We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once in a Life Time experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Peninsula New York
Ranked #53 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 April 2010

I have recently stayed at the Peninsula 1 night for business and all I can say is it is worth every penny. Great Hotel, Great service and Great location. The room that I have stayed was small but enough for 1 nights business stay,

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank samikohen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

778 - 784 of 1,109 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2010

I am here as I write this. Location is great, the staff is friendly and welcoming. I realize I got a great discount rate for a "superior" room but superior to what I don't know. Room is small, with an ugly "courtyard view" and you can hear the humming of generators or fans or something. O.K. discounted rate, so room is not the best, but I guess a discounted rate means NO HOT WATER! We had to wait looong to get warm water, then a bit of hot. At one point I had to literally get out of the tub in the middle of my shower and wait for the hot water to come back.

I told the front desk this and they said they would send an "engineer" to check. Well don't know if the engineer ever came into the room, or what this "engineer" could even do about it, but water is still cold.

We came back late after a long day and NO HOT WATER, then on and off warm & cold. It was 11:30 p.m. I called the front desk to tell them about the hot water problem, again, and was asked if I wanted to "shower in another room" ! Now that is wild.

Let's see what happens in the a.m. !

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lil_boh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2010

The Peninsula Hotel remains my favorite city hotel of anywhere we've stayed.

The room was large and comfortable. The bathroom was especially luxurious (large bathtub w television, separate shower, 2 sinks, etc.)
Despite the fact that the annual Puerto Rican Day Parade was going on right outside our window, the sound did not travel in as to disturb us.
The bed was incredibly comfortable, and I cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AJMC791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2010

spent a week at the peninsula. very nicely presented hotel. in great location with subway two blocks away. room was grand but nothing special. bathroom was spacious and even had a tv in it. main living area was tight given the cost of this place!! although this seems to be a general nyc thing!! room service was great and reasonably priced! overall would recommend but just lacking that x factor!!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kpyoink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2010

Really nice hotel, great room service, very comfy bed, nice welcome, good range of TV channels, maid service excellent. We really liked the integrated technology (controls lights, air, TV, privacy, make-up-room all from one panel). There are a lot of business people at the hotel but it was never a problem for us. Staff were always helpful and polite.

The location is good, you are in the middle of 5th avenue and times square is 10 minutes away. Central park 5 minutes. You can walk to most things.

The thing we really loved in the hotel was breakfast at Fives. The poached eggs were perfectly cooked and hot, bacon was crispy, service was perfect (not too fast and not slow), coffee was great but the best thing was the selection of pastries - really amazing. We stayed at the Ritz in London last month and their breakfast was nothing compared to this!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonathanTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2010

This was our first time at a Peninsula Property and I was disappointed. Stayed here for a long weekend in Feb 2010. Brought our 8 mos old little girl. The hotel set up a crib with an infant rob and slippers which were a very thoughtful touch. We stayed in a 1 bedroom suite which was well appointed by new york standards. The service however was a major disappointment. We ordered continental breakfast for 2 which consisted of a luke warm pot of coffee and 2 croissants and some butter. No muffins, no OJ, no jams or preserves. Total cost with tip: $95. Even I have limits. This was so ridiculous went out to dukin donuts 50 yards down the street for coffee and pastries each morning in the cold and was far happier. I doubt I will be staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zplasty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2010

Perfect location, facilities and manner of staff. Fully recommended !!!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Verifone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The St. Regis New York
The St. Regis New York
#46 of 469 in New York City
735 reviews
Midtown
Baccarat Hotel & Residences New York
Baccarat Hotel & Residences New ...
#22 of 469 in New York City
415 reviews
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Mandarin Oriental, New York
Mandarin Oriental, New York
#49 of 469 in New York City
1,480 reviews
Midtown
Park Hyatt New York
Park Hyatt New York
#23 of 469 in New York City
1,493 reviews
Midtown
Four Seasons Hotel New York
Four Seasons Hotel New York
#69 of 469 in New York City
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peninsula New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula New York

Address: 700 Fifth Avenue at 55th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in New York City
#38 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#39 Family Hotel in New York City
#39 Business Hotel in New York City
#47 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £457 - £1,232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula New York 5*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known for its world-renowned service and attention to detail, The Peninsula New York is the prestigious recipient of the Forbes Five Star and AAA Five Diamond Awards. This magnificently restored 23-story, 1905 landmark building is ideally located, just steps away from world-class shopping, museums and the magic of Broadway. ACCOMMODATION: Each of the 185 spacious guestrooms and 54 suites at The Peninsula New York meet The Peninsula Hotels standards for luxury, guest comfort and technology. Rooms are designed for maximum comfort, with a good night's rest virtually guaranteed. Each room exudes a sense of tranquility and modernity with crisp bed linens, luxurious goose down duvets, flat screen televisions, marble bathrooms with special mood lighting and signature Peninsula bathtub televisions. For the ultimate convenience, bedside electronic control panels regulate temperature, lighting and entertainment systems. WELLNESS: The Peninsula Spa is a rooftop oasis providing an ideal retreat from the demands of the city. This sanctuary of seclusion and peace offers relaxing body treatments and sublime skin care in an environment of sheer aesthetic bliss. The Spa features a luxurious range of heat experiences including a steam room, sauna, ice fountain and "experience" shower, men's and women's private relaxation lounges and an Asian Tea Lounge. The Private Spa Suite is the ultimate personal spa experience for couples, friends or family wishing to retreat in total privacy. A glass-enclosed pool, wraparound outdoor sun terrace and cutting edge fitness center with daily group fitness classes completes the wellness experience. DINING: The Peninsula New York's dining venues combine the comfort of tradition with modern elegance for guests to experience sophisticated dining at any time of the day. The signature restaurant Clement presents an energetic approach to regionally-sourced cuisine for breakfast, lunch or dinner. The Bar at Clement offers thoughtful cocktails, wines by the glass and a light menu. After a day of exploring the vibrant heart of the city, the timeless Gotham Lounge is a welcome setting to rejuvenate over Afternoon Tea, or for an unforgettable end to a New York City day, toast from the spectacular rooftop bar and terrace, Salon de Ning, while gazing over panoramic views of the shimmering Manhattan skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Peninsula New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula New York Hotel New York City
Peninsula New York City
New York City Peninsula
Peninsula Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing