We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tiny rooms, even with the "upgrade" selected”
Review of W New York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
W New York
Ranked #324 of 473 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We recently stayed in a "fantastic" room, but honestly, it was SO not fantastic. The room (I believe is 2 steps up from the basic room) was so small. I mean ridiculously small. I get that I'm in NYC and most rooms are small (the Hudson has the smallest I think), but considering I paid for an upgraded room, it did not live up to my expectations. The bathroom door for instance couldn't be opened when someone was in front of the sink. Also the bed, which at every other W property has been wonderful, was rock hard. I felt like I was sleeping on the floor. IMO, I would check out W Union Sq, or just try your luck at a cool NYC boutique hotel.

Room Tip: At least a mega room or a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AtlantaDvd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAnnaM, General Manager at W New York, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Thank you for your feedback. My sincere apologies for any disappointment in the size of your guestroom. I certainly appreciate your concern, and I will be more than happy to oversee a future stay with us. Please feel free to e-mail me at GMAnna.MacDiarmid@whotels.com when you plan a return trip. Thank you again, and I hope to hear from you soon. – Anna M., General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,661)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,956 - 1,962 of 4,661 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2013

I stayed at this place 11/29/13-12/1/13 with my wife and two kids. It was booked through Priceline. That means I got smallest room with not Queen size looking bed. (I'm not so sure if this is a queen size bed.) Anyway, room is what I expected in NYC. Typical size... nothing special. However, the location was pretty good. I walked to most of places.

The laday at frontdesk was very nice. Her name is Carmen. Even though I booked through Priceline, she was trying to upgrade my room. She offered me to switch my room to King size bed the next day. I didn't take it because it was just two nights anyway.

Overall, it was nice stay. the room was small, but the service was good.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank freephk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAnnaM, General Manager at W New York, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Thank you for your feedback. My sincere apologies for any disappointment in the size of your guestroom. For future reference, our website offers a variety of rooms types and sizes to cater to many needs, and I sincerely regret that you were not informed of this. Please do not hesitate to write me at GMAnna.MacDiarmid@whotels.com when planning to return. Again, thank you and we hope to welcome you back soon. – Anna M., General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Cool and interesting hotel. The lobby was always buzzing with activity because there's a bar on ground floor. Great vibe, especially in the evening. Excellent location also. Very small room and not too "special" in terms of service

Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
Thank tanyasen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAnnaM, General Manager at W New York, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Thank you for your post. It’s always great to see that our guests enjoy our convenient location in the heart of Midtown East, and my apologies for any disappointment in your W experience. I will certainly share your feedback with the rest of my team, and feel free to e-mail me at GMAnna.MacDiarmid@whotels.com when you plan a return trip. Thank you again, and we hope to see you soon. – Anna M., General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Stayed one night in a Fantastic Suite because my husband's company was hosting an event in the hotel. I saw that the basic rooms are 150 sq' so wanted more space; suite was only 450 with low ceilings - OK but still very small with view of parking lot lifts and it only had a double bed, which is the first double I've ever seen in a suite. Mattress could've been better. Keep in mind that this is midtown Manhattan (most expensive real estate in the country) so most hotels in midtown have small rooms. The bliss products were great. Hotel staff was excellent and very helpful; since spa was booked they arranged a great in room massage. Also enjoyed Whiskey Blue for small bites and drinks. I think this hotel is probably a better choice for business than leisure given location, but again, since its midtown, it's walkable to a lot of attractions.

Room Tip: For a decent view, you'd need a room higher than the 7th floor where is where mine was - it look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bsherdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAnnaM, General Manager at W New York, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Thank you for your review. My apologies for any disappointment in the size of your guestroom, and I am thrilled that you enjoyed our WOW service, Bliss amenities, and Whiskey Blue lounge. I have already shared your message with the rest of my team, and do not hesitate to contact me at GMAnna.MacDiarmid@whotels.com when you plan to return. Thank you again, and we hope to welcome you back soon! – Anna M., General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We had to attend an event at the Waldorf Astoria. Upon searching for a hotel for the weekend we found the "W" which is across the street from the rear entrance to the Waldorf. Our room was perfect and the location was wonderful. Next time in NY I'll be happy to stay at the "W". The room was of decent size too.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greyhound14Miami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAnnaM, General Manager at W New York, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

What a pleasure to read your review! We are happy you enjoyed our convenient location and W style of your guestroom. I can assure you that your kinds words will be shared with the rest of the W team. Please feel free to contact me at GMAnna.MacDiarmid@whotels.com when you plan a return back, as we’d love to welcome you back! Thank you again for your great feedback. – Anna M., General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

My husband and I stayed at the W Hotel on Lexington Ave for our anniversary. When I booked the room I mentioned this and forgot all about it. Management surprised us with sending up a bottle of champagne and a bowl of strawberries!!
The room was clean, roomy for NY and it had great Bliss products in the bathroom!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerri P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAnnaM, General Manager at W New York, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Thank you for your post. It’s always great to see when my team WOWs our guests, especially for such a momentous occasion. Your gracious comments will be shared with the entire team as a reminder of what we do best! Please write me at GMAnna.MacDiarmid@whotels.com when you plan to return. Thank you again, and we can’t wait to welcome you back! – Anna M., General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

I really benefited from the concierge staff. Their knowledgable recommendations where great everytime, and resulted in some of the best moments in my trip to New York. I felt that they really customized their recommendations to what I was looking for, and were not just naming a set list of restaurants.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAnnaM, General Manager at W New York, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Thank you for your feedback! I am thrilled that you enjoyed your W experience, and our wonderful Concierge team was able to accommodate your requests. Please feel free to contact me at GMAnna.MacDiarmid@whotels.com when you plan a return trip. Again, thank you for your excellent feedback, and we hope to see you soon! – Anna M., General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
W New York - Times Square
W New York - Times Square
#266 of 473 in New York City
4,428 reviews
Financial District
W New York - Downtown
W New York - Downtown
#267 of 473 in New York City
1,217 reviews
W New York - Union Square
#174 of 473 in New York City
1,535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Westin New York Grand Central
The Westin New York Grand Centra...
#229 of 473 in New York City
3,657 reviews
Midtown
The Lexington New York City, Autograph Collection
The Lexington New York City, Aut...
#245 of 473 in New York City
3,810 reviews
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W New York

Address: 541 Lexington Avenue, between 49th St and 50th St, New York City, NY 10022-7503
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Spa Hotel in New York City
#69 Green Hotel in New York City
#201 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £119 - £373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — W New York 4*
Number of rooms: 693
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
W New York, the very first W Hotel globally, delivers high-tech hospitality in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. It is an urban retreat where your options are unlimited with Bliss Spa, Whiskey Blue and our Whatever/Whenever service culture. Our unique Extreme WOW outdoor terrace offers panoramic views of the New York City skyline. W new York has something for everyone. The eclectic collection of rooms and suites appeals to a diverse audience, while the versatile meeting spaces, studios and flexible public areas can adapt to any event or gathering our clients are creating. The newly renovated iconic Living Room is the perfect gathering place to begin your night out in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Booking.com, TravelUp, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your W New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w New York Hotel New York City
w New York City
w Hotel New York City
w Hotel Lexington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing