We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gone downhill bad...”
Review of W New York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
W New York
Ranked #318 of 468 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 16 February 2011

This hotel used to be so nice! Wow, this was a bad experience. I booked a room at the W on Valentine's Day. First, I was supposed to have a large room with a queen size bed - instead I have a tiny, dark room facing the wall of another building. There is a sticker on the wall saying "Is the room too small? Call this number for 500 starwood points." I didn't want starwood points, I wanted a large room! Anyway - next problem - the bathroom was FILTHY. The floor tiles were brown with dirt and the grout was moldy. The shower didn't drain properly, and as a result, there was a puddle of dirty water remaining from the previous guest on the shower floor. And, the glasses were dirty and looked like they had not been washed properly. GROSS!! Well, finally, after all that I decided to go downstairs for breakfast. What a disaster - the hostess was confused, not a single table was clean and ready for customers, and the food took almost an hour to arrive. In the meantime, nobody came to apologize or explain where our food was. It was just dropped in front of us like a sack of potatos.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CPAMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wnewyork541, Manager at W New York, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2011

Welcome CPAMonkey,

We were very disapointed to read your review regarding your stay at W New York. Thank you for also contacting us directly to discuss your experience in detail. Our guest feedback is very important to us as it allows us the opportunity to enhance and improve upon the W experience for all our guests.

Many thanks,

Nicole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,411)
There are newer reviews for W New York
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,938 - 2,944 of 4,411 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2011

I stayed here in December 2010, was really looking forward to my stay as id heard alot and read alot about this hotel!.....Firstly our flight landed at 6.30am...so when we booked this hotel in May we requested an early check in..we were told it was not gaurenteed...fair enough...so when we arrived at the hotel at 7.20 we were told our room wouldnt be ready untill 11.00 and told there was no other rooms available...so we waited(very very tired) in the hotel lobby ....11.10 we asked if it was ready we were told no, 11.45 asked again and the lady at the desk said "oh its been ready for hours"....i was soooo tired i just took the key and went up to my room no complaining....they gave us a room with the freezing air con on full blast and it would turn off...after 4 calls to front desk for help they finally sent a man up to try and fix it...which he didnt...after another 2 calls to the desk they gave us another room "no problem we can get you another room we are very quiet at the moment"the lady at the desk said...yet they kept us waiting in the lobby for nearly 5 hours....Anyway with that over the location was very good...the few more encounters we had with the staff were terrible, they are very stuck up unhelpfull and i felt because of my age (im 21) they just couldnt be bothered me..huffing when ever i asked for travelers cheques to be changed up......on our last night about 12.10am a very large group of teenagers checked in on our floor excitedly running and shouting between rooms we rang front desk and they said they would ask them to quiet down....they didnt....Alll in all was a horrific hotel too worried about looking "hip" and "cool" than looking after their guests...before we arrived in New York we had stayed at Vegas The Bellagio and LA The Beverly Hilton which were a total differnt class to this dump

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovecities89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wnewyork541, Manager at W New York, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2011

Welcome lovecities89,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at W New York. We are very disappointed to learn of the challenges you encountered throughout your stay as this is certianly not the W experience we aim to provide our guests. If you would like to further discuss your experience, please contact us nicole.fondry@whotels.com.

Warm wishes,

Nicole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2011

I had the pleasure of staying at the W in June for holiday with friends, stayed in a Mega room and was fantastic, the hotel was lovely and clean and experienced some great staff. The Whisky Blu is a great end to the night, one night we watched a single bar tender serving a full bar with no problems.

The room was great, lovely and spacious with an excellent seating area to relax, the bathroom was huge. Had a lovely welcome gift from the GM, Mr Maynard wich was also lovely.

Location is great, 10 mins from Times Square and a nice walk down 5th Ave to Central Park, I am returning again to celebrate New Years Eve and can't wait to go back!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scot1082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2011

Great location, staff and surprisingly quiet considering it's location in midtown! The rooms are compact but adequate. Bonus: if you are snowed in the Bliss Spa is attached to the hotel!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TarheelTraveler0416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2011

This is my favorite midtown hotel. Great location. Hip vibe. Super service

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kennethsoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2011

Here's the thing, if i had been one of these other people that paid like $240 a night for the W experience, I would be pissed. However, I am priceline fanatic and after 4 days of trying got this weekend experience for 90/night plus tax. Woohoo.

Pros: Near the 6 train (easy block away). Comfy beds, good shower head, functional staff, nice tv in the room & dvd player

Cons: Really small rooms - think europe tiny, bathroom could have been cleaner AND bigger, sink didnt drain well, walls were a little thin. Have you ever been to IKEA and seen those "life in 250 square feet" displays? this was like that only no kitchen attempt.

However, if you are like us and don't come to nyc to lounge in your hotel room but just need a place where you can get a good night's sleep, then it's fine - just don't pay too much for it.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mekmkf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wnewyork541, Manager at W New York, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2011

Hello there mekmkf,

Thank you for taking the time to share with our Trip Advisor community your detailed and candid feedback regarding your most recent stay with us. Our guest feedback is very important to us as many times it often pinpoints an area of needed focus and attention.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our convenient location, comfy W bed, and the shower head as well as the additional guest room features; however, we must apologize for the inconveniences you experienced as well.

Thank you again for sharing your feedback with us!

Regards,

Nicole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2011

Not comfortable recommending it. Good news- no bed bugs and staff always courteous and smiling.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jayjemail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wnewyork541, Manager at W New York, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2011

Hello there Trip Advisor member,

Please accept our apologies for the issues that took place throughout your stay. At W, we strive to uphold the highest quality of service and while our staff was friendly, we must apologize for the difficutlies that were presented in your room.

We appreciate you giving us the opportunity to look into this matter and to respond.

Many thanks,

Nicole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
W New York - Times Square
W New York - Times Square
#271 of 468 in New York City
4,278 reviews
Financial District
W New York - Downtown
W New York - Downtown
#237 of 468 in New York City
1,170 reviews
Midtown
The Lexington New York City, Autograph Collection
The Lexington New York City, Aut...
#277 of 468 in New York City
3,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
W New York - Union Square
#153 of 468 in New York City
1,496 reviews
Midtown
The Westin New York Grand Central
The Westin New York Grand Centra...
#220 of 468 in New York City
3,418 reviews
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#100 of 468 in New York City
2,708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W New York

Address: 541 Lexington Avenue, between 49th St and 50th St, New York City, NY 10022-7503
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Spa Hotel in New York City
#68 Green Hotel in New York City
#199 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £146 - £476 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — W New York 4*
Number of rooms: 693
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
W New York, the very first W Hotel globally, delivers high-tech hospitality in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. It is an urban retreat where your options are unlimited with Bliss Spa, Whiskey Blue and our Whatever/Whenever service culture. Our unique Extreme WOW outdoor terrace offers panoramic views of the New York City skyline. W new York has something for everyone. The eclectic collection of rooms and suites appeals to a diverse audience, while the versatile meeting spaces, studios and flexible public areas can adapt to any event or gathering our clients are creating. The newly renovated iconic Living Room is the perfect gathering place to begin your night out in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your W New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w New York Hotel New York City
w New York City
w Hotel New York City
w Hotel Lexington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing