We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Boutique Hotel Experience”
Review of SIXTY LES

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SIXTY LES
Ranked #159 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
“Wonderful Boutique Hotel Experience”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We had a great experience at the Thompson LES.

Location is great right, walking distance to East Village and SoHo and subway is super close. Rooms were modern, hip, and tidy. Loved the floor to ceiling windows for views of downtown and midtown NYC. Bathrooms had amazing, spacious rainfall showers with great bath products as well.

Sushi restaurant on premise is top-notch.

Booked through hotel tonight and got a great rate. When we decided to stay two extra nights they honored the discounted rate still.

Will definitely stay again .

Room Tip: Book on the view top floors for great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenzing D, Manager at SIXTY LES, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. I'm glad that you had a wonderful experience and enjoyed every aspect of the hotel.

Yes, the view is spectacular and it makes me proud that our staff was flexible and able to accommodate your extension with the same discounted rates.

We hope that your return to the city is in your calendar and would consider returning to us once again. Feel free to reach me when that day nears.

Until then,

Best Regards,

Tenzing Dupatsang
Guest Relations
tdupatsang@sixtyhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    620
    329
    129
    66
    38
See reviews for
180
409
102
256
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

The Thompson LES is in the same genre as the Standard and Ace hotels -- modern and trendy, with a convenient location for going out and/or shopping. We were upgraded to a Studio King room, and it was spacious, comfortable, and well-designed. The Blue Ribbon bar and restaurant is hip, cozy, and delicious.

What I've noticed recently is that in addition to being a good hotel, the Thompson LES seems to have better rates than other similar hotels (especially in the Hotel Tonight app). Not sure if this is because the LES is considered less upscale than other neighborhoods, or because of the nearby construction (which didn't bother us). Regardless, if it continues to offer good rates, it will definitely be competitive with the Standard(s) for us.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikelovesutah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Fundamental gaps in lobby customer service, plus issues with hallway noise, were downsides to our stay.
First, the good stuff. Hotel location is great, 2nd floor bar and staff were solid. Our room was just fine, perhaps a bit dark for our taste. Bell hops were on it.
The lobby staff seemed to lack experience in the hospitality industry, with most contact with them resulting in strange and almost comical results.
1. At check in, we arrived 75 minutes prior to the 3pm official time. We were told that the room would be ready 'momentarily'....in fact it was not ready until 3pm. Would not have been a problem, other than the choice of words. We probably would have left to do something more interesting than sitting around waiting.
2. Also during check in, I asked about running routes from the hotel. This should be a standard question, with standard answers already prepared. Instead, we were told, basically, 'I'm not much of a runner, let me ask around for any ideas...'. This was not followed up with any suggestions, unfortunately.
3. We asked the concierge about options for dinner our first night there. We were given a list of restaurants in the neighborhood, which was helpful. However, when we asked about a couple of specific places, he looked at his watch, gave a long exhale, and said, basically, 'gee, that might be hard to do'. My wife, in the room 5 minutes later, was able to book reservations at one of those places for that night. Honestly, he couldn't have at least tried?
4. Our third day there, we came back to the room in the afternoon, and the room had not yet been serviced. I called the front desk to let them know. No apology, no guidance on how long it might take. It honestly got the impression that it was me who did something wrong.
6. The club noise was not really a problem, but the hallway noise late night was insane. Not sure if this was from hotel guests, or people in the club using the stairs to reach rooms. Also since the elevators are not in alcoves, but in the middle of the hallway, I question the need for them to loudly ding upon arrival, especially late night.
5. This one might be a bit subjective.....every time we would walk through the lobby, no one working behind the desk ever looked up from their computer screens. Not once. Not that one expects country charm in New York, but it was a bit strange. Not a hello, or even eye contact.

Overall, the desk staff professionalism was completely underwhelming, especially For a hotel at this price point in the city. Perhaps the adults were off on Christmas holiday, and a reality tv show moved in for the week....

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JJSloc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We were 2 adults and 2 kids and stayed in the double room. Very nice and trendy. Good beds, good TV, good bathroom.

Only one japanese restaurant at the hotel, but it was ok.

Fridge in the room but not coffee making facilities.

Reasonable price, great location.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vhopinto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Great, modern hotel in one of the best areas of Manhattan. The rooms are modern, comfortable, and have all the amenities one could ask for. I stayed in a King with a balcony, which had a great view of both the Freedom Tower and Empire State Building.

But on top of that the staff are extremely professional and personable. They are more than happy to give you any additional information you need, point you to a quality beer at the bar, or help improve your stay in any way they can.

I will definitely return, and would recommend this hotel to others in the future.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexander R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We booked a Queen Superior room, it was anything but superior. Room was very small and don't let them fool you that this is the norm in NYC. For $400 a night you can find much bigger rooms. 7th floor bar was not impressive.

Blue Ribbon restaurant was nice and the bar in 2nd floor was not bad either. Staff at the restaurant and bar were nice.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank S B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoeKavanagh, Manager at SIXTY LES, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience.

At 325 sq. ft. the Queen Superior is our smallest and least expensive room category. We do offer eight additional room types ranging from 375 square feet to 2,000 square feet for those that are looking for more space. One of my favorites is our Studio King that comes in at 450 square feet and is priced only slightly more than the Queen Superior.

We are glad to see you enjoyed your interactions with our staff, and we do hope you will try a different room type at our hotel in the future.

All the best,

Joe

Joe Kavanagh
Director of Rooms
Thompson LES (soon to be Sixty LES)
jkavanagh@sixtyhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Stayed here for a three day stay in December. The hotel decent: clean, about the size you'd expect from a comparably priced hotel in NYC. However, many of the touches that make a decent stay a great stay were missing. The desk staff were professional, but certainly not friendly. On two occasions I asked for assistance (once to reactivate my room key, once for change) and both times felt like the staff were irritated by my request. A few missing amenities, such as a coffee maker or iron in the room, were also surprising. However, the concierge staff were fantastic and very helpful with restaurant reservations and reccos before my stay. The location is also fantastic. However, on my next trip I will be trying out a different boutique hotel in the area, as I feel no need or desire to return to this one.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashleyavd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Lower East Side
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New York
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New...
#86 of 466 in New York City
647 reviews
Lower East Side
The Ludlow New York City
The Ludlow New York City
#80 of 466 in New York City
653 reviews
Lower East Side
Hotel on Rivington
Hotel on Rivington
#132 of 466 in New York City
1,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Village
The Standard, East Village
The Standard, East Village
#165 of 466 in New York City
692 reviews
SoHo
The James New York-SoHo
The James New York-SoHo
#163 of 466 in New York City
1,408 reviews
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#123 of 466 in New York City
3,549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SIXTY LES? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SIXTY LES

Property: SIXTY LES
Address: 190 Allen St, Lower East Side, New York City, NY 10002-1418
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Lower East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Business Hotel in New York City
#58 Green Hotel in New York City
#121 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#123 Family Hotel in New York City
#158 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — SIXTY LES 4.5*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the epicenter of downtown Manhattan's vibrant New Renaissance in cuisine, galleries, live music clubs, and nightlife spots, the fun-defining SIXTY LES evokes the youthful spirit of its all-hours neighborhood-an indie-vibed district on display from nearly every Jim Walrod-curated suite's floor-to-ceiling windows. Andy Warhol's visage looks up from the scene-and-be-seen swimming pool's bottom, while gritty images by iconic photographer Lee Friedlander illuminate bedroom headboards. Step out into the street life and walk directly into the world-recognized New Museum or countless gastronaut destination spots. But guests need go no further than the vibrant award-winning Blue Ribbon Sushi Izakaya tavern and bar for Japanese cuisine and stellar cocktails, courtesy of foodie deities the Bromberg brothers. SIXTY LES is part of SIXTY Hotels, a new, innovative of luxury inns located in New York, Los Angeles, and debuting in Miami soon-ish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your SIXTY LES reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thompson Les New York City
Thompson Les Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing