We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Omni Berkshire Place
Ranked #99 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Normal, Il
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Place”
Reviewed 10 August 2011

Love this hotel. Great staff, great location. The concierge is very helpful. Front desk people care.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NormalTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Berkshire Place, responded to this review, 24 August 2011
Thank you for your compliments of The Omni Berkshire Place and our staff. We hope you will return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,738 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,228
    1,045
    287
    119
    59
See reviews for
1,135
1,191
139
675
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (472)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
usa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Everything went well and room was clean. No bedbugs found. Good location. If visiting on Sunday morning, make a left and enjoy the street market. It was a nice surprise.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kittysback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Berkshire Place, responded to this review, 24 August 2011
Many thanks for your complimentary review of The Omni Berkshire Place!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
142 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

As a very frequent visitor to new York I have come to expect the worst when it comes to hotel experiences - overpriced small rooms out of date dirty elevators that take forever, and staff that could care less
Not so the omni Berkshire. For first time visitors it was a real pleasure and find. From doorman to check in to clean well appointed rooms it was hard to find fault. And to have all the newspapers delivered to the room was much appreciated
Subject to price and availability this will be my first choice in future

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bjx25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Berkshire Place, responded to this review, 24 August 2011
What a pleasure for us to read that you were pleasantly surprised by your recent stay at The Omni Berkshire Place. We are thrilled to now be one of your preferred New York hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

I have stayed at this hotel twice so far- one time before the renovation and the second time after room renovation was completed. WOW! What a transformation! They really upgraded rooms, especially bathrooms! Standard rooms are small, but not too small for New York standards. Bed was very comfortable. The staff was very helpful and concierge is there to answer any questions you may have about the city or help with reservations. Check in and check out were both a breeze. One of the most amazing things about this hotel is its location! It is very close to the metro stop, great restaurants (go to Le Pain Quotodien for a traditional French breakfast), and many New York sightseeing spots. It is also right around the corner from 5th avenue with great shopping! I had breakfast at the hotel and while it was good, I could not really justify why it was as expensive as at was.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pinkshoes518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Berkshire Place, responded to this review, 24 August 2011
Thank you for your compliments of our recent renovation and for all of your positive feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your time at The Omni Berkshire Place and hope you return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
83 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Only had one night at the Omni Berkshire and although the room was OK (good size, nice bathroom but overlooking the rear of the hotel...no view unless you are into air con units etc) and the staff were good (pleasant and helpful...good barman now that I remember...he made a mean G&T!), the best thing for me was the fact that the hotel was so well positioned for 5th Ave, central park, Rockefeller Centre etc. Although only in NYC for a few hours before leaving for Connecticut managed to see a lot and get back to hotel easily. Signed up for their member's deal which meant free wifi, paper etc...this is free so recommend you do this when you arrive or before you get there (online).

Room Tip: view from the front is not much better than view from the rear as faces another building across a na...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IndianaEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Berkshire Place, responded to this review, 24 August 2011
We are glad that our central location allowed you to see many of the New York sites during your quick stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay and we hope to have you as our guest again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Situated on corner Madison and 52nd street, the Omni Berkshire is a well appointed hotel. We stayed for 4 nights late July when the weather was hot, the AC worked well. Room, a good size for NYC, has modern decor with large bathroom - although shower was not that fast flowing. The room had a view to the side of the hotel (52nd street) and was very quiet.
Starbucks and other delis/coffee bars were nearby for breakfast coffees etc - hotel restaurant was very expensive.

Overall a good hotel - we would stay again

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HobartEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Berkshire Place, responded to this review, 24 August 2011
We are glad you had a great stay at The Omni Berkshire Place and are thrilled to hear that you would stay with us again. Thank you for reviewing your experience on TripAdvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

We stayed here as a family of 4 for 4 days in July. The best thing about this hotel is the location - it is literally a minute from 5th Avenue and really accessible for Broadway etc. The service is good and the staff really go out of their way to help. The Concierge gave us some great recommendations for dinner and the guy on the door was a real character and made us smile! The room was fine - although feeling a little in need of a refurb - particularly the bathroom, but was fine for what we wanted. There are two areas of constructive criticism. One is around the elevators. They are very slow and we often had to wait a while for them. The other aspect was the service in the bar/restaurant. On our first day, we had breakfast there and the waiter got our order wrong. He didn't write it down and really should have. We also thought for what it was - it was a bit pricey. On the basis of both - we went pout for breakfast for the rest of our stay. On the Saturday we went out to see a show and when we got back we went to the bar for a drink. The waiter ignored us for 10 minutes, despite it not being busy and it was disappointing that we had to go up to the bar and asked to be served. Overall, though I would recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: higher floors are slightly quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Berkshire Place, responded to this review, 24 August 2011
Thank you for sharing your feedback, both positive and constructive, regarding your recent stay at The Omni Berkshire Place. We appreciate the chance to understand where our service has opportunity for improvement and assure you that we will be sharing your feedback with the General Manager of our restaurant. Thank you for also sharing the positive aspects of your stay and for recommending our hotel to other TripAdvisor users. We hope you will be our guest again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Lotte New York Palace
Lotte New York Palace
#75 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,181 reviews
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#85 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,581 reviews
Midtown
The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center
The Jewel facing Rockefeller Cen...
#114 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#91 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,194 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#40 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Berkshire Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Berkshire Place

Property: Omni Berkshire Place
Address: 21 E 52nd St, at Madison Ave, New York City, NY 10022-5389
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Family Hotel in New York City
#52 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#67 Business Hotel in New York City
#81 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Omni Berkshire Place 4.5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience enviable luxury at the Omni Berkshire Place located in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. Stay just steps from some of New York City's most notable attractions including Fifth Avenue Shopping, Rockefeller Center, St. Patrick's Cathedral, Central Park, Broadway Theatres, and Times Square. Modern Technology and fresh contemporary decor are brought together for accommodations that embrace the look and feel of an Upper East Side residence. Luxury guestrooms combined with the renowned service and amenities make the Omni Berkshire Place an ideal destination for both business or leisure travelers looking to experience the excitement of Midtown Manhattan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Omni Berkshire Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Berkshire Place Hotel New York City
Omni Hotel Berkshire Place
Omni New York City
New York City Omni
Omni Berkshire New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing