We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another successful trip home....”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of W New York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
W New York
Ranked #316 of 467 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
116 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Another successful trip home....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

I have to get home every quarter to keep my edge. The W hotel on Lex ave is the best place to stay. Centrally located to mass transit, this is the place. Especially when you have great customer service reps like Carmen. The best first greeting as you approach the check in counter. This location has a great feel, comfortable, relaxing, bustling at times. I highly recommend this location.. See you soon....

Room Tip: all rooms are good to go.
See more room tips
Green Features: I think the W is doing good things in regards to the environment. Keep up the good work.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAnnaM, General Manager at W New York, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Wow! Thanks for your great review and your kind words about Carmen. I’m so happy that you have chosen to stay with us during your visits home and have enjoyed the service and atmosphere of the hotel. I am looking forward to sharing your comments with my team as a reminder of what we do best! Please contact me at GMAnna.MacDiarmid@whotels.com before your next stay. Thanks again for your feedback, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon! – Anna M., General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,198
    1,299
    834
    458
    362
See reviews for
454
1,466
379
1,128
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (728)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

I've stayed at W hotels in different cities (LA, Doha, etc.). This one wasn't the best, but that can be expected for NYC. Nice gadgets and funky W hotel touches, but a little too expensive for the value. Great location, though--close to many of the tourist sights (Central Park, Radio City, Rockefeller Plaza), so the location alone makes it worthwhile.

Room Tip: Try to get a view of something other than the Waldorf Astoria smack across the street. Higher floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alladin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAnnaM, General Manager at W New York, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for your post. I’m glad to hear that you have been experiencing W hotels around the world and that you enjoyed our location in Midtown Manhattan. Thanks again for your comments. Please write to me at GMAnna.MacDiarmid@whotels.com before your next trip. We hope to see you again soon. – Anna M., General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

Got a great Hotwire rate on this hotel. Nothing special and didn't really spend too much time here. Great little bar. Watched Yankees go into bottom of 9th with 0 points. Can back at last second to beat Orioles by scoring 5. As always, W had great apples!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank mavfan59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAnnaM, General Manager at W New York, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thanks for your review. I’m happy to hear that you had the chance to enjoy our newly renovated Living Room and, of course, some W apples! Thanks again for your post. Please reach out to me at GMAnna.MacDiarmid@whotels.com when you are planning your next trip. We hope to see you again soon! – Anna M., General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Our stay here was very nice and it is the best location in NYC in our opinion. There is a hop on hop off bus stop just across the road. We felt very safe there the whole time. The rooms are a little small but we knew that before we booked. All the staff there are above and beyond what is expected (very good staff). The only thing we can complain about is the concierge , we found them to be very slack and short cut takers so I recommend that you organize your own transfers, day trips etc as they were well below standard. They could not help us with simple requests such as a shuttle bus to the airport which they got totally wrong and we had to pay double for. Unable to help us with simple bus questions etc. Every one else was fantastic though!

Room Tip: Rooms are very small
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAnnaM, General Manager at W New York, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thanks for your feedback! I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay; however, I must apologize for your experience with our Concierge team. We are always looking to improve the guest experience, and I will share your comments with my management team so they can address your concerns immediately. Thanks again for your comments. Please reach out to me at GMAnna.MacDiarmid@whotels.com before your next trip. We hope to welcome you back again soon! – Anna M., General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
192 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

This is my favorite W hotel in NYC. Great location, amazing staff, always clean & that signature fragrance when you walk in. Mmmmm.

The staff is alway very welcoming and accommodating. Being in midtown is a huge convenience to most everything in NYC. You can walk to Times Sq, the theater district and some of the best shopping in the world on Park, Madison or 5th Avenue.

There are tons of restaurants within walking distance as well from fine dining to a slice of pizza.

They're Whatever, Whenever service provides free transportation up to the 80's, but you have to book the car VERY early! It goes fast.

It's a great place to stay in the city!

Room Tip: Get as far away from the elevators as you can. All the way to the end in one of the corner rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAnnaM, General Manager at W New York, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thanks for your great comments! I am delighted that you have chosen us to be your home away from home when you are in NYC and that you have found our talent to be friendly and helpful. Unfortunately, the partnership between W Hotels and Acura has ended; however, our amazing Concierge team is always happy to assist you with any of your transportation needs. Please do reach out to me at GMAnna.MacDiarmid@whotels.com before your next stay. Thanks again for your feedback. We look forward to seeing you again soon! – Anna M., General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

My friend and I went to NYC for a long weekend to sight see and the W Hotels are always at the top of our list of hotels to stay. This one located on Lexington did not disappoint. Our fabulous experience with the W started before we even arrived when I called to speak with a concierge to discuss restaurants in the city. The concierge Marco was so easy to talk with, so helpful and was a wealth of information and knowledge of places to dine- he helped me sort through the type of cuisine we were interested in and the vibe of the restaurants. My friend and I knew we were in for a great weekend. At check in we were helped at the front desk by Erin-- so wonderful and upbeat - she made us feel very welcome and our check in was smooth and we were also offered an upgrade on our room as we are SPG members. We were helped to our room by Beckham - a W welcome ambassador. Beckham is warm and friendly and knew the amenities of the hotel and had great knowledge of the city . He settled us nicely into our beautifully appointed room. This W is in a great location, many excellent restaurants a short walk away. Sunday there was a street fair with food and ware vendors on Lexington -no through traffic - great opportunity to sample some of the varied tastes of the city and pick up a souvenir or two. We were also helped by Patrick at the Concierge Desk -- upbeat and friendly and very helpful. He offered recommendations on things to do and helped us with tickets for the Gray Line On/Off bus tour of lower Manhattan- this was a great recommendation -- the On/Off is a great way to see a large part of the city. At our checkout Fermin, a welcome ambassador, was fantastic --efficiently checking us out of our room, storing our luggage so that we could spend the day in the city and then upon our arrival back to the hotel, assisted in retrieving our vehicle and having our luggage loaded. This hotel has 2 great bars to sit back, relax, enjoy a great cocktail. The breakfast at the restaurant was delicious and plentiful, service excellent. A great way to start the day. If you are looking for a place where you are treated like you are a valued guest - the W on Lexington is the place for you. We will definitely be back. Thank you W and staff for a wonderful long weekend in the City!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank callen21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAnnaM, General Manager at W New York, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Wow! Thanks for your great review and gracious words about our talent. I am delighted to hear that you and your friend enjoyed your visit with us. I am so excited to share your comments with my team as a reminder of the memorable service we aim to provide. Please contact me at GMAnna.MacDiarmid@whotels.com when you are planning your next trip to NYC. We can’t wait to welcome you back soon! – Anna M., General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

I've stayed here twice for work, and while some may complain of the small rooms and bathrooms, it's New York, people! Space is at a premium. I find the small rooms cozy, and the beds are comfy. The lobby area has good seating and is a good place to meet up in the morning (I did not use the hotel bar or restaurant). My biggest complaint would be the thin walls - I could hear a lot of people in the hallway and people next door to me. Also, the front desk staff is not good/consistent about handing out the welcome packets I shipped to the hotel. There were a few times when they had to be asked to hand it out.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank proudbrunette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAnnaM, General Manager at W New York, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thanks for your review. While I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our Living Room and our signature W bed, I apologize for any noise disturbances and inconveniences at the Welcome Desk you experienced. I have shared your comments with my team so they can address these issues immediately. Thanks again for your feedback. Please reach out to me at GMAnna.MacDiarmid@whotels.com when you are planning your next trip. We hope to welcome you back again soon. – Anna M., General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
W New York - Times Square
W New York - Times Square
#259 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,112 reviews
Financial District
W New York - Downtown
W New York - Downtown
#244 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
Midtown
The Lexington New York City, Autograph Collection
The Lexington New York City, Aut...
#289 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Westin New York Grand Central
The Westin New York Grand Centra...
#218 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,156 reviews
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#73 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,550 reviews
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
InterContinental New York Barcla...
#96 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W New York

Property: W New York
Address: 541 Lexington Avenue, between 49th St and 50th St, New York City, NY 10022-7503
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Spa Hotel in New York City
#69 Green Hotel in New York City
#195 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — W New York 4*
Number of rooms: 693
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
W New York, the very first W Hotel globally, delivers high-tech hospitality in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. It is an urban retreat where your options are unlimited with Bliss Spa, Whiskey Blue and our Whatever/Whenever service culture. Our unique Extreme WOW outdoor terrace offers panoramic views of the New York City skyline. W new York has something for everyone. The eclectic collection of rooms and suites appeals to a diverse audience, while the versatile meeting spaces, studios and flexible public areas can adapt to any event or gathering our clients are creating. The newly renovated iconic Living Room is the perfect gathering place to begin your night out in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelUp, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your W New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w New York Hotel New York City
w New York City
w Hotel New York City
w Hotel Lexington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing