We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis in Times Square”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #3 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 November 2013

What can we say that no one else has! A touch of class in Times Square, comfort,luxury, friendly,intimate and wonderful! This hotel was the icing on the cake! The cheese and wine evenings were a wonderful touch , very welcome after very busy days! The staff always were welcoming, we actually started calling it home!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank topnotch1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,859)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,682 - 2,688 of 5,859 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2013

My research on TripAdvisor led me to book our weekend in October at Casablanca. Thank you! Make no mistake, it is expensive, but well worth every dollar. We found the location perfect since we could walk to a variety of different neighborhoods, Hell's Kitchen to Rockefellar Plaza, Central Park to The Village. Entering the lobby, one leaves the mayhem of Times Square behind, almost like stepping through a doorway into another time and place. You are immediately engulfed by the warmth and peacefulness of this Boutique Hotel, not the least of which is created by the staff. The rooms were impeccably clean and well kept, as was the rest of the hotel. Breakfast had tasty juices, a variety of breads and baked goods, fruit, hard boiled eggs, coffees and teas. For a heartier breakfast, just next door is a fantastic diner. Casablanca's Happy Hour, from 7-8 every evening, served Robert Mondavi wines, a decent Prosecco, very good cheeses, fruits, crackers, cookies etc, along with the ever present delightful coffee and tea selections and fresh lemon water, all included. Were you to deduct what you might spend in NYC for this treat from the cost of your room, it isn't quite so expensive. We couldn't get one room for our entire stay, which turned out to be perfect. It gave us the opportunity to sample a deluxe room with queen and mini suite with king. They were both quite comfortable. Frankly, the deluxe with queen was just fine for the two of us. The rooms are not at all cramped. Since we had to change rooms, the staff asked only that we zip our luggage, they took care of the rest, setting us free to explore NYC. I cannot praise the staff enough. From the moment we set foot in the hotel to our departure, each and every person on this hotel staff was polite, friendly, and helpful, and always with a smile and sense of humor. I have found that some of the "better" hotels have staff that may be "polite", but just barely; they often lack a sense of humor, finding laughter and jokes beneath them. An unfortunate attitude. But not so in Casablanca. The staff are well behaved with just the right amount of good humor so we can all smile and enjoy. If you are able, I highly recommend a stay in this Boutique Hotel. We will return!

Room Tip: If driving, park at the garage next to the hotel (same side, a few doors east) and get your ticket s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MdmeL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Always looking to try different hotels we did extensive searches kept coming back to the same conclusion, all New York hotels are expensive but for the same money as the others the Casablanca has many plus points. Good central position just off Time Square with good subway access, rooms are not vast but again nor are they in most other hotels. There is an included continental breakfast with excellent fruit, yoghurt and Danish pastry's, free wi-fi, complimentary cheese and wine every evening which even if it was not really required is a chance to meet other guests and as the hotel only has 48 rooms there is no huge crowd. Very good bean to cup coffee machine available 24 hours making quite good cappuccino and espresso and complimentary quality biscuits, ideal if you come in for a break. Very friendly helpful staff, so all in all looking around the Casablanca was the obvious choice.

Room Tip: Both time we were in inner (smaller?) rooms so no street noise problems
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aFussy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Having traveled in many large cities, and having stayed in many hotels in NYC, and I have learned to have low expectations. We made reservations for the Casablanca Hotel for the weekend of the New York City Marathon because we decided staying in the Times Square area might be a nice change from where we normally stay. We were shocked at what a lovely little place this was. The staff consistently went out of their way to be helpful to us, and our room was small but very clean and comfortable. They say the rooms are quiet, but there was still plenty of noise, that that would be our only complaint. I would stay here again and again. Oh, and the room service food came from an Italian restaurant next door. Even though there was a line out the door, we got our food in 10 minutes, and it was scrumptious!

Room Tip: I suspect all of the rooms are small but comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EllaGrossi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

My partner & I stayed in the Casablanca on our first trip to New York. We both agreed we couldn't have picked a better hotel for our stay. The location was perfect, right in the centre of everything just off Times Square. We jumped off the subway, walked a few yards or so through the busy streets & then stepped out of the bright lights & buzz of Times Square right into the tranquil & welcoming surroundings of this lovely hotel. The staff were friendly & welcoming & couldn't do enough to make us feel relaxed, settled & comfortable. Our room was clean, spacious & tastefully decorated with a large & stylish bathroom. We had a room on the 6th floor & whilst you could still hear the background buzz of the city, it was not anything that would interrupt sleep. Complimentary breakfast was served in the relaxing & informal 2nd floor cafe bar area & there was a more than adequate selection of cereals, fruit, breads, pastries & hot drinks on offer. May I recommend the date & walnut rolls - delicious! The cafe bar was open throughout the day & evening for us to help ourselves to complementary hot drinks & light snacks and from around 5 till 8 every evening a complimentary glass of wine & a selection of cheeses are on offer too! A good way to start your night out (& we did!) This hotel had everything we required & we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We would most definitely stay there again & would recommend it to anyone who wants to discover the city either on foot (we walked nearly everywhere!) or by subway (stations a few yards or so from the hotel), but have a comfortable retreat to return to after a busy day. It's not necessarily the cheapest hotel, but most certainly very good value for money on all accounts. Thank you Hotel Casablanca we WILL be back!

(We ate lunch at an awesome cafe/restaurant called Bubby's in TriBeCa - well worth checking out & had a delicious dinner at The Market Table restaurant in the Village which is also worth a visit. For an authentic taste of America in the form of a quirky & vintage style steakhouse, we visited The Striphouse Restaurant in Midtown too!)

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank PaulaBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

I stayed at the Casablanca for 4 nights in October and cannot speak highly enough of the service, rooms and location. The hotel is literally 30 seconds from Times Square and yet when you are inside you feel as if you are in an oasis of calm. This is a small and friendly hotel and the staff really make you feel as though they are truly interested in your stay.
The room I stayed in included 2 double beds and was serviced daily. There was also a nightly turn down service which I though was a nice touch. The bathroom included a powerful shower and also a bath. The complementary toiletries were of a high standard and the plentiful towels were replaced daily. The hotel offered complementary snacks all day and between 5 and 8pm there was also wine and cheese. It was nice to take advantage of this in the evening before heading out as it gave you a pleasant opportunity to mull over the day. I loved everything about the Casablanca and will definitely stay here when I visit New York in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gillsjourneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Nice hotel and extremely helpful staff. Small, but comfortable rooms and the in house "Rick's Cafe" in which to be able to enjoy a coffee while reading the WSJ is nice. Only issue with me is I feel $400 a night is a bit steep.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank theleadking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#2 of 470 in New York City
1,438 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
#6 of 470 in New York City
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
Crowne Plaza HY36 Midtown Manhattan
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 470 in New York City
3,781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection

Address: 147 West 43rd Street, New York City, NY 10036-6575
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#2 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#3 Family Hotel in New York City
#7 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £191 - £338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the magic of Times Square just steps from our door, and then escape from it all at this oasis of hospitality, The Casablanca Hotel. Guests are welcome to unwind in Rick’s Cafe with complimentary refreshments 24 hours a day, including the Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning, wine and cheese receptions each evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fruit served throughout the day. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and bottled water is provided daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casablanca Hotel New York City
Casablanca New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing