We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel I have ever stayed at!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #3 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Prior to arriving to New York I got a nice Welcome e-mail from the manager of the hotel. When I arrived, June 18, the service was impeccable, they upgraded me to a king size bed and called me after to ask me if everything was okay. I especially liked Rick's Cafe and the wine and cheese between 5-8. The staff was very accommodating to anyhting I needed. I will definetly be coming back to this hotel in the future.

Room Tip: I found the 4th floor to be quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank peony30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,838)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,431 - 3,437 of 5,838 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2012

We stayed here in May for 3 nights with 2 children aged 9 & 11 and it was fantastic. Peter and the front desk staff (&steve) were so helpful, offering suggestions from restaurants to things to do with the kids. The hotel was very clean, very quiet and the beds were really comfortable. The happy hour(s) each day were a great time to have a drink, meet new people & chill out. Do yourself a favor and stay at this hotel - you won't be disappointed. Tony Di Napolis next door is a rela treat & very cheap. Times square is only 10 steps from the front door & when I go back to NYC I will book here without a second thought. Also Dial7 car service was very reliable & good rates - beats a taxi from the airport.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samartan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

This place is everything that it advertises and more! Decided to stay there because of the reviews on Tripadvisor. If you are trying to make a decision right now......stay here! It was quiet, the room was spacious and pristine. Everyone on the staff was extremely helpful and pleasant.
The amenities were not only amazing, but the staff serving were like your family.
I would definitely stay here again. Don't doubt yourself........this is the place to stay! It's charming.

Room Tip: I asked for a room on a high floor and it was very quiet........it felt as though you were tucked aw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patsy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Our decision to stay recently at the Casablanca for 7 nights was based on its location and excellent reviews on Tripadvisor and we were not disappointed.

It doesn’t have all the amenities of a typical 4/5 star hotel such as restaurants, swimming pool etc. What it does have however and which is why I think it deserves the number 1 rating on Tripadvisor is style, personality and personal touches such as the wine and cheese evenings and free refreshments through the day, perfect after a long day out sightseeing.

The king room we had was perfect in size and the bathroom was bigger than many I’ve seen in hotels around the world. Little touches such as the bathrobes and evening turn down service confirm its 4 star rating. The location was great, only metres from Times Square yet it felt quiet and secluded once we were inside. The free Wi-Fi was reliable and very fast.

My only reservation about staying here during the height of summer would be the wall mounted air conditioners. Ours was quite noisy and my wife is a light sleeper and could not sleep with it on. Luckily it wasn’t too hot when we stayed so we managed with just the ceiling fan.

If we ever return to New York we would certainly consider staying here again.

Room Tip: Maybe ask for a room at the back of the hotel if you are a light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CoastersOnHols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

We stayed 2 nights at this wonderful hotel. We parked right next door to the hotel in a parking garage that was only $25 per day once validated by the hotel, which was quite a nice surprise for parking 50 feet from Times Square and right on the hotel's doorstep!

Location, rooms, cleanliness, staff were all 5 stars. Not much more to say on those.

The free wine and cheese reception from 5-8 every night truly sets this hotel above its peers. Also fresh cookies, fruit, coffee and tea are available 24 hours a day. Breakfast was pretty good, although not the selection that some big hotel chain buffets offer.

Thank you tripadvisor for allowing us to find this gem among the hundreds of options!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrAndMrsTrem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

The hotel is conveniently located - only a few meters from Times Square - and the staff are super friendly. We were welcomed with cheese and wine, as we checked in at 8pm (they offer it to guests from 5 to 8pm). Our room was not very large - we stayed at 303 and could see the billboards at Times Square. The problem was we could also hear the noise outside (not soooo bad, since we'd had dinner, had wine and were totally tired but this can be annoying). In the morning, we heard doors, carts, etc. Too much noise for 327USD a night. Again, it could only be our room. Everything else about the hotel is fine!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LindaundLindo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Steps from the center of Times Square. Very nice, clean hotel with excellent service. This hotel had the most comfortable king bed we have ever slept in. 24hr Walgreens 2 mins away. Tons of great restaurants and shows within easy walking distance. We would stay here again in a heartbeat. Only issue we had was hotel staff booked a tour that no longer accepted reservations unless you were a group of 21 ot more. We paid a deposit and left fof lunch with the tickets. Someone from the hotel called a short time later and told us the tickets would still be good but we needed to be there earlier to make sure we had a seat. We wanted a confirmed reservation as we were originally told and did not want to stand in a long line in the heat. There was confusion on both sides as what to expect. We respectfully declined and the hotel promptly refunded our deposit with an apology. All hotel staff were extremely professional. House keeping staff handed me chocolates in the elevator and house keeping manager saw me with ice bucket and took care of that. You won't get that at most hotels. The free Wi-Fi, DVD, robes and safe in the room made things even better.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dragonfly22231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#2 of 469 in New York City
1,425 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
#5 of 469 in New York City
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#136 of 469 in New York City
7,343 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 469 in New York City
3,748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection

Address: 147 West 43rd Street, New York City, NY 10036-6575
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#2 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#3 Family Hotel in New York City
#7 Business Hotel in New York City
#32 Best Value Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £184 - £332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the magic of Times Square just steps from our door, and then escape from it all at this oasis of hospitality, The Casablanca Hotel. Guests are welcome to unwind in Rick’s Cafe with complimentary refreshments 24 hours a day, including the Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning, wine and cheese receptions each evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fruit served throughout the day. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and bottled water is provided daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casablanca Hotel New York City
Casablanca New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing