We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not professional”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Omni Berkshire Place
Ranked #98 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 January 2011

We stayed a couple days in January as private guests. Our room was nice and rather roomy. However the toilets flush did not work and you could not take a bath in the tub as it would not close.
A technician came quite rapidly but had to stay 45 min in our room to get it fixed. No apologies or "treat" / compensation by hotel management.

After having left, we were charged for alleged mini bar fees, on my visa card. These were unaccurate and after intervening the hotel cancelled them. However this should not have happened.

It is a good hotel as it is nicely located. However in total this is not suitable for private (non-business) travellers

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elmarshausen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Berkshire Place, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2011

Please accept our apologies for the service lapses you experienced while staying at The Omni Berkshire Place. We do our best to be minimally intrusive when addressing any maintenance issues and regret that our engineer was in your room for longer than anticipated. We also apologize for the minibar charges but are glad to hear they were quickly resolved. We do hope you will consider giving us a second chance as we would appreciate the opportunity to provide you with a stay that exceeds your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,965)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,309 - 3,315 of 3,965 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2011

We stayed at the Omni for my birthday - Dec 18th to 21st - and the stay overall was not great.

Our flight arrived very early in NY, and we had requested an early check-in, knowing that this was of course, only a request and not a guarantee. Sure enough, when we arrived at 8am, there was nothing available in our room category. The gentleman assured us he would call my cellular the moment a room became available, and off we went breakfast and a bus tour of the city.

After completing our fun and enjoyable bus tour, we arrived back at the hotel at 1pm. I approach the same man at the front desk, and again ask if our room is ready (after all, it had been 5 HOURS since we arrived). He shuffles around some papers, then looks on the computer and tells me that nothing is available yet in our room category. I have worked in the hotel industry for many, many years, so I know that there is NO WAY that not one "premium king room" has checked out all day and been cleaned! The fact is that this guy simply forgot we were waiting for the first available premium room, and did not call us, or hold a room for us.

When I point this out to him, he gives us a coupon for two drinks in the hotel bar, and suggests we have a cocktail while we wait. And boy, wait is what we did! We were seated in the bar, then waited, and waited, and waited.... the server just simply never came. I approached the bartender, and he then summoned the hostess, who then sent over a server. After we order drinks and some appetizers, he disappeared again. We had to go back to the bartender to get a bill. The bartender was also very aware of the server's absence, and said "I guess he's just too busy...." (he was making a joke because there was only one other table occupied in the restaurant). I made sure not to tip... after all, who and what service was I tipping???

We finally got our room - and it was fabulous! The room was large, the bathroom magnificant, and had a lovely city view. We were on the top floor - room 2104, I believe. The hotel left a small cake, balloons and bottled water with a small Happy Birthday note for me..... but, also left the same in our room for someone named "Mathew"???? It was clearly not meant for us, and the hotel has the names of the guests registered in that room, so I'm confused as to why they would bother to leave it in our room.

The next morning is when my true frustration and anger began. The hotel advertises wi-fi... however, it was NOT accessible on our floor. I had urgent work to attend to, and absolutely had to log in with my own laptop. I spent 2 hours in my room, working with the hotels "technical customer service" to trouble shoot the problem. In the end, the technician said the problem is at the hotel level, and not my computer, and he would log a "work ticket".

So, I called the front desk to see if there was somewhere in the hotel I could plug in to the internet. I was directed to the computers in the business center. Guess what? There is NO WIRELESS ACCESS on the business center floor! And absolutely no where to hard wire in. AND no concierge working at the welcome desk in the work centre to help out!

So, again I called the front desk. At this point I am beyond frustrated, and very upset. The staff again tell me that it's my computer and no other guest has complained about the lack of wi-fi at their hotel. After I continued to press them for an alternative, an internet cafe, anything at all (I absolutely HAD to get this work inputed), he finally told me that the hotel lobby had wi-fi.

Can I just tell you how much fun it was to sit on the corner of a couch, in the middle of the lobby for 6 HOURS working? It was a Sunday morning, so there was a great number of people checking out, the front doors propped open continually filling the lobby with frigid December air, not to mention the families and kids that joined me on the couch while I was trying to work. So, clearly it was NOT my computer, as it worked just fine on the ground floor.

I simply CANNOT believe that this was Omni's solution to their lack of internet service! It was disgusting to be treated so poorly when you are paying so much for a room!

The location was great, walking distance to everything.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnandEmily_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Berkshire Place, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2011

It was very disappointing for us to read about your experience at The Omni Berkshire Place. There is certainly no excuse for the lapses in service or wifi connection. We do apologize for all of the issues that you encountered and we will reach out to you privately to discuss further. It is our hope that you will consider returning so that we may have the opportunity to provide you with the stay that you initially deserved.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2011

We got a great deal at this hotel so I feel I can complain too much. But if I had paid full price I would be unhappy with a few things.

The bathroom was a bit dirty...hair in the tub, a ring on the side of tub from someone's drink before us, and was a just a bit beaten up. There was a dirty towel in the bathroom. It looked like someone had just wiped their hands on it while it was on the rack and in effort to "be green" they don't wash unless it's on the floor. I think it's unsanitary to not change all towels between guests whether the "look" like they've been used or not. That being said, I'm sure the Omni is not the hotel hotel doing that...it's probably quite typical but unacceptable.

The worst thing about this room was the heat. This room was so hot we could not sleep. We turned off the heat and even cracked the window as much as possible and it was still 78.4 degrees when we woke the next day. The head of housekeeping was very nice and apologetic and sent someone to fix it, but he clearly didn't know the first thing about it and said there was nothing he could do. We asked to change rooms and the front desk allowed us to change but acted like we had inconvenienced them. The room we were moved to was significantly smaller and not as nice but at that point we just wanted to be able to breathe. At that point I was underwhelmed with the service, but they did redeem themselves later with a complimentary champagne and chocolate covered strawberries...which were wonderful.

There are no coffee makers in the rooms but if you are a select member they will bring beverages to your room in the morning which is a very nice perk.

The gym was ok but not impressive. The beds are comfy. The location is great and overall we had a good experience and for the right price would return again.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelincritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Berkshire Place, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2011

Thank you for your feedback both positive and negative from your recent stay at The Omni Berkshire Place. We do apologize that the room was not up to our normally stringent housekeeping standards which do include changing out all towels between each guest. We are glad that in the end you felt satisfied with your stay but hope that you will return for a stay that is good from start to finish!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights in June 2009 in a premier king room and loved every minute of it. Of course NYC doesn't need any introduction, but The Omni Berkshire Place is a fantastic hotel in a great mid-town location. The rooms are very clean and modern with plenty of space, and the beds are very comfortable - nice firm mattresses. The service is great - they bent over backwards to accommodate any requests, including contacting a restaurant that we had reservations at to let them know we were running half an hour late, and to check that we would still have a table.

As I said, the location couldn't be better if you're looking to explore Manhattan as it's right in the middle of everything, and especially if you're there for the shopping as it's right off 5th avenue, and only a 15 minute walk up to Maceys. The park is about 5 minutes away, and Times Square is about the same.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TWH_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Berkshire Place, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2011

Thank you for your complimentary review of The Omni Berkshire Place. We are glad you were well taken care of by our associates and enjoyed our convenient Midtown location. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2011

We stayed at the Omni Berkshire for a Saturday night out following a matinee. We arrived at the hotel approximately noon, and they already had our room read (a perk of being a Omni Select Guest?). It was on the 16th floor away from the elevators and we were upgraded to a premier room. The room was very clean and quite large (360 sq. ft. according to the website).

The bed was quite comfortable and the shower had excellent water pressure. On Sunday morning, we decided that we did not want to eat in the hotel restaurant (Fireside) because we did not want fancy breakfasts, nor did we want to pay hotel restaurant prices. The concierge, who told us she lives in the neighborhood, recommended a wonderful dinner about a 10 or 15 minute walk away on 1st Avenue and 53rd Street (Madison Restaurant).

Overall, I would absolutely stay at the Omni again. Although I doubt I will ever be able to beat the Cyber Monday $99 rate I got (back in November), I would easily pay more for the level of service, location, and quality of the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dctravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Berkshire Place, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2011

We are glad to hear that you had a wonderful experience at The Omni Berkshire Place. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor and we hope to welcome you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2011

Understated elegance, outstanding service, fabulous location, classic yet modern....really perfect in every aspect. Great value in NYC.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neelio45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Berkshire Place, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2011

Many thanks for your complimentary review. We are glad you had an outstanding stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 5 days, and the stay was faultless. Check-in was speedy and efficient, the room was spacious and well appointed. The bathroom was a good size, and the housekeeping was of an excellent standard. We had signed up to the Select Guest Programme prior to our visit, and the little "perks" that came with this were excellent, for example, we had complimentary beverages of our choice delivered to the room at a time of our choosing throughout our stay, and we were also afforded free wifi, which was of great benefit. Having visited New York on a number of occasions, and having previously stayed at the Waldorf Astoria, I could not recommend a better hotel for location. We would definitely stay at this hotel again on any return visit.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juliebullick1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Berkshire Place, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2011

Thank you for your recommendation of The Omni Berkshire Place! We are glad you had such an enjoyable stay and we hope you will return again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center
The Jewel facing Rockefeller Cen...
#101 of 469 in New York City
1,902 reviews
Midtown
Lotte New York Palace
Lotte New York Palace
#79 of 469 in New York City
3,489 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#100 of 469 in New York City
2,730 reviews
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
InterContinental New York Barcla...
#108 of 469 in New York City
1,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Berkshire Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Berkshire Place

Address: 21 E 52nd St, at Madison Ave, New York City, NY 10022-5389
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Family Hotel in New York City
#52 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#67 Business Hotel in New York City
#80 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £202 - £523 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Omni Berkshire Place 4.5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience enviable luxury at the Omni Berkshire Place located in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. Stay just steps from some of New York City's most notable attractions including Fifth Avenue Shopping, Rockefeller Center, St. Patrick's Cathedral, Central Park, Broadway Theatres, and Times Square. Modern Technology and fresh contemporary decor are brought together for accommodations that embrace the look and feel of an Upper East Side residence. Luxury guestrooms combined with the renowned service and amenities make the Omni Berkshire Place an ideal destination for both business or leisure travelers looking to experience the excitement of Midtown Manhattan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Omni Berkshire Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Berkshire Place Hotel New York City
Omni Hotel Berkshire Place
Omni New York City
New York City Omni
Omni Berkshire New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing