We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A sleepless night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #3 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 May 2012

We spent one night at the Casablanca Hotel in May, 2012, having to travel to New York City for business. I picked the hotel based on TripAdvisor’s glowing reviews, as I often do, usually with great results. But the stay at the Casablanca was rather disappointing. Maybe I expected too much.
Sure, the hotel does have a lot to offer: A great location (if you want or need to be in that part of town), a friendly staff, and a tasteful décor.
But while the décor is pleasant, the rooms (at least our room 503) are small and on the dark side, with poor lighting. In that dim light, I had a hard time getting a clean shave in the morning; the lack of a shaving mirror didn’t help either. Overall, this is a rather modest hotel, although clean and well-maintained.
Paying a daily rate of US$370, I would expect a bit more, even in New York City.
While the staff is friendly, the service is far from perfect. Just two small examples: We requested a coffee maker on our online reservation form (there is even a check box for it!), but none could be found in the room. At check-in we were given only one key since “the machine was acting up.” They promised to deliver a second key to the room shortly, but none ever arrived.
And here comes the worst experience: Our room, just off Times Square, was almost unbearably noisy almost all night long. In the early morning hours there were the sounds of revelers, between 2 and 4 am there was some LOUD street cleaning going on, and shortly before 5 am the service vehicles started to arrive, making those annoying warning sounds as they were backing up. An inferno all night!
Sure, the noises per se are not the hotel’s fault, but there are great sound proofing features available these days.
We were really happy to leave in the morning, returning to our quiet country living, and we will never return to this place.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room (if they have any?!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank SwissCharm1917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnTaboadaNYC, General Manager at Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2012

Dear SwissCharm1917,

Thank you for staying with us. I am so sorry if the stay was a disappointment for you. Those who are used to and prefer quiet country living may truly find Times Square in general to be too hectic for their taste. We actually have installed soundproofing but anything more would require the hotel to close and we are not prepared to do that at this time since the wide majority of the guests are very comfortable. Regarding the coffee maker, we do apologize and we have implemented a new practice due to your comment. Until now, we have been delivering the requested added amenities such as coffee tea makers at turndown, and it is in our notes that this was done for you. Possibly the note was inaccurate but what is important is that moving forward we will now be sure to have it in the room before arrival. We also apologize for the issue with the key but it was actually fixed after you checked out when we received a replacement part. We should have followed up with you for an update. If you have any questions or if there is anything we can do to be of service to you, please do not hesitate to let me know.

Sincerely,
John Taboada
John@casablancahotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,803)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,460 - 3,466 of 5,803 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2012

My stay at the Casablanca could not have been more pleasant. From the moment you arrive, the staff are welcoming and kind. My room was on the third floor and small but very nicely done and quiet. The bed was extremely comfortable and the bathroom well stocked. I really enjoyed the morning continental breakfast on the second floor - fresh fruit, juice, pastries, hot beverages and the best bagels ever. The hotel is close to nearly all of the broadway theaters and across the street from the Times Square Hard Rock Cafe - a nice spot for a quick after theater bite to eat. Casablanca felt to me like a large bed and breakfast - an elegant decor with a homelike feel. I look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

We were told by friends about the Casablanca. Our booking was through the internet, as were a few event bookings that Raymond, on front desk, took care of for us.
We arrived in New York just after midnight and to be honest, the small and "old style" reception made me wonder if we had made the right choice. A good sleep and all our concerns were gone.
The location is brilliant. The action of Times Square is just a few meters away. The room is clean and quaint. The bathroom is spotless and the staff are outstanding.
Like many before us, the 2nd floor lounge is also a highlight. After a full day on our feet, relaxing with a complimentary wine and snack is a real treat.
We would definitely come back.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
7  Thank 105FLSTF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

Once again, the staff at the Casablanca did not disappoint. They are attentive and friendly, and the rooms are spotless. We travel to NYC a couple of times a year. One year we stayed at another hotel, but decided that Casablanca was and would continue to be our favorite. We prefer the inside rooms because they are quieter. There was not much of a view, however, you spend so little time in your room that is doesn't matter. It is within walking distance of so many great restaurants and is a couple of steps from the subway.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Debbie709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

Stayed here with my wife for our 10 yr anniversary. After an 8 hr flight we were welcomed by a very attentive front desk. The hotel itself is located at time square (an ideal spot for a all over NY expedition) , has cozy rooms, a nice complementary breakfast. It is a small hotel and feels quite like city hotels in European cities.

It is however the staff attitude, attentiveness that sets the hotel apart, simply great.

We look forward to returning.

Stayed: April 2012
4  Thank Kurswa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

Casablanca is a small, modest hotel 1/2 block off Broadway in the heart of the Times Square area. I mistook the location, I thought the hotel was a few blocks away from Times Square, or would never have booked it. We stayed one night. Obviously it's not the hotel's fault we didn't grasp how close it is to the dirty, loud, tourist area but I wish I'd known.
They offer a lot of perks like wine and cheese and continental breakfast. The premium king we had was quiet, very small, with a combo bath/ shower and just kind of shabbily decorated, with a grey carpet, gold bedspread, green tiles in the bathroom, not stylish. Trying for Casablanca feeling, not quite making it. It felt tired and second rate to me.
We paid $360 and frankly I think it was a very poor value. We usually stay at On The Ave, which is about the same price and I think a much nicer hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
22  Thank jdavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnTaboadaNYC, General Manager at Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2012

Dear jdavis,

It breaks our heart as we would like to be the perfect hotel for everyone but in fact, you are absolutely right. Our hotel is not for everyone. Just like boutique clothing shop that only has a curated collection for people who like a particular style of clothing, boutique hotels differ from standard cookie cutter hotels by offering a unique atmosphere for a particular taste of traveler. We actually have four very different styles of hotels in other locations in New York and perhaps one of them would have been a much better fit for you. We encourage all travelers that after you visit TripAdvisor, please go to the hotels website. We do all that we can on our website to authentically show and describe the location, offer ample photos and room layouts and square footage details. A few minutes can really help clarify what the hotel is like and if it is right for you. If you like a more contemporary style, we have that at Hotel Giraffe in the Flatiron district or the Library Hotel which is just a few blocks east of Times Square. If you favor the traditional elegance of a country French style classic, the Hotel Elysee is in one of the most enviable location in the city, on 54th Between Park and Madison Avenues. But for some, there is no greater luxury than to step out your door and be mere steps from the lights of Broadway. For the guests that do appreciate the more rustic, unpretentious, home away from home atmosphere we provide, as you can see by the previous reviews it is very well received by many. As a matter of fact, we have received so many compliments on our bathroom décor that we have even been told guests have done their home baths to match the Casablanca Hotel style. I am sorry we were not your cup of tea, but if you liked the friendly service and the perks, I would be glad to help you arrange a stay in one of our other HKHotels on your next visit to New York, Please do not hesitate to contact me if I can answer any questions or be of service in any way.

Sincerely,
John Taboada
John@casablancahotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2012

We stayed at the Casablanca in April. It was a very pleasant stay. The hotel is immaculate and service is superb!
I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SKA_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 469 in New York City
1,418 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
#4 of 469 in New York City
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoHo
Crosby Street Hotel
Crosby Street Hotel
#5 of 469 in New York City
788 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 469 in New York City
3,704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection

Address: 147 West 43rd Street, New York City, NY 10036-6575
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#2 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#3 Family Hotel in New York City
#7 Business Hotel in New York City
#28 Best Value Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £194 - £350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the magic of Times Square just steps from our door, and then escape from it all at this oasis of hospitality, The Casablanca Hotel. Guests are welcome to unwind in Rick’s Cafe with complimentary refreshments 24 hours a day, including the Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning, wine and cheese receptions each evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fruit served throughout the day. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and bottled water is provided daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casablanca Hotel New York City
Casablanca New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing