We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fashionable stay”
Review of W New York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
W New York
Ranked #316 of 468 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fashionable stay”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Love the W chain! They make the experience a fashion statement and when in New York, that's a huge part of experiencing the city. Would recommend this to couples, especially. They won my heart and I'll continue to book with them when travelling elsewhere too.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeruniD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAnnaM, General Manager at W New York, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thanks for your great review! I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and have fallen in love with the W Brand! When you are planning your next visit to New York, please feel free to contact me at GMAnna.MacDiarmid@whotels.com. Thanks for your post. We look forward to seeing you again soon! – Anna M., General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,237
    1,319
    859
    470
    371
See reviews for
464
1,496
389
1,161
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (742)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

I've stayed here half a dozen times, it's a typical NYC hotel, small rooms, tiny bathrooms, views of other tall buildings, very average in house restaurant.

But, the staff are mostly friendly and efficient. The lobby bar staff are especially good and the lobby has just been renovated so it's a nice place to have an after work beer and snacks.

The Blue Whiskey lounge bar is a zoo and pricey but after a few aperitifs who cares eh...

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank chkuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAnnaM, General Manager at W New York, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thanks for your feedback. I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed your interactions with our talent and had the chance to enjoy our newly renovated Living Room. I will be sure to share your comments with my team. Before your next stay, please reach out to me at GMAnna.MacDiarmid@whotels.com. Thanks again for your review and your loyalty. We look forward to welcoming you back soon! – Anna M., General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Narberth, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

My second stay this month at the W New York last night. Traveled with my husband to see a show on Broadway. The rooms are small, but well laid-out. First rate mattresses, linens, and bath products. Centrally located. The staff do take the "whatever, whenever" philosophy to heart and go out of their way to be helpful. Great people-watching in the lobby bar. Hipster vibe. Very clean.

Our 5th floor room had a view of the ventilation system. If you want a better view (I really didn't care), I'd suggest asking for a higher floor.

My only gripe? There was not a coffee-maker in the room, and a cup of coffee in the lobby costs $3. I would expect coffee and water to be complimentary. That said, I will stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cami612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAnnaM, General Manager at W New York, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent W experience. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your guestroom and found the talent to helpful! I can’t wait to share your comments with our team as a reminder of our “Whatever, Whenever” service promise. For future reference, a complimentary coffee maker for the guestroom is available upon request, and I apologize that you were not informed of this during your stay. Please contact me at GMAnna.MacDiarmid@whotels.com when you are planning your next visit. Thanks again for your review, and we hope to see you again soon!– Anna M., General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crepy
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

we got a great deal, fantastic price for a downtown Manhattan, facing the Waldorf Astoria and between Hilton and Marriott... are you kidding... clean in and out. great staff... room fully equiped, bathroom very modern , clean..W.. bathrobe, like a 5 stars hotel. no need for a car bc metro is near by. walking distance to everything in NYC.. concierge knows the surrounding area, can advise you on the nice place to eat for breakfast for instance. she gets to eat there before rating;.. which make her knowing what she talks about. the front desk peeps are efficient and fast, it took us 5mn to have the keys to our room. more than 750 bedrooms and 18 floors, welcome to NY... wow... great place... i will go back there next time.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank marikaCrepy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAnnaM, General Manager at W New York, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thanks so much for your great feedback! I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed the amenities in your guestroom and your interactions with our talent. I will be sure to share your kind words with our team as a reminder of what we do best. Before your next visit, please reach out to me at GMAnna.MacDiarmid@whotels.com. Thank you again for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back to W New York! – Anna M., General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

I have just returned from our honeymoon! This hotel is everything you need! Great staff / great location and great rooms!!!

Before arriving I looked at other reviews to get the best information on what to expect!

A few months before we where due to arrive we contacted the hotel to as them if we could have a high floor and a view of Lexington ave! As other reviewers have said this was the best! We received an email straight away from the hotel manager! Very impressed! The hotel upgraded us X2 to a Spectacular room!

When we arrived we where greated with a warm reception by staff & we also had a free bottle if champagne in our room with a letter congratulating us on our marriage from the hotel manager!

The size of the room was perfect! I have seen some reviews where ppl have complained about the size! If you are worried upgrade to the Spectacular room!

Bathroom was a good size! With free Bliss soaps! Water pressure was not great!! But you still managed to have a shower!!!

The elevators are a bit dodgy as you have to use your room key to get to your floor!! Sometimes they don't work very well! Some staff did say that they are due an upgrade soon!

One thing I will say is all the staff are amazing & welcoming! If they walk passed you they all say hello and have a great day!

When I return to NYC I will defiantly be returning to this hotel!

Thank you W you made are honeymoon one to remember! :)

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Mod989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAnnaM, General Manager at W New York, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Wow! Thank you very much for your kind words and for choosing our hotel to celebrate your honeymoon! I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your upgrade and the service our talent provided. I can’t wait to share your comments with our team. When you are planning your next visit, please feel free to contact me at GMAnna.MacDiarmid@whotels.com. Thanks again for your post. We look forward to seeing you again soon at W New York! – Anna M., General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My room was very small but I was travelling alone and realized how cleverly the space was designed. Frosted glass closet and bathroom doors keep the appearance of spaciousness. Very clean and wonderful mattress. I will return as the location suits my needs

Room Tip: Make sure the size will be suitable if you aren't alone. The adjacent room was very spacious my...
See more room tips
Green Features: Lacking in request to put towels on the floor! No environmental requests. Wonderful Bliss products though!
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jetgirl-9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAnnaM, General Manager at W New York, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback. I am glad that you enjoyed your guestroom design and our convenient location in the heart of Midtown East. Please feel free to contact me at GMAnna.MacDiarmid@whotels.com before your next visit. Thanks again for your review, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon! – Anna M., General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2014

First time in New York the W hotel is in a great location on Lexington avenue within walking distance of Times Square and Central Park. We stayed here for my birthday and we had a card and chocolate covered strawberries in room, we also were given an upgrade,Subway station and deli's nearby. Hotel looked great nice room clean and very modern. Staff friendly and helpful. Would recommend this hotel and location and would stay here again fantastic.

Room Tip: We had queen room it was great on fifth floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAnnaM, General Manager at W New York, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for your review. I am delighted that you chose W New York to celebrate your birthday and that you enjoyed your visit with us. I have shared your comments with my team as a reminder of what we do best! Please reach out to me at GMAnna.MacDiarmid@whotels.com before your next visit. Thanks you again for your kind words. We look forward to seeing you again soon! – Anna M., General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
W New York - Times Square
W New York - Times Square
#272 of 468 in New York City
4,184 reviews
Financial District
W New York - Downtown
W New York - Downtown
#245 of 468 in New York City
1,135 reviews
Midtown
The Lexington New York City, Autograph Collection
The Lexington New York City, Aut...
#282 of 468 in New York City
3,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Westin New York Grand Central
The Westin New York Grand Centra...
#223 of 468 in New York City
3,290 reviews
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#95 of 468 in New York City
2,607 reviews
W New York - Union Square
#142 of 468 in New York City
1,471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W New York

Property: W New York
Address: 541 Lexington Avenue, between 49th St and 50th St, New York City, NY 10022-7503
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Spa Hotel in New York City
#67 Green Hotel in New York City
#195 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — W New York 4*
Number of rooms: 693
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
W New York, the very first W Hotel globally, delivers high-tech hospitality in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. It is an urban retreat where your options are unlimited with Bliss Spa, Whiskey Blue and our Whatever/Whenever service culture. Our unique Extreme WOW outdoor terrace offers panoramic views of the New York City skyline. W new York has something for everyone. The eclectic collection of rooms and suites appeals to a diverse audience, while the versatile meeting spaces, studios and flexible public areas can adapt to any event or gathering our clients are creating. The newly renovated iconic Living Room is the perfect gathering place to begin your night out in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Southall Travel, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Nozio Netplan srl, TravelUp, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your W New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w New York Hotel New York City
w New York City
w Hotel New York City
w Hotel Lexington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing