We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of W New York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
W New York
Ranked #321 of 466 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Vancouver, BC
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 2 July 2009

Booked the W on PriceLine...so I didn't know the name of the hotel until I had already paid. Expected much more than we experienced unfortunately. My 20 year old daughter and I were there for 4 days to celebrate the year end of university. The trip was great but the hotel was disappointing. The room was extremely small, unbelievably dark (including the tiny washroom) and the front desk staff were uninviting. The use of the internet in the Business Center was incredibly expensive (most hotels we stay in this service is free). We were charged for an $80 room service meal that we did not order (or receive). It was a hassel trying to have it removed from our bill. I would never go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FunLoverVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,359 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,267
    1,354
    883
    479
    376
See reviews for
478
1,534
397
1,189
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (760)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2009

The hotel is lovely....stylish, really great customer service and lots of nice touches.

The one MAJOR drawback for us was that the soundproofing is terrible and we could hear the couple next door "enjoying" themselves....eeek!!!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mammafloss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montreal
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2009

I'm from montreal and we have a really nice and stylish W here in one of the trendiest districts in quebec, Canada. I expected the same from the W new york.....what a rude awakening it was when we got there.....The lobby is really modern and very happening in the evenings but the rooms are a disaster. They are old, decreped, small and dingy, not to mention also very dirty. I slept with my clothes on and felt dirty just washing my face in the sink. We booked a four night stay and ended up canceling the rest of the reservation after the 1st night and booked rooms at the st-regis across the street. One extreme to another hehe

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jesscicc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

Nevada City, CA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2009

Spent 3 nights at the W Hotel on Lexington, taking advantage of a special birthday rate of $249 for the first night, then the guest's birth year plus $100 for the next two nights (available on their website). This was a good deal for me and my husband, who was born in 1939; hence one night at $249 and then two more at $139 for an average of around $200 per night. However, we may have been too old to stay at this recently renovated and overly hip and self-aware hotel. Upon arriving on a Thursday evening at 11:30 pm we had to push our way to the front desk past a wild and crazy disco crowd in the lobby (the bar Whiskey Blue is next door), then shout at the desk clerk over the din of pulsing techno music. We were upgraded to a "mega-room" which meant a king bed. Again, maybe too old for this hotel...lighting in the room was dim, no reading lamp on my side of the bed, and no soundproofing so heard sirens and traffic all night long. At least we didn't hear the lobby music til we stepped back into the elevator (it was piped in). Staff was pleasant, but requests went unheeded til we made a second phone call (asked for complimentary newspaper; had to call again in the morning when it had not appeared outside our door). Bill upon checking out was incorrect...we were charged the $249 rate for all 3 nights. That was amended in a jiffy, however. So...a minus 3 for ambience and overall "look" of the place....dim lobby, money spent on silly things like a brass kalleidoscope on the desk, but a plus 3 for friendly staff and great location. The Doubletree is next door...and Marriott East Side is across the street. I'll check their rates next trip.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterColl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 June 2009

Booked this hotel because of great experiences with W hotels in past. Wanted to try something different. Don't know how Starwood gave the name "W" for this hostel-like property. I am a Starwood gold member based on minimum stay requirements and got upgraded to what they call "spectacular" room. The size of the room is exactly two times smaller than the average hotel room, they call queen bed as king and double as queen. The room is way under 200 sf, 75% of the room takes queen size bed, the other 15% takes other furniture and only 10% of the room is for walking space. I never seen hotels this small in my live (I stayed at over 500 different hotels around the world). Bathroom is about 25 sf (about 4 times bigger than restroom in airplane), towels are hanged right under the shower and you have to place them on a sink while you take a shower, otherwise they will be wet. The only place to put the luggage is the floor which will take about 50% of remaining walking space. In addition, there is no sound insulation and construction everywhere around the hotel. It looks like W will soon buy used Amtrack trains with sleeping rooms, put W furniture in them and name them as W hotels. Will be sure to read reviews before booking hotels in future.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank denya1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2009

Although the hotel’s lobby and bar area are very nice and have such cool and modern atmosphere, we were not impressed entirely with the hotel. Unfortunately, the “average” hotel rooms are very dark and incredibly small. They are not comfortable for 2 people to stay in for a multiple night stay. Also, we were disappointed in the overall customer service. Unfortunately, the staff is not very attentive.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcostello99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Earth
1 review
Reviewed 14 June 2009

Avoid staying here. Bliss bath products and great bed cannot make up for the tremendous street noise. Even 15 stories up in a room billed as "spectacular," we were woken by seven (7!!) different fire engine runs blaring down Lexington at different times of the night. With the windows firmly latched, every bang and honk of the street fills the rooms --- almost all of the rooms face a busy street. This place is like sleeping on the sidewalk.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tumbler96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
W New York - Times Square
W New York - Times Square
#272 of 466 in New York City
4,255 reviews
Financial District
W New York - Downtown
W New York - Downtown
#239 of 466 in New York City
1,159 reviews
Midtown
The Lexington New York City, Autograph Collection
The Lexington New York City, Aut...
#275 of 466 in New York City
3,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Westin New York Grand Central
The Westin New York Grand Centra...
#219 of 466 in New York City
3,371 reviews
W New York - Union Square
#139 of 466 in New York City
1,486 reviews
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#94 of 466 in New York City
2,684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W New York

Property: W New York
Address: 541 Lexington Avenue, between 49th St and 50th St, New York City, NY 10022-7503
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Spa Hotel in New York City
#68 Green Hotel in New York City
#201 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — W New York 4*
Number of rooms: 693
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
W New York, the very first W Hotel globally, delivers high-tech hospitality in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. It is an urban retreat where your options are unlimited with Bliss Spa, Whiskey Blue and our Whatever/Whenever service culture. Our unique Extreme WOW outdoor terrace offers panoramic views of the New York City skyline. W new York has something for everyone. The eclectic collection of rooms and suites appeals to a diverse audience, while the versatile meeting spaces, studios and flexible public areas can adapt to any event or gathering our clients are creating. The newly renovated iconic Living Room is the perfect gathering place to begin your night out in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nozio Netplan srl, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your W New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w New York Hotel New York City
w New York City
w Hotel New York City
w Hotel Lexington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing