We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet Comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Omni Berkshire Place
Ranked #99 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 February 2011

Great find on Madison near St. Pat's, Sak's. Room newly renovated, bath all clean and comfortable. Amenities all you need. Stayed here lots when working out of 59th & Park office, still very nice, and good value. Will return soon.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tablesedge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Berkshire Place, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2011

We are glad you enjoyed your stay at The Omni Berkshire Place. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,456 - 3,462 of 4,124 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2011

The Omni Berkshire was a great choice for our recent trip to NYC. I read all sorts of reviews and fretted over the decision and am happy to say that we made the right choice. We knew the hotel had a great location and we had a good deal at just around $200 for the night, what we didn't know was that there would be absolutely nothing wrong with this hotel. Our room was a bit small but also comfortable, clean and quiet. The furnishings were stylish and the bed provided a lovely night's sleep. The service was efficient and everyone was helpful and friendly. We had no problems with the valet service. I will certainly stay at the Omni next time we're in town.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swr25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Berkshire Place, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2011

It is a pleasure for us to read that your stay at The Omni Berkshire Place met all of your expectations. Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor and we look forward to your next stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2011

We stayed at the Omni Berkshire for the weekend. Everything about the trip including the hotel was great. Our room was a corner Madison suite. It was huge! The thing which stuck out most to my wife and I was the level of cleaniness. Both of us are pretty picky about the level of cleanliness. We both travel with lysol, cleaning wipes, anti-bacterial lotion, etc... I can tell you some easy ways to gauge the level of cleanliness is to check the corners in the bathroom or dustiness of lampshades. This room was cleaner than our house. The hotel is not really all that big which is a real plus. It has a nice mid-town location and plenty of elevators for this size hotel. Friends of ours traveling with us stayed at the Marriott Marquis and complained about the elevator wait and availability. There was little noise at night from traffic/other too. Check-in could have been better as there was a bit of confusion since I was redeeming a guest rewards free night plus paying for a night. Check out was easy and quick, I requested a late check out and they had no issue accomodating it. We had breakfast in their restaurant both days. The staff here were very nice (especially Frank). He heard it was my daughter's birthday and arranged for a very nice sweet treat for her. Frank also gave us great advice on how we could get a chance to meet the stars of the broadway show we were attending that night. His advice was great and my daughter and our friends were shocked we got to meet the star of Mary Poppins, have her autograph our programs and posed for pictures with us! Frank is great. The night I paid for included breakfast, when I rec'd a restaurant charge to my room, I figured there was a mistake in applying my breakfast voucher. Immediately after mentioning it to Frank on the second morning, he quickly volunteered to fix it and in a matter of 2-3 minutes had solved the problem. A guest wrote down the wrong room #. Prior to arrival, the concierge staff was also helpful in identifying things for us to do with our children during our stay and emailing them to me. My 12 yr old daughter was so impressed with our stay at the Omni that she wrote a thank you note on Omni stationery before we checked out and left it with the concierge to thank them and all the hotel staff for having a hand in the great time she had. Keep in mind, we stayed here on a fairly quiet weekend. I've stayed at at least 8 different Omni hotels over the years and I can say this is One Magnificent Nice Inn (OMNI).

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dsmojm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Berkshire Place, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2011

We are thrilled to read about your wonderful stay at The Omni Berkshire Place and are happy to have the opportunity to share all of your kind words with Frank. It is our good fortune to have him as one of our associates! Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor and we hope you will be back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2011

We had an excellent weekend stay at the Omni. Only one Con to report.

TIP: This has been written in many of the previous reviews, but you really should sign up for Omni’s Select Guest program before your stay. It entitles you to free Wi-Fi in the room, complimentary beverage service delivered each morning and some other perks.

Pros:
The room was large. We had room 2004, which I believe was in the executive studio suite class. Room had a desk, fairly big closet (which had the safe and mini bar as well) and a little reading area with a couple of chairs.

The bathroom was very clean. The shower head was at a decent height for taller people. Water pressure and temperature were good.

The king bed was comfortable. A little short on blankets, but room was warm enough in winter so not an issue.

Pretty decent channel selection on the flat screen TV (including free HBO).

Good location in Midtown. Closest subway stop (E and M) was a block and a half away on 53rd. Also, walking distance to shopping / tourist places.

As far as service, morning beverage service was delivered right at specified time and the coffee / tea was hot (free with Select Guest membership as mentioned above).

Wi-Fi signal was good (also free with Select Guest membership)

Cons:
Walls seem a little thin. We had a “domestic dispute” of some sort in the hallway during our first night. It ended before I had to call the front desk though.

Overall, a great place to stay. We hit the Cyber Monday rate which was a steal.
We didn’t use the Restaurant or the Exercise Room and had little to no interaction with the Concierge, Front Desk, or bell desk.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank germ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Berkshire Place, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2011

Thank you for reviewing The Omni Berkshire Place on TripAdvisor. Signing up for Select Guest is a great tip for anyone staying at our hotel or any other Omni. Please accept our apologies that you experienced a disruption on your first night but we are relieved to hear that it was quickly resolved. We appreciate all of your feedback and hope you will return again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2011

We got a heavily discounted rate for this hotel during their Cyber Monday sale - in fact it was one of the least expensive hotels we have ever stayed at in Manhattan. Conversely, it was probably one of the nicest.

Despite our early arrival, Stephanie checked us into a beautifully decorated room on an upper floor. Our room had a large flat screen tv, armoire with plenty of room for our belongings, fluffy bathrobes for our use, a safe, refrigerator/minibar, and a nice size bathroom with all of the usual amenities.

Within 10 minutes of entering our room, a gentleman from the hotel staff knocked on the door to make sure the room was clean and to our satisfaction.

Having signed up for the Select Guest Loyalty program, we enjoyed such complimentary perks as bottled water, the Sunday NY Times, and in-room wifi. These and more are available even on your first stay.

We had a slight mishap during our visit that was entirely our fault. We thought something was missing from our room and had to call security. The representative was concerned and hurried to our room to assist us. Fortunately the item was only misplaced, but we appreciated the hotel's caring attitude.

Our room was very quiet - we heard nothing from the street, the corridor or other rooms.

We found the concierge to be friendly and helpful - she gave us some great suggestions on local restaurants.

Location was perfect for our needs.

If there was one negative, it was that we did not get much hot water in the morning in the shower. When I called the front desk, I was told to run the water in the sink first, and then the shower. A little quirky, but it worked. After that the temperature and water pressure were great.

We will stay here again. Thanks to all the staff at the Omni Berkshire Place!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BargainBuyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Berkshire Place, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2011

It was a pleasure for us to read about your recent stay at The Omni Berkshire Place. We appreciate all of your compliments and hope you will return soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2011

Omni Berkshire is in an ideal location for Midtown. 1/2 block up and you're on Fifth Ave, right in the heart of it all and you're only a couple blocks from Rockefeller Center.

The rooms appear to have just been remodeled. The beds are super comfortable, you just sink right into the pillows and duvet...it's like a marshmallow! Flat screen TV's on the wall, simple decor, iPod docking stations. Accessible outlets on the desk and near the bed.

The bathroom has plenty of counter space. My only complaint is the water pressure could be a bit stronger in the shower. It wasn't terrible, but I prefer a bit more.

The bar has a great atmosphere with bar or lounge seating. The staff was great, very friendly and helpful in answering questions. Check-in is very quick, along with check-out. Room service was timely as well and very good.

I would definitely stay here again when traveling to Midtown. You can't beat the service and the location.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mlms1206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Berkshire Place, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2011

We are very fortunate to have such a wonderful location in the heart of Midtown and are glad to read that you found our service levels and rooms to be equally as good. Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we hope you will be back during your next trip to New York.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2011

We stayed a couple days in January as private guests. Our room was nice and rather roomy. However the toilets flush did not work and you could not take a bath in the tub as it would not close.
A technician came quite rapidly but had to stay 45 min in our room to get it fixed. No apologies or "treat" / compensation by hotel management.

After having left, we were charged for alleged mini bar fees, on my visa card. These were unaccurate and after intervening the hotel cancelled them. However this should not have happened.

It is a good hotel as it is nicely located. However in total this is not suitable for private (non-business) travellers

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elmarshausen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Berkshire Place, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2011

Please accept our apologies for the service lapses you experienced while staying at The Omni Berkshire Place. We do our best to be minimally intrusive when addressing any maintenance issues and regret that our engineer was in your room for longer than anticipated. We also apologize for the minibar charges but are glad to hear they were quickly resolved. We do hope you will consider giving us a second chance as we would appreciate the opportunity to provide you with a stay that exceeds your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Lotte New York Palace
Lotte New York Palace
#79 of 471 in New York City
3,712 reviews
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
InterContinental New York Barcla...
#107 of 471 in New York City
1,325 reviews
Midtown
The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#113 of 471 in New York City
4,517 reviews
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#71 of 471 in New York City
6,716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Berkshire Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Berkshire Place

Address: 21 E 52nd St, at Madison Ave, New York City, NY 10022-5389
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in New York City
#52 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#67 Business Hotel in New York City
#81 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £134 - £479 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Omni Berkshire Place 4.5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience enviable luxury at the Omni Berkshire Place located in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. Stay just steps from some of New York City's most notable attractions including Fifth Avenue Shopping, Rockefeller Center, St. Patrick's Cathedral, Central Park, Broadway Theatres, and Times Square. Modern Technology and fresh contemporary decor are brought together for accommodations that embrace the look and feel of an Upper East Side residence. Luxury guestrooms combined with the renowned service and amenities make the Omni Berkshire Place an ideal destination for both business or leisure travelers looking to experience the excitement of Midtown Manhattan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Omni Berkshire Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Berkshire Place Hotel New York City
Omni Hotel Berkshire Place
Omni New York City
New York City Omni
Omni Berkshire New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing