first trip to New York. We were thrilled to hear that you were comfortable and had a good time while our guests and we look forward to seeing you again when you return for your second visit.

Warm regards,

Peter Walterspiel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

I have been staying at The Warwick on a regular basis for over a year - it is a great combination of elegance, convenience and service. The rooms are always super clean, and the staff is great. Plenty of eating choices in the area also.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank PamTravelerBOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, General Manager at Warwick New York, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you very much for your patronage and for taking the time to post your thoughts on Trip Advisor, we really appreciate it. We look forward to your continued visits and please do not hesitate to let me know if there is ever anything I can do for you.

Warm regards,

Peter Walterspiel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#37 of 467 in New York City
3,299 reviews
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#44 of 467 in New York City
2,511 reviews
Midtown
WestHouse Hotel New York
WestHouse Hotel New York
#86 of 467 in New York City
1,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Chambers Hotel
Chambers Hotel
#139 of 467 in New York City
614 reviews
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#17 of 467 in New York City
2,306 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warwick New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warwick New York

Property: Warwick New York
Address: 65 West 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019-5404
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Family Hotel in New York City
#66 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#72 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#93 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Warwick New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 426
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The iconic 426 room Warwick New York Hotel is located in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. Only steps away from must see attractions including 5th Avenue shopping, the Museum of Modern Art, Broadway, Central Park, Carnegie Hall and Rockefeller Center. The hotel and its staff provide an oasis of quiet luxury for Business and Leisure travellers alike in the heart of the greatest city in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Warwick New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Warwick Hotel New York City
New York City Warwick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing