We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“60 LES is A-OK”
Review of SIXTY LES

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SIXTY LES
Ranked #158 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
1 review
“60 LES is A-OK”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Fine service and nice digs, even if the rooms appear to have been decorated by a first-year film school student with a particularly bleak outlook on life. Old-school New York eats - Katz's, Russ & Daughers - and new music venues - Rockwood Music Hall, Arlene's Grocery, Cake Shop - are within meandering distance. I don't usually stay in the Bowery, but really, you could do worse.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sdwd1229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    619
    328
    129
    66
    38
See reviews for
180
407
102
256
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We had a wonderful stay end of May for my daughters college graduation from Cooper Union. Location across the street from a few subway lines, walk to China town and Little Italy, lots of cute local places to eat and drink nearby. The room was a queen, nice size with a spectacular wall of floor to ceiling windows over looking the financial district and the new freedom tower, it was a wow. Bathroom nice, shower wonderful. Staff very friendly and helpful. Beer garden fun in the evening, with ping pong, frozen beer outside on a 3rd floor terrace overlooking Allen st. Best of all was the Andy Warhol outdoor swimming pool, on a terrace and nicely monitored for hotel guests only, with drink bar and towel service on cushy sun recliners, with FREE wifi. Could not ask for a better hotel, enjoy.

Room Tip: Get a room high enough to enjoy the window view, we were on 6 and it was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dkidwell615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Sixty LES is an amazing find in the LES and has turned into the only hotel I stay at while in town. The service and staff are always friendly and helpful in every way possible. The rooms are beautiful, well lit and kept and large for being in NY. It is centrally located and is definitely worth the stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gland, France
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Average may be a bit severe for this hotel but very good is to high. Indeed some services we received during our stay were very good. However, some points can help improve the standard and get to the next level:
- First breakfast: personnel could have indicated us that there was a seperate breakfast served for our group. We were actually the only ones to be served in the bar, so easy to make a connection. Also when printing the bill, system was not working properly and we almost missed the beginning of our meeting.
- Lunch: was served outside when weatehr was at the limit of being too cold (was actually too cold)
- Attique room for business meeting was not really good. Too much light, too hot, too cold....
- Phone kept ringing in the attique room when people were presenting
- You need to be an engineer to take a shower and actually find how you can turn off the water in the shower
- Light system in the room was a constant discovery
- Room was superb, modern, view was supendous
- Food was ok to good

Otherwyse very nice personnel, really trying their best but "hotellier" is a true job, everyone would need even more training, not only to be nice but to anticipate more on people's need

Room Tip: The highest the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PascalRi300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tania G, General Manager at SIXTY LES, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear PascalRi300,
Thank you for taking the time and providing us feedback on your stay at Sixty LES. Your positive suggestions are greatly appreciated and would help with improvements overall. Thank you again for sharing your experience.
Kind Regards,
Tania Getzova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

If a hotel has air-conditioning loud enough to drown out the city noises and isn't on a stupid timer that turns of and on all night, you'll get a decent review based on that alone.

Great bed, desk and couch. The bathroom could use some small shelves since the counter is small.

One of my favorite NY hotels.

Room Tip: don't stay facing the pool in the summertime.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flickmanmarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 June 2014

My room was huge for NYC hotels - normally I'm used to a box and this hotel was very sophisticated and spacious. The bathroom especially was larger than what I expected for NYC - it even had a rain shower. Bar/restaurant in the hotel is amazing and was also cool this place had a pool. It's in the Lower East Side area - and there were a ton of nice restaurants/bars within walking distance.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bbeaman12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tania G, General Manager at SIXTY LES, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear bbeaman 12,
The entire Team here at Sixty LES thank you for your lovely review of our property. We are very happy to hear you liked our spacious rooms and enjoyed our bathroom. We hope to welcome you again in the near future.
Best Regards,
Tania Getzova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles
1 review
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I had a incredible time staying at sixty Les. Everyone was super nice and helpful. The location is in the best neighborhood in the city. Excellent place to experience NYC. I would stay here next time I am in town.

Room Tip: Allen St. side of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Lower East Side
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New York
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New...
#88 of 467 in New York City
638 reviews
Lower East Side
The Ludlow New York City
The Ludlow New York City
#78 of 467 in New York City
652 reviews
Lower East Side
Hotel on Rivington
Hotel on Rivington
#138 of 467 in New York City
1,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Village
The Standard, East Village
The Standard, East Village
#178 of 467 in New York City
692 reviews
SoHo
The James New York-SoHo
The James New York-SoHo
#164 of 467 in New York City
1,405 reviews
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#124 of 467 in New York City
3,544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SIXTY LES? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SIXTY LES

Property: SIXTY LES
Address: 190 Allen St, Lower East Side, New York City, NY 10002-1418
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Lower East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Green Hotel in New York City
#58 Business Hotel in New York City
#121 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#124 Family Hotel in New York City
#159 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — SIXTY LES 4.5*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the epicenter of downtown Manhattan's vibrant New Renaissance in cuisine, galleries, live music clubs, and nightlife spots, the fun-defining SIXTY LES evokes the youthful spirit of its all-hours neighborhood-an indie-vibed district on display from nearly every Jim Walrod-curated suite's floor-to-ceiling windows. Andy Warhol's visage looks up from the scene-and-be-seen swimming pool's bottom, while gritty images by iconic photographer Lee Friedlander illuminate bedroom headboards. Step out into the street life and walk directly into the world-recognized New Museum or countless gastronaut destination spots. But guests need go no further than the vibrant award-winning Blue Ribbon Sushi Izakaya tavern and bar for Japanese cuisine and stellar cocktails, courtesy of foodie deities the Bromberg brothers. SIXTY LES is part of SIXTY Hotels, a new, innovative of luxury inns located in New York, Los Angeles, and debuting in Miami soon-ish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your SIXTY LES reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thompson Les New York City
Thompson Les Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing