We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok...not 4 Star”
Review of W New York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
W New York
Ranked #319 of 466 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Corning, New York
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Ok...not 4 Star”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

This is not a 4 star Hotel. We upgraded to a large room and still the smallest room we have ever had in NYC. The room was very worn (walls very scuffed) carpet well used.
The nicest people their we actually the parking Valets. Close to the subway is a plus.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelsBilt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAnnaM, General Manager at W New York, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with our online community. Please accept my apologies for the conditions of your guestroom and your disappointment with your guestroom size. I have taken this opportunity to share your comments with our management team so that we may look further into these issues. As we are always looking to improve our guest experience, please reach out to me at GMAnna.MacDiarmid@whotels.com as I would like to hear more about your interactions with our other talent. Thanks again for your post. I look forward to hearing from you soon. – Anna M., General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,359 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,267
    1,354
    883
    479
    376
See reviews for
478
1,534
397
1,189
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (760)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 June 2014

The Good News:
The location is perfect and the hotel room was bigger than I was expecting for NYC. Three of us stayed in a room with two double beds and fit pretty comfortably - luggage and all! A concierge, I believe his name was Jeff, was so helpful in suggesting places and making reservations. Upon his suggestion, we enjoyed fantastic comedy clubs, a rooftop bar/restaurant and great Italian restaurant. He was super friendly and welcoming.

Also, they offer complimentary refreshing cucumber/lemon water that will save your life after walking around the city all day. Now I make it at home too!

The Bad News:
The only reasons I didn't give it five stars is because they forgot to give us towels 2 of the nights we were there (we stayed 5 nights). We asked the front desk for some and they said they would send somebody with them, but no one came. The other reason is because there was a female concierge who was more condescending than helpful. Anytime she was at the desk, we just waited for someone else.

Overall it was a good experience. It didn't leave me in awe or "wowed" but I didn't travel to New York for the hotel room. That city is jam packed with culture and flare, so we didn't spend much time hanging around in the room.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leslie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAnnaM, General Manager at W New York, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thanks for your post. While I am glad that you enjoyed your guestroom and had a great experience with one of our Concierges, I am disappointed to hear about the inconveniences you experienced with the Styling service of your guestroom and the unpleasant encounter with another Concierge. This is not typical of our hotel, and I will share your comments with my team so they can take a closer look at these issues and rectify immediately. Thanks again for your review. Please contact me at GMAnna.MacDiarmid@whotels.com when you are planning your next stay. We hope to welcome you back again soon. – Anna M., General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I have to get home every quarter to keep my edge. The W hotel on Lex ave is the best place to stay. Centrally located to mass transit, this is the place. Especially when you have great customer service reps like Carmen. The best first greeting as you approach the check in counter. This location has a great feel, comfortable, relaxing, bustling at times. I highly recommend this location.. See you soon....

Room Tip: all rooms are good to go.
See more room tips
Green Features: I think the W is doing good things in regards to the environment. Keep up the good work.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAnnaM, General Manager at W New York, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Wow! Thanks for your great review and your kind words about Carmen. I’m so happy that you have chosen to stay with us during your visits home and have enjoyed the service and atmosphere of the hotel. I am looking forward to sharing your comments with my team as a reminder of what we do best! Please contact me at GMAnna.MacDiarmid@whotels.com before your next stay. Thanks again for your feedback, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon! – Anna M., General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I've stayed at W hotels in different cities (LA, Doha, etc.). This one wasn't the best, but that can be expected for NYC. Nice gadgets and funky W hotel touches, but a little too expensive for the value. Great location, though--close to many of the tourist sights (Central Park, Radio City, Rockefeller Plaza), so the location alone makes it worthwhile.

Room Tip: Try to get a view of something other than the Waldorf Astoria smack across the street. Higher floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alladin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAnnaM, General Manager at W New York, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for your post. I’m glad to hear that you have been experiencing W hotels around the world and that you enjoyed our location in Midtown Manhattan. Thanks again for your comments. Please write to me at GMAnna.MacDiarmid@whotels.com before your next trip. We hope to see you again soon. – Anna M., General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

Got a great Hotwire rate on this hotel. Nothing special and didn't really spend too much time here. Great little bar. Watched Yankees go into bottom of 9th with 0 points. Can back at last second to beat Orioles by scoring 5. As always, W had great apples!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank mavfan59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAnnaM, General Manager at W New York, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thanks for your review. I’m happy to hear that you had the chance to enjoy our newly renovated Living Room and, of course, some W apples! Thanks again for your post. Please reach out to me at GMAnna.MacDiarmid@whotels.com when you are planning your next trip. We hope to see you again soon! – Anna M., General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Our stay here was very nice and it is the best location in NYC in our opinion. There is a hop on hop off bus stop just across the road. We felt very safe there the whole time. The rooms are a little small but we knew that before we booked. All the staff there are above and beyond what is expected (very good staff). The only thing we can complain about is the concierge , we found them to be very slack and short cut takers so I recommend that you organize your own transfers, day trips etc as they were well below standard. They could not help us with simple requests such as a shuttle bus to the airport which they got totally wrong and we had to pay double for. Unable to help us with simple bus questions etc. Every one else was fantastic though!

Room Tip: Rooms are very small
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAnnaM, General Manager at W New York, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thanks for your feedback! I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay; however, I must apologize for your experience with our Concierge team. We are always looking to improve the guest experience, and I will share your comments with my management team so they can address your concerns immediately. Thanks again for your comments. Please reach out to me at GMAnna.MacDiarmid@whotels.com before your next trip. We hope to welcome you back again soon! – Anna M., General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

This is my favorite W hotel in NYC. Great location, amazing staff, always clean & that signature fragrance when you walk in. Mmmmm.

The staff is alway very welcoming and accommodating. Being in midtown is a huge convenience to most everything in NYC. You can walk to Times Sq, the theater district and some of the best shopping in the world on Park, Madison or 5th Avenue.

There are tons of restaurants within walking distance as well from fine dining to a slice of pizza.

They're Whatever, Whenever service provides free transportation up to the 80's, but you have to book the car VERY early! It goes fast.

It's a great place to stay in the city!

Room Tip: Get as far away from the elevators as you can. All the way to the end in one of the corner rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAnnaM, General Manager at W New York, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thanks for your great comments! I am delighted that you have chosen us to be your home away from home when you are in NYC and that you have found our talent to be friendly and helpful. Unfortunately, the partnership between W Hotels and Acura has ended; however, our amazing Concierge team is always happy to assist you with any of your transportation needs. Please do reach out to me at GMAnna.MacDiarmid@whotels.com before your next stay. Thanks again for your feedback. We look forward to seeing you again soon! – Anna M., General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
W New York - Times Square
W New York - Times Square
#271 of 466 in New York City
4,253 reviews
Financial District
W New York - Downtown
W New York - Downtown
#239 of 466 in New York City
1,158 reviews
Midtown
The Lexington New York City, Autograph Collection
The Lexington New York City, Aut...
#276 of 466 in New York City
3,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Westin New York Grand Central
The Westin New York Grand Centra...
#219 of 466 in New York City
3,370 reviews
W New York - Union Square
#137 of 466 in New York City
1,486 reviews
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#94 of 466 in New York City
2,684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W New York

Property: W New York
Address: 541 Lexington Avenue, between 49th St and 50th St, New York City, NY 10022-7503
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Spa Hotel in New York City
#68 Green Hotel in New York City
#201 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — W New York 4*
Number of rooms: 693
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
W New York, the very first W Hotel globally, delivers high-tech hospitality in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. It is an urban retreat where your options are unlimited with Bliss Spa, Whiskey Blue and our Whatever/Whenever service culture. Our unique Extreme WOW outdoor terrace offers panoramic views of the New York City skyline. W new York has something for everyone. The eclectic collection of rooms and suites appeals to a diverse audience, while the versatile meeting spaces, studios and flexible public areas can adapt to any event or gathering our clients are creating. The newly renovated iconic Living Room is the perfect gathering place to begin your night out in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Southall Travel, Nozio Netplan srl, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your W New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w New York Hotel New York City
w New York City
w Hotel New York City
w Hotel Lexington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing