We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very average”
Review of W New York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
W New York
Ranked #316 of 467 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very average”
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed at a "wonderful" room at this hotel for two nights. Although the service at the hotel was good, the room was tiny and the walls were very thin - we could hear people talking next door which woke us up in the middle of the night. Location of the hotel is great.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Blank18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAnnaM, General Manager at W New York, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thank you for your post. My apologies for the noise level outside of your guestroom and any inconvenience this had caused during your stay with us. I have already shared this with my team, and do not hesitate to write me at GMAnna.MacDiarmid@whotels.com when you plan to return, so that I can place you in a quieter location. Thank you again, and I hope to hear from you soon. – Anna M., General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,221
    1,310
    845
    466
    368
See reviews for
460
1,478
385
1,149
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (739)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina, USA
Level Contributor
251 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Spent three nights at the W New York with my 6 year old son. From check in to check out, we had a fantastic stay!

Conceirge service - top notch!! Lauren was fantastic and how she made our trip extra special. While not my first trip to your fabulous city, it was my son"s. Beginning with dinner, breakfast and tour suggestions through assistance with tickets for our chosen attractions, she was extremely personable, knowledgeable and REALLY made our trip special and memorable.

Vibe at the hotel is as cool as you expect it to be at a W and location is perfect for a Mid-town adventure!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bas0921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAnnaM, General Manager at W New York, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
What a pleasure to read your review! I am thrilled that you enjoyed your W experience and the WOW service provided by Lauren and the rest of my team! I have already shared your kind words with them as a great reminder of what we do best. Please feel free to contact me at GMAnna.MacDiarmid@whotels.com when you plan to return. Thank you again, and we look forward to welcoming you back! – Anna M., General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belo Horizonte, MG
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

Excelente localização, próximo ao metro e de vários pontos turísticos.O quarto é bem limpo, porém é muito pequeno, o staff do hotel é atencioso.

The best of the hotel is the location, walking distance to grand central station and to some of the NYC's attractions. The negative point is that the rooms and bathroom are very small.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank FefrancoM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAnnaM, General Manager at W New York, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you for your post. I am happy that enjoyed our convenient location in the heart of Midtown East. My apologies for any disappointment in the size of your guestroom, and do not hesitate to contact me at GMAnna.MacDiarmid@whotels.com if you find yourself returning to NYC. Again, thank you for your feedback, and we hope to welcome you back soon. – Anna M., General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
m
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Very nice and comfortable two night stay, after checking out from a bad experience in a nearby hotel, the lounge area is very happening, bar is nice, rooms were very very comfortable, did not get to use the gym or any other amenities, maybe next time!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akaa2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAnnaM, General Manager at W New York, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you for your review. I am happy you enjoyed our newly renovated Living Room and Oasis Bar, and I hope we can welcome you back to enjoy Fit, our fitness center. Please feel free to write me at GMAnna.MacDiarmid@whotels.com when you plan a return trip. Thank you again, and we hope to see you soon! – Anna M., General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

This is by far, THEE worst hotel I've ever stayed at anywhere, globally. Ultra small rooms, dingy look and feel. Furnishings were very dated, and I was sneezing all night long because of something in the room. I'd never recommend this hotel to anyone, ever.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vinay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAnnaM, General Manager at W New York, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write us about your recent experience at W New York. Please accept our apologies for the inconveniences you experienced during your time spent with us. This is certainly not the W experience we aim to provide our guests and I am truly sorry this happened to you. I have notified our management team so that we may look further into these issues. Again, thank you for bringing this to our attention. - Anna M., General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Location, location, location…. plus a very comfortable room, well appointed. The restaurant is really got a great vibe and good food. Meeting catering was excellent! This hotel is in such a great location within the city and the staff are very attentive. I think this is a good choice for a meeting like the one I attended so I recommend it for business travel and would stay here on a personal trip as well.

Room Tip: Get a higher floor if you want less of the downtown traffic noise. I stayed on the 15th floor and w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjonesschenk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAnnaM, General Manager at W New York, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you for your post. I am thrilled that you enjoyed your W experience and your meeting event that was held here. I have already shared your comments with the rest of my team, and please feel free to contact me at GMAnna.MacDiarmid@whotels.com when you plan to return. Again, thank you for your kind words, and we hope to welcoming you and your group back soon! – Anna M., General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

The Hotel delivers on nearly all of it's promises - style, food, service, location etc. But for me there was one quite considerable let down. We had the standard room which is known as a 'Wonderful' room - the only wonder I was left with was wondering how anyone could get any sleep in there. The 1st problem (which could just be this one room) was the air-con fan - I could have pitched a tent by a runway and had less noise than this fan which also had an annoying rattle. When turned off however it was too hot but this was slightly more bearable than the noise. There is also an extraction fan in the bathroom which cannot be switched off so I guess this applies to all rooms and this isn't quiet either! If these two were silenced then the third noise would be from the street. A suggestion would be to be slightly higher (I was on 8th floor) but I have been in rooms in busier areas of NYC had not had this much street noise - I think the windows need upgrading. Other than the constant noise the room was comfortable and stylish and was a good size for an NYC hotel room of that price range.

Room Tip: Higher-up and make sure the fan works quietly when you arrive in the room.
See more room tips
Green Features: I can't imagine a constant extractor fan to all rooms is very eco-friendly nor is it sleeping guest friendly.
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Waller85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAnnaM, General Manager at W New York, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you for your feedback. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the noise level in your guestroom and any inconvenience this had caused. I will be sharing this with the rest of the management team, and do not hesitate to provide further feedback by e-mailing me at GMAnna.MacDiarmid@whotels.com so that we can pinpoint your guestroom and rectify this immediately. Thank you again, and I hope to hear from you soon. – Anna M., General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
W New York - Times Square
W New York - Times Square
#260 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,146 reviews
Financial District
W New York - Downtown
W New York - Downtown
#244 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,124 reviews
Midtown
The Lexington New York City, Autograph Collection
The Lexington New York City, Aut...
#284 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Westin New York Grand Central
The Westin New York Grand Centra...
#219 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,229 reviews
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#85 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,581 reviews
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
InterContinental New York Barcla...
#93 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W New York

Property: W New York
Address: 541 Lexington Avenue, between 49th St and 50th St, New York City, NY 10022-7503
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Spa Hotel in New York City
#68 Green Hotel in New York City
#195 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — W New York 4*
Number of rooms: 693
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
W New York, the very first W Hotel globally, delivers high-tech hospitality in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. It is an urban retreat where your options are unlimited with Bliss Spa, Whiskey Blue and our Whatever/Whenever service culture. Our unique Extreme WOW outdoor terrace offers panoramic views of the New York City skyline. W new York has something for everyone. The eclectic collection of rooms and suites appeals to a diverse audience, while the versatile meeting spaces, studios and flexible public areas can adapt to any event or gathering our clients are creating. The newly renovated iconic Living Room is the perfect gathering place to begin your night out in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your W New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w New York Hotel New York City
w New York City
w Hotel New York City
w Hotel Lexington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing