We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Peninsula New York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Peninsula New York
Ranked #33 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
clairelovesparis
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Thank you”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

Do not stay in this hotel if you have to stay somewhere unpleasant afterwards.

We celebrated our second wedding anniversary at this hotel. We stayed in a suite that had glorious views but no street noise. Everything about our stay was amazing. Possibly the best two nights of our USA trip. We loved our private tour of NYC in the mini, returning to drinks at the roof top bar each night, and beautiful breakfasts in the morning. The service was exceptional - I don't know how they knew when we were leaving/returning, but every time we came back to our room there were new flowers, or a fresh bucket of ice, a bottle of champagne or a personalised cake to help us celebrate. We didn't use the gym, but the spa was so restful and the treatments were excellent.

Looking forward to our next visit to NYC so we can stay here again.

Room Tip: This is not an average traveller's 'every day' hotel. It is expensive, but you will see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clairelovesparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePeninsulaNY, General Manager at The Peninsula New York, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Clairelovesparis,

Thank you for choosing to celebrate your special occasion at The Peninsula New York last summer. Our goal is to ensure that your stay is seamless but more importantly memorable. I am delighted your next trip to New York will be at The Peninsula.

Best regards,
Jonathan H. Crook
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,014 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    689
    214
    69
    27
    15
See reviews for
221
367
59
196
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

I stay at the Peninsula whenever I'm in NY. It is one of the best hotels I have ever staid at. Pricey but worth it. Service is amazing, and you absolutely can not hear the street no matter what floor you are on. Black granite counter tops, and linens to die for.

Just a perfect amazing hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePeninsulaNY, General Manager at The Peninsula New York, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Rob F,

What a glowing and humbling review of our hotel. Thank you for being our guest. At The Peninsula, it is the personal relationships we establish with our guests that we value most so if there is anything I or my team can do to enhance your next visit, please do not hesitate to let us know.

Best regards,
Jonathan H. Crook
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

This hotel delivers a great experience - like the other Peninsula hotels. Location on 5th a few blocks from Central Park is perfect for business trips and convenient if you are looking for a midtown/uptown New York experience. Staff is helpful and courteous, spa and fitness facilities are very good and located on 21st floor (unlike the cellar experience of some other luxury hotels). Rooftop terrace is hard to beat when the wheather is good. Go for an outward facing room, the rooms which face the inner courtyard can feel a bit dark and does not give you the city view you want when in New York. If travelling with your family, I would consider: the neighborhood is hectic and shopping mainly consists of high end brands (Prada, Chanel etc), although there is an Abercrombie & Fitch for the teenagers, perhaps a SoHo/West Village location will feel more family-friendly. Location is close to Central Park so breaks on the lawn are possible, watching the yellow cabs on 5th from your hotel room is great fun for most children. There are many tourists in the area, whereas for example the West Village can feel more "local". Room size is fairly generous and family friendly.

Room Tip: Outward facing rooms have great city views, wheras room facing inner courtyard are darker
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Per2100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePeninsulaNY, General Manager at The Peninsula New York, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Per2100,

Thank you for your detailed review of your recent stay with us. We appreciate your recommendation of our property for both business and as a family-friendly hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back for any occasion and whenever your travels take you to New York.

Best regards,
Jonathan H. Crook
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

Pros:If your looking for a good spa in the city to go to this is the place
Bathrooms are nice
Bartender is awesome but drinks are $30 each
Cons: $106 for eggs and bacon
Vultures at every corner looking to pick pocket you
Room is glorified cell

Don't believe the hype . A pretentious hotel for Madoff like travelers who think they know class , like getting ripped and somehow think its normal for some thug who dines at Popeyes telling u prices on menu are fair.

Tip : stay downtown or buy a penthouse if your so rich

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JohnRoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePeninsulaNY, General Manager at The Peninsula New York, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear JohnRoc,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. I am delighted that you enjoyed our spa and welcomed our hotel's superior service but I would appreciate the opportunity to discuss your other comments further so we can examine the issues you experienced. I invite you to contact me directly at jcrook@peninsula.com.

Best regards,
Jonathan H. Crook
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
123 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

A hotel in the fifth avenue in NYC is in the best place possible. With old time charm, and excellent service, this is a small hotel that cares for every detail.

Concierge service is perhaps the best in NYC, making arrangements for theater, restaurant reservations and car rentals.

Room Tip: room 2005 is a corner suite with views to the fifth avenue and a lot of space
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank R S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePeninsulaNY, General Manager at The Peninsula New York, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear R S,

Thank you for sharing the details of your visit to The Peninsula New York. We pride ourselves on our personalized and superior service, and we are delighted that you were able to experience this first hand.

Best regards,
Jonathan H. Crook
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

Continuing the caliber of Peninsula's worldwide, New York City's outpost is a bastion of civility and subtle elegance. Ideal Midtown/Fifth Avenue location, one of the best spas in Manhattan, rooftop pool serves a tranquil oasis in the heart of the bustling city. Da Ning bar provides idyllic al fresco setting, perfect for Happy Hour then turns into sexy lounge after dinner.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 312-415-212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePeninsulaNY, General Manager at The Peninsula New York, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Elizabeth K,

Thank you for your elegant commentary and review of your visit to The Peninsula New York last October. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again.

Best regards,
Jonathan H. Crook
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramona, California, USA
Level Contributor
89 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

I had the pleasure of staying at the NY Peninsula for a 4 night long weekend in January 2014. The first time to this property, I was not disappointed with the level of professionalism and hospitality that I am familiar with at other Peninsula properties in the Far East.
The accommodations were pleasant and comfortable with every imaginable upgrade. Cleanliness was impeccable with nary a thing out of place. I rather missed the interaction with the pages at the front entrance. I only saw two the entire visit and never at the front door. Their smiles and wonderful habit of remembering your name by the second day is part of the charm and uniqueness that defines the Peninsula.
The new main dining area Clement is a lovely spot with utmost in trendy decor. The menu however is thoroughly uninspired. Presuming the venue is named after Kwok King Man, CFO (aka Clement), you would think there would have been a higher level of culinary expression to celebrate this Peninsula icon. The other think I found a little surprising is the lack of hand made crafted cocktails, that is to say, the most elaborate cocktail that could be ordered with Bourbon was a Manhattan. The King Cole Bar across the street at the St. Regis was able to offer a slightly more current selection in the realm of hand crafted drinks. Judging by the clientele demographics upstairs in the rooftop bar Salon De Ning, a wider selection of slightly less traditional cocktails would be warmly received.
All in all a lovely stay. Any detractors, were far outweighed by the positives, so this hotel is staying on the re-visit list!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the inside courtyard to reduce street traffic noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePeninsulaNY, General Manager at The Peninsula New York, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear Hookele92065,

Your detailed review of your recent stay at The Peninsula New York is very much appreciated. We strive to continue to provide the exceptional service guests have come to recognize and expect from The Peninsula Hotels brand and we hope to propel our new restaurant Clement as the top hotel restaurant in New York City.

Kind regards,
Jonathan H. Crook
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The St. Regis New York
The St. Regis New York
#29 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
Midtown
Baccarat Hotel & Residences New York
Baccarat Hotel & Residences New ...
#17 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Midtown
Park Hyatt New York
Park Hyatt New York
#20 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Midtown
Mandarin Oriental, New York
Mandarin Oriental, New York
#50 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,387 reviews
Midtown
Four Seasons Hotel New York
Four Seasons Hotel New York
#322 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peninsula New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula New York

Property: The Peninsula New York
Address: 700 Fifth Avenue at 55th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in New York City
#28 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#38 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#39 Business Hotel in New York City
#39 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula New York 5*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known for its world-renowned service and attention to detail, The Peninsula New York is the prestigious recipient of the Forbes Five Star and AAA Five Diamond Awards. This magnificently restored 23-story, 1905 landmark building is ideally located, just steps away from world-class shopping, museums and the magic of Broadway. ACCOMMODATION: Each of the 185 spacious guestrooms and 54 suites at The Peninsula New York meet The Peninsula Hotels standards for luxury, guest comfort and technology. Rooms are designed for maximum comfort, with a good night's rest virtually guaranteed. Each room exudes a sense of tranquility and modernity with crisp bed linens, luxurious goose down duvets, flat screen televisions, marble bathrooms with special mood lighting and signature Peninsula bathtub televisions. For the ultimate convenience, bedside electronic control panels regulate temperature, lighting and entertainment systems. WELLNESS: The Peninsula Spa is a rooftop oasis providing an ideal retreat from the demands of the city. Recently awarded the #1 Hotel Spa in the USA by the readers of Conde Nast Traveler, this sanctuary of seclusion and peace offers relaxing body treatments and sublime skin care in an environment of sheer aesthetic bliss. The Spa features a luxurious range of heat experiences including a steam room, sauna, ice fountain and "experience" shower, men's and women's private relaxation lounges and an Asian Tea Lounge. The Private Spa Suite is the ultimate personal spa experience for couples, friends or family wishing to retreat in total privacy. A glass-enclosed pool, wraparound outdoor sun terrace and cutting edge fitness center with daily group fitness classes completes the wellness experience. DINING: The Peninsula New York's dining venues combine the comfort of tradition with modern elegance for guests to experience sophisticated dining at any time of the day. The signature restaurant Clement presents an energetic approach to regionally-sourced cuisine for breakfast, lunch or dinner. The Bar at Clement offers thoughtful cocktails, wines by the glass and a light menu. After a day of exploring the vibrant heart of the city, the timeless Gotham Lounge is a welcome setting to rejuvenate over Afternoon Tea, or for an unforgettable end to a New York City day, toast from the spectacular rooftop bar and terrace, Salon de Ning, while gazing over panoramic views of the shimmering Manhattan skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and TravelUp so you can book your The Peninsula New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula New York Hotel New York City
Peninsula New York City
New York City Peninsula
Peninsula Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing