We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, reasonably priced modern vibe in midtown 49th and Lexington”
Review of W New York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
W New York
Ranked #318 of 468 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My room was very small but I was travelling alone and realized how cleverly the space was designed. Frosted glass closet and bathroom doors keep the appearance of spaciousness. Very clean and wonderful mattress. I will return as the location suits my needs

Room Tip: Make sure the size will be suitable if you aren't alone. The adjacent room was very spacious my...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jetgirl-9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAnnaM, General Manager at W New York, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you for your feedback. I am glad that you enjoyed your guestroom design and our convenient location in the heart of Midtown East. Please feel free to contact me at GMAnna.MacDiarmid@whotels.com before your next visit. Thanks again for your review, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon! – Anna M., General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,411)
There are newer reviews for W New York
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,579 - 1,585 of 4,411 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

First time in New York the W hotel is in a great location on Lexington avenue within walking distance of Times Square and Central Park. We stayed here for my birthday and we had a card and chocolate covered strawberries in room, we also were given an upgrade,Subway station and deli's nearby. Hotel looked great nice room clean and very modern. Staff friendly and helpful. Would recommend this hotel and location and would stay here again fantastic.

Room Tip: We had queen room it was great on fifth floor
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAnnaM, General Manager at W New York, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you for your review. I am delighted that you chose W New York to celebrate your birthday and that you enjoyed your visit with us. I have shared your comments with my team as a reminder of what we do best! Please reach out to me at GMAnna.MacDiarmid@whotels.com before your next visit. Thanks you again for your kind words. We look forward to seeing you again soon! – Anna M., General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I had booked 3 rooms at the W Hotel New York, two "Cozy" rooms, and one upgrade to a "Wonderful" room. I was a little dismayed to find that my room (the Wonderful) was actually a bit smaller than the Cozy rooms and had no upgraded features to set it apart. Other than that (at an additional $50 per night), the hotel is in a good location, is clean and pleasant with a very modern look. I really like W hotels (W Lake Shore in Chicago is one of my favorites). I would recommend this property to all NYC visitors!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CAPCAPCAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAnnaM, General Manager at W New York, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with our online community. I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed the design and convenient location of the hotel; however, I am sorry for your disappointment with the upgraded room. I have shared your comments with my management team as we are always looking for ways to improve the guest experience. When you are planning your next visit, please feel free to contact me at GMAnna.MacDiarmid@whotels.com. Thanks again for your post. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel again soon! – Anna M., General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

This hotel was the perfect place to enjoy a NYC getaway! The location is convenient, the rooms were comfortable and stylish (we can't wait to buy a W bed for our home!). What really made this a great experience was the hotel staff. Everyone from check in to check out was so friendly and helpful. I wouldn't stay anywhere else!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Jill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAnnaM, General Manager at W New York, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your kind words about your recent experience at W New York. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and I have already shared your comments with the entire team as a reminder of what we do best. Please contact me at GMAnna.MacDiarmid@whotels.com before your next visit. Thank you again for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back to the W New York soon! – Anna M., General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We checked In on a Friday night and it felt like checking in, in a disco. We were shown to our room on 5th floor a fantastic suite with not much fantastic about it. It was pokey, dusty and felt like a den. The air con made a hell of a noise too. We called to complain and a lovely engineer came through but his solution was to stand on a bin and hold the air on tight.. Not a viable solution so we asked for a new room and were shown a much nicer room in floor 12 which we took and called reception to confirm the change in room. 45 minutes later at around 2330 a couple of ladies appeared in our room by error as they had been checked in by accident to the room we took. We called to confirm again our room and 30 minutes later ( past midnight) had someone else bringing a refrigerator into our room...


Although not a great start to our stay in the next 5 days the hotel was fine! The second room was nice as it had lots of windows, it was well kept, clean and comfortable. The service and stuff proved to be really nice, polite and helpful. So the staywas ok and the hotel is in a good location. However at a price tag of 300 dollars plus a night it is a bit faux designer ( those synthetic space like sofas are not nice at all and could only impress a 15 year old who is staying at a hotel for the first time) and could do a bit better.. I am sure that in manhattan the competition is steep and the alternatives many to go back to this hotel.

If however you are booked in for business make sure you ask for a nice room and don't forget the don't disturb sign on the door to prevent random people walking in at any time of the day or... Night!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brandychocolate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAnnaM, General Manager at W New York, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thank you for your review. My sincerest apologies for the inconveniences that you encountered on the first night of your stay. This is certainly not the W experience we aim to provide our guests, and I am truly sorry this happened to you. I have already notified our management team so that we may look further into these issues. Thank you again for your feedback. Please do not hesitate to contact me at GMAnna.MacDiarmid@whotels.com when you are planning your next trip. – Anna M., General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I decided to book this hotel because I got a bit of a discounted deal with Hotwire. Even with the deal it wasn't cheap (€189 per night) but I said what the hell it's New York and it's only for a couple of nights.
Check-in was easy enough and we were given a room on the 14th floor. We headed up to the room and when I opened the door I entered one of the smallest hotel rooms that I have ever been in! There was just about enough room for the bed and I was really trying to figure out where I was going to store the suitcases. Apart from that the window facing me looked directly into a wall of rooms across the way and the window on the left overlooked a myriad of air conditioning ducting. Not very exciting.
I decided to head back to reception and I told the desk clerk that I wasn't happy with the room as it was too small. In fairness to the clerk he spent a couple of minutes looking and came up with a room on the 12th floor (Why didn't he give me a better room earlier if it was available?).
So I colleced my wife from the 14th floor and we were pleasantly surprised to find that the alternate room was both larger and this room overlooked Lexington Ave.
The last couple of things I would like to say are. 1. The air conditioning, every time it would kick in, was like a train passing! I had to get up during the night and switch it off. 2. Who makes up the prices for the mini-bar? $26 for a half bottle of plonk wine, $5 for a small can of pringles, and $12 for a tootbrush kit! you must be mental! Finally 3. The prices for breakfast and for the bar beside the lobby were yet again off the scale. We went for a walk each morning and sampled some the fantastic deli's between Lexington and Time Square. A fraction of the price and really good food. Oh! one other thing that really bugs me.... Overcharging for wi-fi. If I stay in a hotel that is charging me $250 per night the I expect something like wi-fi, which I regard as a required standard now, is free. In the W wi-fi access in your room is charged at $14.95 per hour! What a rip-off! As I need to double check a flight time in a hurray I opted for 20 minutes at $6.95 which is still ridiculous. Hotels really need to sort this out. Guests should be able to access wi-fi for free.

So in summary. Location wise the W is in a good location. I'm not overly fond of walking but I found walking from the W to wherever I wanted to go (Time Square, Central Park etc.) to be fine. There is also a subway station about a block down the street. Rooms wise, eventually we got an average room, but the room were were given first was a joke. They need to sort out their air conditioning and their pricing, especially for wi-fi.
If I was travelling to New York again I would most likely choose a different hotel.

Room Tip: If you are given a small room don't feel you have to accept it. Complain and they will move you...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pguilfoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAnnaM, General Manager at W New York, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thanks for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on your recent stay with us. Please accept my apologies for your disappointment with your room size and overall poor experience. For future reference, our internet charge is a daily charge; however, we offer complimentary internet in our Living Room. I apologize that you were not informed of this during your stay. Should you find yourself returning to New York, please feel free to contact me at GMAnna.MacDiarmid@whotels.com so I can oversee your next W experience. Thank you again for your review. I hope to welcome you back soon. – Anna M., General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I recently try to stay in the W. but upon my check in i found blood in my room. When i went down stairs to complain the kicked me out of the Hotel and called the police to escorted me out. I would never recommend these hotel. I have stay in many hotels in my lifetime from Taj to Marriots and I had never received these kind of treatment

Room Tip: Don't Stay here
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAnnaM, General Manager at W New York, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with our online community. Our guest feedback is important to us as often times it may pinpoint an area of needed focus and attention. At W, we do strive to uphold the highest level of service and to hear we have fallen short of that goal is something we take very seriously. Again, we appreciate your feedback and hope that you enjoy any future experience with Starwood. – Anna M., General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
W New York - Times Square
W New York - Times Square
#271 of 468 in New York City
4,278 reviews
Financial District
W New York - Downtown
W New York - Downtown
#237 of 468 in New York City
1,170 reviews
Midtown
The Lexington New York City, Autograph Collection
The Lexington New York City, Aut...
#277 of 468 in New York City
3,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
W New York - Union Square
#153 of 468 in New York City
1,496 reviews
Midtown
The Westin New York Grand Central
The Westin New York Grand Centra...
#220 of 468 in New York City
3,418 reviews
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#100 of 468 in New York City
2,708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W New York

Address: 541 Lexington Avenue, between 49th St and 50th St, New York City, NY 10022-7503
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Spa Hotel in New York City
#68 Green Hotel in New York City
#199 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £146 - £476 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — W New York 4*
Number of rooms: 693
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
W New York, the very first W Hotel globally, delivers high-tech hospitality in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. It is an urban retreat where your options are unlimited with Bliss Spa, Whiskey Blue and our Whatever/Whenever service culture. Our unique Extreme WOW outdoor terrace offers panoramic views of the New York City skyline. W new York has something for everyone. The eclectic collection of rooms and suites appeals to a diverse audience, while the versatile meeting spaces, studios and flexible public areas can adapt to any event or gathering our clients are creating. The newly renovated iconic Living Room is the perfect gathering place to begin your night out in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your W New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w New York Hotel New York City
w New York City
w Hotel New York City
w Hotel Lexington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing