We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“decent rooms with decent service and excellent food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Omni Berkshire Place
Ranked #104 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte Amalie, null, United States
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“decent rooms with decent service and excellent food”
Reviewed 6 June 2012

This is well located in the middle of Manhattan and a safe neighborhood. the food in the bar is wonderful - do try the lobster appetizers. the rooms are quite large for this part of town and the staff friendly for New Yorkers.

Room Tip: stay away from the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Berkshire Place, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
Thank you for your complimentary review of The Omni Berkshire Place. We are glad you had a great stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,831 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,284
    1,069
    298
    121
    59
See reviews for
1,168
1,220
143
689
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (478)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Whenever I'm on business in NY I stay in town and try a different hotel when I can. I've stayed here twice and on both occasions have enjoyed my stay, rooms are smart and modern without being minimalist, the beds are very comfortable which is a plus for me as I'm often on UK time and wake at 3 in the morning. Try to avoid a low room over looking the, this city really doesn't sleep and there's a lot of road noise, if it's not the police forever using their sirens for just about anything it's delivery trucks. The bar has a good astmosphere in a sort of "Cheers" way and the staff are there to help.

Recommended!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

The hotel is very centrally located in manhattan with most parts being within walking distance or a small taxi ride. The hotel itself is pretty well maintained with well-sized rooms and good sized bathrooms. It is a business hotel and hence not very fancy (if thats what you were expecting).

Overall a good experience that I wouldnt mind repeating.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nikhil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Berkshire Place, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
We are fortunate to have such a great location in the heart of Midtown and are thrilled to read that you felt as if you had easy access to most of the city. Thank you for sharing the details of your stay on TripAdvisor and we hope to have you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

I stayed at this hotel for the first time over Memorial Day weekend. I wanted to write this review because I had a an exceptionally good expereince. The location is terrific, and the room was modern, spacious and comfortable. No doubt NYC hotel prices are high - put this hotel delivers your money's worth. The staff was incredibly attentive. The concierge desk is right by the elevator, and they greet you as you go by and ask if they can assist. Join Omni's select guest program for free, and you get free room wi-fi and morning beverage on the spot.
I go to NYC often, and I have found the place where I plan to stay in the future.

Room Tip: I asked for an inside, quiet room and that's what I got. (Room 1503) It is a end room with a si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sabandrusty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Berkshire Place, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
It was great to read that your experience at The Omni Berkshire Place went so well that it moved you to write a review. Thank you for all of your kind words and we look forward to the opportunity to serve you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

We stayed at this hotel between Christmas and New Year and it was perfectly located to see all the major sights/ shopping areas on foot. The room was spacious and overlooked the street. We had a few meals at the bar which were also good. Given the time of the year, everything was super expensive but the trip was memorable.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dora_and_Map
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Berkshire Place, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
We are glad your holiday stay at The Omni Berkshire Place was memorable. Thank you for writing a review and we hope you will consider us for your future NYC hotel needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

We have been to NYC many times, and the Omni Berkshire is our favorite hotel to stay in. Our exexutive king suite on floor 16 was huge and modern, felt very luxurious. Definitely join the Select Guest program - it's free and gets you free wi-fi, morning coffee delivery, and morning paper.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PWatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Berkshire Place, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
We are delighted to be your favorite New York and would like to thank you for your loyalty. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney,Australia
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

We booked a berkshire suite which was spacious but dark and unwelcoming due to its rear facing location looking onto adjoining buildings.Lights are required day and night. No amount of style makeover can disguise this.Our room was also located adjacent to a maid's service room that was the centre of constant noisy activity day and night. Overseas guests are often on different body time clocks so this was less than ideal.

Omni have the makings of a good loyalty program and they have joined a global alliance, but their recognition of various membership levels , personal preferences and the consistency of the benefits is patchy.Issues once raised were addressed by management efficiently.

The location is good, easy walk to the subway.

Room Tip: Avoid suites ending in 19
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank farawaymum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Berkshire Place, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
We appreciate your feedback and regret that there were a few aspects of your stay that fell short of your expectations. If you return, and we hope you will, please do not hesitate to alert us of your room preferences and we will make all efforts to accommodate them. Thank you again for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center
The Jewel facing Rockefeller Cen...
#103 of 467 in New York City
1,803 reviews
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#93 of 467 in New York City
2,652 reviews
Midtown
Lotte New York Palace
Lotte New York Palace
#82 of 467 in New York City
3,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#38 of 467 in New York City
2,696 reviews
Midtown
WestHouse Hotel New York
WestHouse Hotel New York
#102 of 467 in New York City
1,600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Berkshire Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Berkshire Place

Property: Omni Berkshire Place
Address: 21 E 52nd St, at Madison Ave, New York City, NY 10022-5389
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Family Hotel in New York City
#52 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#67 Business Hotel in New York City
#86 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Omni Berkshire Place 4.5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience enviable luxury at the Omni Berkshire Place located in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. Stay just steps from some of New York City's most notable attractions including Fifth Avenue Shopping, Rockefeller Center, St. Patrick's Cathedral, Central Park, Broadway Theatres, and Times Square. Modern Technology and fresh contemporary decor are brought together for accommodations that embrace the look and feel of an Upper East Side residence. Luxury guestrooms combined with the renowned service and amenities make the Omni Berkshire Place an ideal destination for both business or leisure travelers looking to experience the excitement of Midtown Manhattan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Omni Berkshire Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Berkshire Place Hotel New York City
Omni Hotel Berkshire Place
Omni New York City
New York City Omni
Omni Berkshire New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing