We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Nearby Hotels
Room Mate Grace(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$205
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$195
Room Mate Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$185
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$157
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
The Westin New York Grand Central(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$382
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$350
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Park Central Hotel New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$213
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness centre
Soho Grand Hotel(New York City)
US$381
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$364
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Edison Times Square(New York City)
US$217
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$198
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness centre
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$377
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$250
Official Site
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$310
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$255
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
YOTEL New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Archer Hotel New York(New York City)
US$331
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$299
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (6,098)
Filter reviews
6,098 results
Traveller rating
5,217
701
112
42
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5,217
701
112
42
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrick's cafewine and cheesetimes squarenew yorkmini suiteevery eveningcontinental breakfastbagelssmall hotelhard boiled eggslounge areaperfect locationwonderful hotelbig applethe theater districtstreet noisearound the corner
Filter
Updating list...
3,740 - 3,745 of 6,098 reviews
Reviewed 11 May 2012

What a treat it was to stay at the Casablanca Hotel. Conveniently situated within a few steps of Times Square and the central hub of the subway system. Great value buffet breakfast, complimentary light refreshments during the day and cheese and wine in the evenings make this hotel unbelieveable value in this great city. The staff are so helpful and nothing is too much trouble. You fgeel welcome and valued from the time you make your booking to the time you have returned home. This hotel is exceptional in every way.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Geoffrey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Staying at the CASABLANCA was a wonderful experience! Staff was exceptional,Very clean hotel. If you want quiet after a day in the city this is the place, When getting back to the hotel after a day in the city you don't feel that you are even in the city. Room was small but well worth the trade-off from a large busy hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

We spent one night at the Casablanca Hotel in May, 2012, having to travel to New York City for business. I picked the hotel based on TripAdvisor’s glowing reviews, as I often do, usually with great results. But the stay at the Casablanca was rather disappointing. Maybe I expected too much.
Sure, the hotel does have a lot to offer: A great location (if you want or need to be in that part of town), a friendly staff, and a tasteful décor.
But while the décor is pleasant, the rooms (at least our room 503) are small and on the dark side, with poor lighting. In that dim light, I had a hard time getting a clean shave in the morning; the lack of a shaving mirror didn’t help either. Overall, this is a rather modest hotel, although clean and well-maintained.
Paying a daily rate of US$370, I would expect a bit more, even in New York City.
While the staff is friendly, the service is far from perfect. Just two small examples: We requested a coffee maker on our online reservation form (there is even a check box for it!), but none could be found in the room. At check-in we were given only one key since “the machine was acting up.” They promised to deliver a second key to the room shortly, but none ever arrived.
And here comes the worst experience: Our room, just off Times Square, was almost unbearably noisy almost all night long. In the early morning hours there were the sounds of revelers, between 2 and 4 am there was some LOUD street cleaning going on, and shortly before 5 am the service vehicles started to arrive, making those annoying warning sounds as they were backing up. An inferno all night!
Sure, the noises per se are not the hotel’s fault, but there are great sound proofing features available these days.
We were really happy to leave in the morning, returning to our quiet country living, and we will never return to this place.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room (if they have any?!)
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank SwissCharm1917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnTaboadaNYC, General Manager at Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2012

Dear SwissCharm1917,

Thank you for staying with us. I am so sorry if the stay was a disappointment for you. Those who are used to and prefer quiet country living may truly find Times Square in general to be too hectic for their taste. We actually have installed soundproofing but anything more would require the hotel to close and we are not prepared to do that at this time since the wide majority of the guests are very comfortable. Regarding the coffee maker, we do apologize and we have implemented a new practice due to your comment. Until now, we have been delivering the requested added amenities such as coffee tea makers at turndown, and it is in our notes that this was done for you. Possibly the note was inaccurate but what is important is that moving forward we will now be sure to have it in the room before arrival. We also apologize for the issue with the key but it was actually fixed after you checked out when we received a replacement part. We should have followed up with you for an update. If you have any questions or if there is anything we can do to be of service to you, please do not hesitate to let me know.

Sincerely,
John Taboada
John@casablancahotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

My stay at the Casablanca could not have been more pleasant. From the moment you arrive, the staff are welcoming and kind. My room was on the third floor and small but very nicely done and quiet. The bed was extremely comfortable and the bathroom well stocked. I really enjoyed the morning continental breakfast on the second floor - fresh fruit, juice, pastries, hot beverages and the best bagels ever. The hotel is close to nearly all of the broadway theaters and across the street from the Times Square Hard Rock Cafe - a nice spot for a quick after theater bite to eat. Casablanca felt to me like a large bed and breakfast - an elegant decor with a homelike feel. I look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

We were told by friends about the Casablanca. Our booking was through the internet, as were a few event bookings that Raymond, on front desk, took care of for us.
We arrived in New York just after midnight and to be honest, the small and "old style" reception made me wonder if we had made the right choice. A good sleep and all our concerns were gone.
The location is brilliant. The action of Times Square is just a few meters away. The room is clean and quaint. The bathroom is spotless and the staff are outstanding.
Like many before us, the 2nd floor lounge is also a highlight. After a full day on our feet, relaxing with a complimentary wine and snack is a real treat.
We would definitely come back.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
7  Thank 105FLSTF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews