We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great weekend at the Berkshire.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Omni Berkshire Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Omni Berkshire Place
Ranked #103 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
New York, United States
1 review
“Great weekend at the Berkshire.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

Very friendly and helpful staff. Rooms were very clean. Didn't hear any noise from the street had a restful, fun weekend. Very centrally located, walking distance to just about everything we wanted to do.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Maria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,588 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,135
    1,004
    277
    116
    56
See reviews for
1,088
1,137
134
650
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (466)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

We spent three nights there and it is a great hotel that is very well located, close to Times Square and Central Park. The bed is very comfortable. The staff is very friendly and concierge helpful. I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

I am staying at the Omni right now. It has been a horrible experience. We booked the premiere room hoping for a nice vacation experience for my son and myself and ended up in a small noisy room. We both can't sleep (woke up before 5am when the trucks started delivering), hence the review at such an early hour of the day. I complained yesterday after we arrived, but they were fully booked and couldn't switch us. As much as I appreciate the drinks/cookies we received from the hotel, I really want to sleep. Waking up at 5am in a small room, where I overpaid to get a nice room, is not really my definition of a nice vacation. I stayed at the Sofitel in the past and was very happy. I also stayed at much nicer hotels in NYC and was always happy and got a good night sleep. There are many more less expensive hotels with better rooms (where you can even get a sleep!).

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank ta t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Berkshire Place, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Please accept our sincerest apologies for the early morning disruption. The city will sometimes do construction in the off hours to avoid high traffic time periods. Although it is beyond our control, we truly regret that it affected your stay. If you would consider staying with us again in the future we will work with you to ensure that you are in a quiet area of the hotel. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to read your feedback and we hope for a future opportunity to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring, Texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Well, we arrived about midnight (pre checked in, whatever that means) but my name was not in the rolodex. We had to pull out our paper with reservation and whew, she found it. We go to our room and open the door and walk in. Whoa! My husband says "someone is in this room". I scurry out as quickly as possible. Actually someone's backpack and macbook were in the room but beds were made. We still do not know if someone was in the bathroom or not. Rather disturbing, We went to the front desk and reported this. Clerk apologized, gave us new room, which we walked into very slowly after knocking. Whew, unoccupied. Stay was nice. Clean, comfy. Quiet. Doormen and bellhop and concierge were helpful.

Another complaint ...i had (I thought) booked a pre theater meal in fireside restaurant. When it did not appear on my reservation, we went down to reserve in person for that evening. Upon arrival that evening, we were told there was no theater menu tonight, just burgers and pizza. Well thanks for the heads up! We should have been told this before, at booking online or that morning. Very disappointed and misled. We found a meal outside the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shan262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Berkshire Place, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
We appreciate your feedback and truly regret the confusion regarding both your check in experience and pre-theater meal. Please know that we are thoroughly researching what happened and are using this as a training example for our associates so that we can avoid future recurrences. We truly apologize that your stay with us didn't reflect the luxury experience that we strive to provide each guest and we hope that you will give us a future chance to provide you with an exceptional stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

We spent three nights at this lovely hotel this past week and had a wonderful time. The room was well designed, reasonable size and quiet which is an achievement when you are at Madison Avenue and 52nd Street. The bed was first rate and the pillows were the first I've had at any hotel where I didn't regret that I didn't take my own. Everyone was very friendly without exception. The location is perfect for visiting Museum Mile and Central Park.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maurie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaSalle, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

As a Regular visitor to NYC I have to say this was one of our best stays ever. I was fortunate enough to book a room with 2 double beds through booking.com for $169 a night and it was wonderful. We checked in at 9:30am and our room was ready for us, our view was of Madison Ave, rooms were a great size (especially for NY), bathroom was large, everything was clean.
We found everyone on staff to be friendly and so helpful, There was no negative from this hotel. If you take 5 minutes to go online and join the Omni club (no cost) you will get free WiFi in your room, coffee, water and newspaper.
This hotel is in a great location and within walking distance to Grand central, Central Park, Time Square, Rockafellar Plaza, Macys, Bryant Park, Chrysler Building, Empire State Building.

Needless to say we will return to this hotel again next year.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shoegirl17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

We loved the hotel, the staff and the service. It was my wife's 50th birthday. We received an upgrade and then a surprise complimentary bottle of champagne and dessert sent to our room. Very nice and thoughtful.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank josephl94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Lotte New York Palace
Lotte New York Palace
#82 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,018 reviews
Midtown
The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center
The Jewel facing Rockefeller Cen...
#116 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,685 reviews
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#79 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#89 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,093 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#37 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Berkshire Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Berkshire Place

Property: Omni Berkshire Place
Address: 21 E 52nd St, at Madison Ave, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Family Hotel in New York City
#53 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#67 Business Hotel in New York City
#81 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Omni Berkshire Place 4.5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience enviable luxury at the Omni Berkshire Place located in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. Stay just steps from some of New York City's most notable attractions including Fifth Avenue Shopping, Rockefeller Center, St. Patrick's Cathedral, Central Park, Broadway Theatres, and Times Square. Modern Technology and fresh contemporary decor are brought together for accommodations that embrace the look and feel of an Upper East Side residence. Luxury guestrooms combined with the renowned service and amenities make the Omni Berkshire Place an ideal destination for both business or leisure travelers looking to experience the excitement of Midtown Manhattan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TravelUp, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Omni Berkshire Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Berkshire Place Hotel New York City
Omni Hotel Berkshire Place
Omni New York City
New York City Omni
Omni Berkshire New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing