We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still at the top”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Peninsula New York
Ranked #34 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Neuburg, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Still at the top”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

The Peninsula service ist still on top of all. The rooms are not the biggest in NYC, but you fell very good and the light and air-condition panel beside the bed is still the best. Also you can`t beat the location, the spa and the rooftop bar. I had breakfast included and it was great. The downside is that a lot of restrictions over the years occurred. The last is the the access to the outside terrace at the spa with great views of the Fifth Av, Central Park and the Skyline is very restricted. No access in the morning and the evening. They should rethink this if they want me back for the rate the have now.

Room Tip: Avoid the inside view, i is teribble
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stefanl70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePeninsulaNY, General Manager at The Peninsula New York, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Stefanl70,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay on TripAdvisor and for your valuable feedback. I would be delighted to further discuss the accessibility of our Sun Terrace if you would contact me directly at jcrook@peninsula.com.

Best regards,
Jonathan H. Crook
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,061 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    720
    227
    72
    27
    15
See reviews for
230
387
62
206
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

If you are in NYC and looking for a unique place to have a drink then go to the rooftop at The Peninsula. The view is to die for. You need to get there before happy hour starts or you won't get a seat or get waited on. It is always crowded but well worth the effort.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cathy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami FL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

We were greeted from our car by an extraordinary concierge team and checking in was a breeze. After check in, we were guided up to our floor and stayed in a Grand Deluxe Room . This room had a double bed and perfectly fit one adult and two children. At the time of arrival, the room had a nice array of foods and snacks available.
The bathroom was great featuring a in bathtub television, this was great to watch and relax. The shower was a little small but was nice overall. There was a blow dryer included in the bathroom and it also contained a nice amount of towels and towelettes.
I loved how the room had an all in one remote, but the universal remote excluded the television as it had a separate control.
Checkout was as easy as check in. We had to request a late checkout and it worked out great. They held our bags there as our flight was at 9:30PM but the checkout was at 3:00PM.
The one disappointing thing I found was the breakfast was a total of $250!! For 2 pancakes, 2 cereals, 1 yogurt, 2 orange juices was $250!!! Don't get breakfast here.
Anyway, it was great and felt luxurious. But with a price of 1500 in total, it does have to fit your budget. Lowest room available is 450 a night.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Noahmilon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePeninsulaNY, General Manager at The Peninsula New York, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Noahmilon,

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent stay with your family at The Peninsula New York. We are delighted you had a seamless stay but what we take most pride in is the personal touches and rewarding experience you were left with from our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,
Jonathan H. Crook
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We had a fabulous suite with 3rd night free try rm 501 beautiful overlooking 5th ave
What I like the best is the spa
Great pool , gym with a view of the city
We invited friends to meet us in the roof top bar and they loved the experience

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pacmandoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePeninsulaNY, General Manager at The Peninsula New York, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Pacmandoctor,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay on TripAdvisor and for your recommendations of our Deluxe Suite as an accommodation choice. We are especially delighted that you enjoyed our spa, pool, gym and the roof-top bar and terrace, Salon de Ning.

We sincerely look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,
Jonathan H. Crook
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Very good location, first class service, nice and quiet rooms, very good gym. Nice feeling to swim on the 20th floor:) At breakfast try the lobster dish. Been staying here twice now. First time in june 2013 and now in april 2014. Will return !

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Per J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePeninsulaNY, General Manager at The Peninsula New York, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Per J,

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit of last April on TripAdvisor. We are happy to leave a lasting impression on you and to have made you a firm supporter of The Peninsula New York. We look forward to your third visit to our hotel and even more in the future.

Best regards,
Jonathan H. Crook
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Where shall I start? First of all as soon as I checked in I've found out I've got upgraded to a Junior Suite...I can't think of a better way to begin a short break in NYC! The room was spot on...beautiful bathroom, stunning bedroom and the views of the 5th avenue from all the windows were just impressive. The bed must have been the most comfortable I have been staying in a long time. I have stayed in other 5 star properties before and what makes The Peninsula stand out from the crowd is definitely the people who work there: I couldn't have felt more welcome! High rating hotels can be intimidating at times...well this place will make you feel like at home. Little tip: don't miss out the roof top bar! Only regret I have....not allowing myself enough time to try the indoor pool. Well...a good excuse to go back!

Room Tip: If you book a Junior Suite ask for one on a corner overlooking the 5th Avenue: stunning views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel74_28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePeninsulaNY, General Manager at The Peninsula New York, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Daniel74_28,

Thank you for your kind comments. Although you were unable to enjoy our indoor pool at the Peninsula Spa, I am delighted you took a moment to visit Salon de Ning rooftop bar and terrace for the sweeping views of Central Park and Fifth Avenue.
I sincerely hope you have the opportunity to stay with us again soon.

Best regards,
Jonathan H. Crook
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

When you hear the word the Peninsula you think of elegance, asian hospitality, utmost attention to details and luxury. Not the case with the Peninsula in New York. It really feels like a step brother hotel - has the same name but different DNA. It is a nice hotel, staff is friendly, rooms are ok-nice but there are many hotels like that in New York with more than half time cheaper. The lobby keeps the old world run down luxury feel. Frontdesk area is a bit dark and is not very welcoming. The staff at frontdesk could be more welcoming. I arrived after 12 hours of flying and was not looking at my best and felt I was being profiled and questioned by a disinterested officer rather than by welcoming frontdesk staff. I was not asked for help with my luggage, neither I was offered to be accompanied to the elevator or to the room (as any well mannered 5 star luxury hotels would do). Rooms are small, appliances and furnitures in the room felt a bit outdated. Although bathroom is big and nice. In fact the bathroom was the nicest thing in the room and bigger than my living area. Above mentioned gets compensated by very nice gym/pool and relaxation area and the restaurant Clement. Excellent wine list, not overdone with dish choices, nice service and incredibly well food. But to use these facilities one does not have to stay in the hotel. Stayed once, probably will not stay again, unless prices come down more than half to make it worth staying. May be other Peninsulas can step in and raise the charm of this one by upgrading the hotel and services.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank Gagik 'Chuck' G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePeninsulaNY, General Manager at The Peninsula New York, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Gagik 'Chuck' G,

Thank you for your review. While we are disappointed to read of your comparison of our hotel to our sister properties in Asia, we are still delighted that you found many aspects of our product and service to be superior.

Again, thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback on TripAdvisor.

Best regards,
Jonathan H. Crook
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The St. Regis New York
The St. Regis New York
#33 of 467 in New York City
692 reviews
Midtown
Baccarat Hotel & Residences New York
Baccarat Hotel & Residences New ...
#16 of 467 in New York City
366 reviews
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Park Hyatt New York
Park Hyatt New York
#20 of 467 in New York City
1,400 reviews
Midtown
Mandarin Oriental, New York
Mandarin Oriental, New York
#49 of 467 in New York City
1,450 reviews
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#38 of 467 in New York City
2,696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peninsula New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula New York

Property: The Peninsula New York
Address: 700 Fifth Avenue at 55th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in New York City
#32 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#38 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#39 Family Hotel in New York City
#39 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula New York 5*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known for its world-renowned service and attention to detail, The Peninsula New York is the prestigious recipient of the Forbes Five Star and AAA Five Diamond Awards. This magnificently restored 23-story, 1905 landmark building is ideally located, just steps away from world-class shopping, museums and the magic of Broadway. ACCOMMODATION: Each of the 185 spacious guestrooms and 54 suites at The Peninsula New York meet The Peninsula Hotels standards for luxury, guest comfort and technology. Rooms are designed for maximum comfort, with a good night's rest virtually guaranteed. Each room exudes a sense of tranquility and modernity with crisp bed linens, luxurious goose down duvets, flat screen televisions, marble bathrooms with special mood lighting and signature Peninsula bathtub televisions. For the ultimate convenience, bedside electronic control panels regulate temperature, lighting and entertainment systems. WELLNESS: The Peninsula Spa is a rooftop oasis providing an ideal retreat from the demands of the city. This sanctuary of seclusion and peace offers relaxing body treatments and sublime skin care in an environment of sheer aesthetic bliss. The Spa features a luxurious range of heat experiences including a steam room, sauna, ice fountain and "experience" shower, men's and women's private relaxation lounges and an Asian Tea Lounge. The Private Spa Suite is the ultimate personal spa experience for couples, friends or family wishing to retreat in total privacy. A glass-enclosed pool, wraparound outdoor sun terrace and cutting edge fitness center with daily group fitness classes completes the wellness experience. DINING: The Peninsula New York's dining venues combine the comfort of tradition with modern elegance for guests to experience sophisticated dining at any time of the day. The signature restaurant Clement presents an energetic approach to regionally-sourced cuisine for breakfast, lunch or dinner. The Bar at Clement offers thoughtful cocktails, wines by the glass and a light menu. After a day of exploring the vibrant heart of the city, the timeless Gotham Lounge is a welcome setting to rejuvenate over Afternoon Tea, or for an unforgettable end to a New York City day, toast from the spectacular rooftop bar and terrace, Salon de Ning, while gazing over panoramic views of the shimmering Manhattan skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Peninsula New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula New York Hotel New York City
Peninsula New York City
New York City Peninsula
Peninsula Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing