We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great night in the LES”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of SIXTY LES

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SIXTY LES
Ranked #154 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
New York City, New York
1 review
“Great night in the LES”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

Had planned a surprise weekend with my girlfriend and booked it directly with the hotel. Went and had drinks at the hotel before heading out for a great dinner in the LES. When we checked in, without asking, they upgraded us to a suite with a balcony. Great service and a great evening.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobLESNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    603
    316
    125
    64
    37
See reviews for
171
397
100
249
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
dragones
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

LOCATION > Great location with a subway station (line F) just across the street, and Delancey St/Essex a few blocks away. That's almost direct transportation from JFK.

FRONT DESK > Extremely well trained, warm & professional team makes every check-in & check-out processes friendly. When we asked for a late check-out they helped us with what possible for them, plus they offered us a shower where to take a bath as our flight was leaving late that day.

BELL BOYS > I usually travel and stay at 4 stars hotels. These porters team was outstanding, helping us every single moment.

ROOM > Nice view, but as almost every hotel in downtown quite small. Where should I put two pieces of luggage? Definitely not in my room, as there's no space for it. It was awesome the fact that it was very quiet (no noises eared at all).

BED > Very comfortable.

BATH > Clean, and great bath products.

WI-FI > No complimentary Internet in rooms. Had to pay $15/day.

BREAKFAST > Paid a rate with breakfast (through Booking.com) but it was limited to $20 value per breakfast, and a coffee + two different things (eggs + fruit) already exceeded that max amount.

Room Tip: We stayed at room 1701. Nice view (Empire States and Chrysler buildings behind our bed), but know it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moreyrita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tania G, General Manager at SIXTY LES, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Moreyrita,
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us on TripAdvisor. From everyone here at Sixty LES, we are delighted to read your glowing and detailed recommendation of our property. Our apologies if it was not communicated to you that we do offer complimentary Wi-Fi in our lobby, second floor lounge and pool area.
We can't wait to welcome you back whenever your travels bring you to the area!
Kind Regards,
Tania Getzova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

Were in New York for a few days before travelling upstate for a wedding and couldn't have booked a better hotel. My husband and I were travelling with our 3 year old son and 3 month old baby and had been rather apprehensive about a city break with them but we needn't have worried. The hotel did everything they could to help. The cot was ready in room when we arrived and they made us feel very welcome. The restaurant too was very helpful giving us tables with enough room for our sleeping boys and we had an amazing sushi dinner there with friends who joined us. The location was amazing as were the front desk staff and bell boys. I would definitely recommend it!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andreya110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tania G, General Manager at SIXTY LES, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Andreya110,
We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and felt welcomed from the moment you step through our doors. Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon to Sixty LES.
Warm Regards,
Tania Getzova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Hollywood, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

I love this hotel, have been coming here since the hotel opened.
This is my home away from home, even though the Lower East Side has changed, this place has stayed consistent, and the rooms are clean and large, always greeted with the warmest of welcomes from all the staff. Plus there's good food around 24 hours of the day, which is super important, and the wholefoods is a few blocks down also super important.

Anyways anyone looking for space in NYC that doesn't look like a shoebox stay here.
My favorite rooms are the corners.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holesandcorners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tania G, General Manager at SIXTY LES, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Holesandcorners,
Thank you so much for taking your time and posting such a nice review about Sixty LES. We look forward to welcoming you back to your second home in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Tania Getzova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Girlfriends came to visit me in June 2013, so I booked this hotel - it had the right vibe and was a fabulous spot for a weekend getaway. (I stayed here when it was called the Thompson LES. Website indicates it is still looks the same.) It has been my go-to suggestion when friends come to visit. Prices are high, but not terribly different from other nice New York hotels and it has definite benefits as detailed below.

Location: The neighbourhood is filled with upscale boutiques and trendy restaurants. Three popular eateries everyone wants to visit (Clinton St Bakery, Freeman's, Katz Deli) are all here. Just north of it is East Village and west is Chinatown, both full of cheap food options and within a 15 minute walk. For sightseeing, your best bet is the subway. LES has four stations, the 2 Av station (orange F line) is a couple minutes walk away from the hotel. It intersects with 3 different train lines, so you should be able to get anywhere. Personally, the most enjoyable walking neighbourhoods are LES, Soho, East Village, West Village, which are all in south Manhattan. Staying far up in midtown (above 34th, anywhere near Times Square) is just too touristy, too loud and less fun.

Rooms: We stayed in a room with two double beds (Double Deluxe). This room was really lovely, spotlessly clean, sleek and modern. For 3 girls, it was ample room, far more spacious than other boutique-y/swanky hotels. One nice addition is the flat seating bench along the wall, which worked out really nicely for storing our luggage (2 carry ons and a large duffel). The beds were very comfortable. The lighted wall art could be turned on and off as you please. The glass and black tiled bathroom is an extension of the room and sectioned into 3 pieces: Spacious standing rain shower, separate vanity with good counter space, a separate room with a toilet. One note: The shower, even with lights behind it, shows ONLY the silhouette of the person in it. We experienced no noise on the 9th floor, but if you are a light sleeper, ask for a higher floor.

Service: I can't speak to the restaurant or pool amenities as we didn't use it. I noticed the pool on the lower deck, which faces east so sun is blocked out in the late afternoon. Front desk and doormen were superb. They were helpful with little tasks (getting ice, helping with champagne, luggage storage etc) and very friendly. Overall, made for a terrific stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hykwok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tania G, General Manager at SIXTY LES, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Hykwok,
On behalf of the Sixty LES team, thank you for sharing your glowing recommendation of our property and our amazing neighborhood. It is with great pleasure to hear you and your friends were all well taken care of during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to LES in the near future. Please contact us directly with booking your next “getaway” – we are always happy to assist.
Warm Regards
Tania Getzova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Unfortunately, a really disappointing stay. The hotel is very much style over substance, except when we stayed, works were being done in the lobby / first floor and so there wasn't even any style!

The corridors were tatty, dark and had flickering lights. The room on first view was great (on a high floor), although small. However, once you look closely, the walls are dirty, wood looking tatty etc. The bathroom was also style over substance, with a shower which wet the bathroom floor and it all needed a good refurbishment.

Bed was very comfortable and the floor-ceiling windows with a view helped mask some of the disappointing issues with the room.

Staff were either great (bell boys and some of the reception staff) or terrible. The lady on reception that evening had such attitude that we didn't feel she was remotely approachable re. the issues raised. When we mentioned on check-out that the room / hotel was disappointing, the lady (who was much nicer!) offered us an upgrade on our next stay by way of apology.

Location was good, but really this place looked well past its sell-by date.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank hb133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gibraltar
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Great location, near a lot of good restaurants and a very busy area. Lots of little bars around the hotel. We stayed for 5 nights and all was very good. We found a very nice breakfast at the corner of the hotel and a great live performance bar called the Rockwood music Hall just next door.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cbsa1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tania G, General Manager at SIXTY LES, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Gibraltar,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review and share your experience on Tripadvisor. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and had the opportunity to take advantage of the many outlets and amenities in the locale area. We look forward welcoming you back in the nearest future.
Kind Regards,
Tania Getzova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Lower East Side
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New York
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New...
#96 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
Lower East Side
The Ludlow New York City
The Ludlow New York City
#87 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
Lower East Side
Hotel on Rivington
Hotel on Rivington
#165 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Village
The Standard, East Village
The Standard, East Village
#180 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#85 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
Nolita
The Nolitan Hotel
The Nolitan Hotel
#132 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SIXTY LES? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SIXTY LES

Property: SIXTY LES
Address: 190 Allen St, Lower East Side, New York City, NY 10002-1418
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Lower East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Green Hotel in New York City
#58 Business Hotel in New York City
#116 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#126 Family Hotel in New York City
#161 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — SIXTY LES 4.5*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the epicenter of downtown Manhattan's vibrant New Renaissance in cuisine, galleries, live music clubs, and nightlife spots, the fun-defining SIXTY LES evokes the youthful spirit of its all-hours neighborhood-an indie-vibed district on display from nearly every Jim Walrod-curated suite's floor-to-ceiling windows. Andy Warhol's visage looks up from the scene-and-be-seen swimming pool's bottom, while gritty images by iconic photographer Lee Friedlander illuminate bedroom headboards. Step out into the street life and walk directly into the world-recognized New Museum or countless gastronaut destination spots. But guests need go no further than the vibrant award-winning Blue Ribbon Sushi Izakaya tavern and bar for Japanese cuisine and stellar cocktails, courtesy of foodie deities the Bromberg brothers. SIXTY LES is part of SIXTY Hotels, a new, innovative of luxury inns located in New York, Los Angeles, and debuting in Miami soon-ish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your SIXTY LES reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thompson Les New York City
Thompson Les Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing