We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location with lovely cheese and wine evenings”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #2 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Sandton, South Africa
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent location with lovely cheese and wine evenings”
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We stayed here as a couple for 4 nights in June 2013. The hotel is small with the perfect location, close to Times Square and walking distance from some of the main sights in New York City as well as the subway station. The rooms, although small being in NYC, were comfortable and clean. The breakfasts were lovely with fresh bagels every morning and fruit. And the loveliest touch was the complimentary cheese and wine provided each evening, which was the perfect thing to do to meet other guests and before heading out on your evening explorations. Would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Serg_Christie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,434 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,612
    650
    107
    39
    26
See reviews for
1,145
2,867
194
300
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (927)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 January 2014

I absolutely loved this hotel and am so glad I found it. I worried that it might be noisy, being so close to Times Square, but the opposite was true. It's like a little oasis of calm in the city. The staff were wonderful and couldn't do enough to help. Rick's Cafe, offering all day tea/coffee/snacks and evening wine and cheese receptions is a lovely, welcome touch. I can't recommend this hotel highly enough!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geraldine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We had a great time in NYC and really enjoyed our stay at Casablanca! The staff is very friendly and helpful. Great location to Times Square and Broadway theaters. Breakfast, snacks, wine and cheese are nice amenities. Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank January2014NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apex
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We have visited NY many times and this was our first stay a the Casablanca Hotel at Times Square. This is the best hotel we have stayed at in NY. The hotel staff is excellent and they attend to your every need. The breakfast was perfect. The happy hour is excellent. The vacation could not have been better. My thanks to all the staff for a great New York vacation.

Room Tip: The location of this hotel is steps away from Times Square and the Theater District.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joseph F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrington, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

Great location if you want to be in the action of Time Square. Extremely friendly staff who went the extra mile to help you with enquiries. Beautifully decorated, very clean the king size room was a good size for this type of New York hotel. Complimentary tea coffee and drinks in the evening in the lounge, with piano player on Friday evening. Continental breakfast was good, cheese and wine in the evenings was very good. Overall a very friendly well located good quality hotel who I would recommend to family and friends.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank michael m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights during thanksgiving as part of a mother/daughter trip this was our second trip to New York but our first stay at the Casablanca, we will definitely stay here again when visiting New York.

We booked our room on the hotel website well in advance and managed to get our stay for a reasonable price in comparison to other nearby hotels.

The room was a good size with a good quality bed, nice bathroom and added amenities if requested.

The staff were brilliant always happy to help and arranged a helicopter trip for us before our stay, which we would recommend. They also arranged for us to be collected from the airport (which was not good as the person collecting us was late, we had to call her to find her and then she got lost taking us to the hotel, however we used the same service when returning to the airport and it was fine so we must have been unlucky with our first experience).

The location of the hotel is perfect, a fews steps from times square and only a 5/10 minute walk to many of the attractions.

The breakfast was lovely and had a good range of choices and the wine and cheese reception was a nice added extra.

Overall the hotel has a lovely atmosphere and I would recommend it to anyone visiting New York.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HW91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

ive never stayed in new york before. this by far was the best hotel stay ever. i was here for business the whole staff was wonderful. Everyone smiled and that just made me happy. it takes alot to feel as though your home even when your not!! definately will return

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michelle1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 467 in New York City
1,306 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#11 of 467 in New York City
3,441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
#8 of 467 in New York City
307 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#12 of 467 in New York City
845 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection

Property: Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Address: 147 West 43rd Street, New York City, NY 10036-6575
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#2 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#3 Family Hotel in New York City
#7 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the magic of Times Square just steps from our door, and then escape from it all at this oasis of hospitality, The Casablanca Hotel. Guests are welcome to unwind in Rick’s Cafe with complimentary refreshments 24 hours a day, including the Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning, wine and cheese receptions each evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fruit served throughout the day. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and bottled water is provided daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casablanca Hotel New York City
Casablanca New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing