We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #2 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Warren, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

From the minute we arrived everyone was helpful, polite and accommodating. Check in was swift and the hotel is moments away from Times Square. Snacks available all day, free breakfast, free wifi and the hotel has a computer and printer available for free use during your stay. The hotel was very clean and I actually saw cleaning people clean areas most hotels ignore or skip over. We asked for more towels at one point and they were delivered within 5 minutes. Would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street have a little street nose like horns and such but not bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Anna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,558
    643
    105
    39
    26
See reviews for
1,127
2,839
190
296
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (915)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

Location, location, location.

Clean, well equipped, nice style, great staff ( polite and helpful - what more do you need). Breakfast included, snacks all day, great coffee machine, wine in the evenings and a brill restaurant just next door....

Book and pay in advance directly with the hotel to get the best rates...
Book supershuttle from the airport either JFK or NWK $40 for two people and luggage each way ( slightly cheaper for a return trip - they will drop u off at the hotel door)

Room Tip: Queen room - more than big enough.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank JoHinshropshireUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

Great hotel, quiet considering its position and the staff were great.

Would stay again - loved it.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Angelica_999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

The hotel is nestled away in a side street which is only around 9 steps to Time Square. The room was comfortable, service was excellent, the afternoon snack and breakfast was delicious. The atmosphere in the hotel was serene and elegant. Hoda at the restaurant was caring and helpful. Me and my daughter had lovely stay at Casablanca!

Room Tip: If you are looking for a quiet stay, then this is the place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank arforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

Hotel Casablanca- brilliant location (just off Times Square); really friendly and helpful staff; lovely wine and cheese reception from 5-8pm every night, and pretty good continental breakfasts. However a couple of negative points. Firstly, the suite we had was lovely and comfortable but pretty small, and also quite dark but I guess possibly this is the case in many hotels in NYC due to all the surrounding high buildings. I think we had been spoiled as we came to the Casablanca from provinicial New Jersey, where our standard room in a Hilton hotel was bigger than the entire Casablanca suite and much airier and lighter. Secondly, a warning about the noisy air conditioning- not sure if all the rooms are like this. I think we were in room 609 (it was a double bed suite). The first night, we shut the air conditioning off as it was so noisy, but even when off, the unit sounded like it was on and was making a noise. I asked at the reception about it, and the reception manager came up to our room to see what was the problem. He said that the noise from the unit when it was off was actually due to a very large air con unit that could be seen from our hotel window and that belonged to a neighbouring restaurant. Apparently they were meant to shut it off at midnight but they didn't always do this. Anyway, the issue was never properly resolved; our second night there, the noise did seem a bit less but it was still noticeable, and though my sister did sleep through it, I had to wear ear plugs to block it out!! I think I was disappointed as I was drawing a comparison to the Hilton in New Jersey, which had very quiet air conditioning- and it was completely silent when you switched it off!The air conditioning units in the Casablanca looked quite dated. I guess I just expected little niggly things like that to not be a problem as the accommodation at the Casablanca was what I would consider fairly pricey, and I think I expected the suite to be brighter and roomier, but perhaps I am asking too much from a hotel in such a great location in one of the best cities in the world. All this said, I would probably consider staying here again due to the location, helpfulness of the staff, and the cheese and wine reception, but would choose a standard room rather than a suite due to the price and would try to ask for a room that does not overlook the neighbouring restaurant's noisy a/c unit!

Room Tip: Perhaps ask for a room facing out onto the street rather than at the back of the hotel,to avoid nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Titian30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

We chose this hotel because of its rating on TA and we were not disappointed.

Location is brilliant - 3 doors from Times Square; 1 minute to the subway, surrounded by cafes and restaurants, walking distance to many, many shows. Despite the proximity to everything it is VERY quiet.

Loved Bryant Park and the New York Public Library which were just around the corner.

Breakfast and the evening drinks and nibbles made us feel very spoiled. Rooms were lovely, bigger than I expected and on arrrival we were greeted with some nice music and champagne on ice - delightful.

There is a laundry in the basement which we were able to use during our 3 week stay which was a real bonus.

Generally staff were fantastic - especially the housekeeping and cafe staff. The only exception was one grumpy guy on the front desk - he was very senior so should have known better about the impact that can have on your perception of the place. His bad attitude was balanced by the wonderfully helpful Ray.

Don't hesitate! We'll be going back.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mandymack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reston, va
Level Contributor
225 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

Had our first stay at The Casablanca for three nights last week on our semi-annual theater trip to NYC. It will now be OUR hotel for these jaunts to NYC. It is a fabulous boutique hotel on 43rd street just around the corner from 7th Ave/Broadway which is the corner of Times Square with the Hard Rock Cafe, an unbeatable location and less noisy and crowded than the big hotels.

The rooms are a bit small but the service is the best in NYC--e.g., on the blistering hot days last week, the doorman was handing everyone cold bottles of water (free) on the way out and telling them to take care. The hotel called a few days ahead of our stay to see if there was anything they could do for us; I casually mentioned that we were celebrating 'no more college tuition bills' and when we arrived, we had lovely special treats in our room.

The cost (varies by season & room size) INCLUDES a nice big breakfast--cereal, pastries & bagels, oatmeal, hard boiled eggs, juice, fruit, yogurt) AND a 5-8 pm wine and cheese time AND coffee/tea/cookies at all other times. We ate a big breakfast, would return to the hotel for wine/cheese and then have dinner after our Broadway shows, saving money.

The hotel/rooms are decorated in Moroccan style and the lounge is called Rick's Cafe, of course. The room ammenties are really nice, including slippers. I love hotels that give you slippers--Why don't more American hotels give you slippers?!?

A real find amid all the indistinguishable chains in that area.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vakamalua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
Financial District
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
#4 of 467 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#11 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,399 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#16 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection

Property: Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Address: 147 West 43rd Street, New York City, NY 10036-6575
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#2 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#3 Family Hotel in New York City
#7 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the magic of Times Square just steps from our door, and then escape from it all at this oasis of hospitality, The Casablanca Hotel. Guests are welcome to unwind in Rick’s Cafe with complimentary refreshments 24 hours a day, including the Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning, wine and cheese receptions each evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fruit served throughout the day. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and bottled water is provided daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Southall Travel, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casablanca Hotel New York City
Casablanca New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing