We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
Ranked #42 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Brilliant hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

Stayed here with my wife for 5 nights a couple of weeks ago.
We stayed at Fitzpatrick Grand Central last year and as no rooms were available there we chose this one.
Service is second to none. One one occasion we got back late afternoon and it was hot. The concierge brought us glasses of iced water as we walked in.
The suite we had was spacious and had 2 walk in wardrobes, a small kitchen area with a fridge and a separate large lounge area with a second television.
We had breakfast each morning and ate on 2 evenings in the restaurant. Food and service was very good and well priced.
I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanUK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shane C, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Dear AlanUK1,

Thank you for posting your review and I certainly appreciate you doing so.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and I know that the team will be thrilled to learn of your kind words. Thank you for staying with us last year in our sister property at Grand Central.

I look forward to welcoming you back to one of the Fitzpatrick family hotels in New York in the future.

Kind regards,

Shane Cookman
Area Manager/General Manager
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    732
    310
    91
    30
    15
See reviews for
312
445
49
165
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

This hotel is in an ideal location for seeing the sites of New York. Only a short walk from Broadway, times Square 5th Avenue etc. The staff are friendly and welcoming, we received a complimentary bottle of champagne from the hotel as we were celebrating our honeymoon. The rooms are spacious and the beds are big and comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thecrazy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shane C, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Dear Thecrazy88,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and i certainly apprecaite you doing so.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and I know that the team were thrilled to learn of your kind words.

Thank you for staying with us on your very special occassion and I look forward to welcoming you back to a Fitzpatrick family hotel in New York in the future.

Kind regards,

Shane Cookman
Area Manager/General Manager
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire, England
Level Contributor
86 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

We felt very smug having found this lovely hotel in New York. We were In NY for 4 nights from the UK at the beginning of a touring holiday of New England and wanted somewhere fairly central but not too big. We found it in this hotel.

From the very beginning, the staff were very polite and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. They remained so throughout our stay and added to the experience. Of particular assistance was a charming young man, not too long over from Ireland on a year's experience training, who went out of his way on several occasions to answer questions or find any answers he did not know.

The room was not overly large but completely adequate in size, and finished off in a very pleasing manner. It was comparatively quiet for central NY, but the downside of this was that there was not a view from the window as it was away from the street. The location was very central for our needs, with Madison and 5th Avenues a block or two away. Bloomingdales was one block away.

The restaurant offered very good breakfasts, at a competitive price for NY. We did not eat here otherwise as NY offers great temptations of every eating kind.

Would we stay here again? Most certainly yes the next time we are in NY, which hopefully will not be that long.

Room Tip: Rooms facing inward tend to be quieter, although you loose the view. Better that as you can get out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanS7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shane C, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Dear JanS7,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and I certainly appreciate you doing so.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and I know that the team were thrilled to learn of your very kind words.

On behalf of the hotel thank you for decding to stay with us and I look forward to welcoming you back to a Fitzpatrick family hotel in New York in the future.

Kind regards,

Shane Cookman
Area Manager/General Manager
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

My parents and I stayed here for a week at the end of May for my sister's wedding. We were generally very pleased with our stay. The hotel gave a real traditional feel which was nice and all of the workers were very helpful with all of our enquiries. We stayed in a suite as there were 3 of us. My parents had a large bedroom with a huge bed and ensuite and I had a large sofabed in a separate living room with a tv etc which was very comfortable. The location was very good - it is very close to all of the connections needed to get around the city. The only downside (which wasn't the hotel's fault) was that we had 3 seasons within 1 week in Manhattan and when it was absolutely freezing (yes, even in May!), the hotel couldn't provide any heating as they alternate between heating and air conditioning depending on the seasons. They did, however, give us a small heater to help us get through the first couple of nights.
The food in the bar was kind of expensive too, but no-one really wants to eat in the hotels anyway :-)
I would recommend a stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shane C, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Dear Emma P,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and I certainly appreciate you doing so.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel with your parents and I know that the team will be thrilled to learn of your kind comments.

Indeed unfortunately this May we did have the change in seasons which does make the changeover from heat to a/c and back very difficult but I am glad that the team provided at least a heater.

On behalf of the hotel thank you for staying with us and I look forward to welcoming you back to a Fitzpatrick family hotel in New York in the future.

Kind regards,

Shane Cookman
Area Manager/General Manager
Fitzpatrick Manhattan hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

We stayed here for a few days break while attending a wedding in New York. The hotel is in a fantastic location and the staff could not be any friendlier and are willing to go the extra mile helping with anything needed. Our room was a suite with a separate living area and we found it a little dated and in need of an upgrade. It wasn't terribly good value versus similar rooms in other hotels around the city. The lifts also seemed to take an eternity to arrive!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shane C, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Dear Adam R,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and I certainly appreciate you doing so.

I am delighted to read that you found the staff friendly and willing to go the extra mile. I know that they will be thrilled to learn of your kind words.

If you are visiting New York in the future, please contact me personally and I will take care of the arrangements for you personally.

On behalf of the hotel thank you for staying with us and I do hope that I will have the opportunity to welcome you back to a Fitzpatrick family hotel in New York.

Kind regards,

Shane Cookman
Area Manager/General Manager
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights in May and we liked it a lot. The staff were very friendly and helpful. we were given a complementary bottle of Champagne as it was our anniversary. The room was really a suite, décor is a little tired but otherwise OK. The food was a bit on the expensive side but that goes for New York as a whole. The location is good, well placed for all the main sites but far enough away not to be noisy at night. We would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shane C, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Dear Richard C,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and I certainly appreciate you doing so.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and in particular found that the team were friendly and helpful. I know that they will be thrilled to learn of your kind words.

On behalf of the hotel thank you for staying with us on your anniversary and I look forward to welcoming you back to a Fitzpatrick family hotel in New York in the future.

Kind regards,

Shane Cookman
Area Manager/General Manager
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

We were booked into the Fitzpatrick Grand Central but due to them checking someone else into our room we were taxied across to the the Manhattan, so not the best start to our stay! We were quickly checked in and then told that due to the inconvenience we had been upgraded to a suite. The suite itself was a large, comfortable living room, a small room with a sink and fridge, large bedroom with walk in cupboard, and bathroom. Our only criticism of the room was the air con was just too cold, even if on the warmest setting the room was instantly very cold, if we turned it off the room was very warm, so we just tried to alternate between off and on.

The hotel was in an ideal location for us, close to Central Park and within walking distance of almost everything else that we wanted to do and had lots of restaurants and shops on the doorstep.

The only thing we didn't like was the charge for wifi, but the hotel is surrounded by places that offer free wifi so it wasn't a big issue.

I would have no hesitation in staying here again if ever in New York again.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank alasdairk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shane C, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Dear Alasdark,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and I certainly appreciate you doing so.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and am sorry that you found the room a little cold from the aircon.

I know that the team will be thrilled to learn of your review and thank you for the positive comments. On behalf of the hotel thank you for deciding to stay with us and I look forward to welcoming you back to a Fitzpatrick family hotel in New York in the future.

Kind regards,

Shane Cookman
Area Manager/General Manager
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
#53 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,079 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#72 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
San Carlos Hotel
San Carlos Hotel
#46 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#41 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,491 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#37 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel

Property: Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
Address: 687 Lexington Ave, between 56th & 57th Street, New York City, NY 10022-2662
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#44 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#58 Family Hotel in New York City
#131 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel offers comfortable, modern amenities and personalized service ideal for both leisure and business travelers alike. With 91 rooms and suites, our intimate size allows us to focus on your every need and provide you with a personal level of service that you would experience at the finest Irish country house hotels. This, coupled with our desirable location, makes the Fitzpatrick Manhattan the perfect place to stay in New York City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel New York City
New York Fitzpatrick Hotel
Fitzpatrick New York
Fitzpatrick Manhattan New York City
Fitzpatrick Hotel New York
Fitzpatricks Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing