We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid Room 602” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #2 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Avoid Room 602”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

It is with a very heavy heart I write this review. I booked this hotel nearly a year out from travel date and daily read trip advisor for new reviews - to say the least I was excited!! Once we checked into room 602 is was a lot smaller than I imagined and I also asked for a room with some sort of a view - but I got over it. Was I was not expecting is the heater in the room ticked sooooo loudly every bight after the 7th night straight with no sleep I had to ask them to completely turn it off :( It was a nightmare - In fact I even filmed it to prove to the staff that something was wrong! I would tell them daily and they said they sent engineers to the room but it continued to tick away... They did pop a little fan heater in the room but alas it was -10 degrees out there!

Wine and cheese was nice, location was excellent. Staff also kind.

I would of appreciated knowing that scheduled night works in times Square were also in place. I mean jack hammers all night!! There was no mention of this anywhere. I realize it is Time Square so was not expecting silence but what the construction noise was really , really awful. After 11 nights of literally no sleep we left the hotel - I was really disappointed with my stay :( So looking forward for so long but when you have jam packed days and no sleep we were quite happy t o leave and go home.

Room Tip: Try to avoid room 602
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank claire A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,379 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,565
    644
    105
    39
    26
See reviews for
1,129
2,843
190
296
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (917)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

This is the second time we book a room at the Casablanca Hotel. As long time New Yorkers with dreams of visiting Morocco, we find this little hotel a welcome oasis in the city. You might find that their attentive employees and little touches like chocolates in your bed.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CDACAUA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
79 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

The carefully-judged flow of communication between booking and arrival could have been set up by any management that took the time to think about it. But the personal attention from the moment we arrived at the front door was truly special. We were warmly greeted, checked-in efficiently, and made to feel genuinely welcome.

The hotel is extremely well maintained. Everything in the room worked as it should, and the public areas looked in tip-top condition. The lounge, offering complimentary refreshments all the time, was very much appreciated after a disrupted journey from London; and breakfast was generous and satisfying.

But perhaps most important, all of the staff we saw were friendly, whether it was the doorman, those on the front desk, the catering staff or even the office managers who were wandering around. Everyone had time to greet guests and to chat for a while. Of course, all of this rubs off on guests as well, so the lounge was often busy with people passing the time of day with others.

The cumulative effect was that this felt not so much like staying in a hotel, which can be a pretty impersonal and hostile experience in a city like New York, but like being a guest in a private members' club; and returning to the hotel always felt like coming home. A hotel that's ranked number 2 in NYC has a lot to live up to, but other members' enthusiasm for it is fully justified.

That's not to say that it's perfect. It is a mid-market hotel and does not promise endless luxury. Some will find the decor rather kitsch (although it all seems rather tongue-in-cheek). Given the hotel's location, the rooms are inevitably not big. The room's temperature was difficult to control, in common (we understand) with many other buildings of its age. And if your room faces the street, as ours did, it's impossible to avoid much of the noise that comes with being just off Times Square: garbage trucks, fire engines and other traffic, and of course drunks and other noisy people at odd hours.

But there's little that the hotel can do to eliminate these problems. What it does do is to demonstrate that if an establishment puts in the effort to do well the things that it can control, it's much easier to forgive the things that it can't change.

We will be back.

Room Tip: Avoid a room facing the street, to try to keep the noise level down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WanderingLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

Conveniently located, middle-market accommodation in Manhattan is almost always disappointing. Tired rooms and decor, surface cleanliness and prickly, poorly trained personnel are what you expect along with the "this is Manhattan" justification. The Casablanca breaks the mold. From front desk to maintenance to catering to housekeeping, the staff genuinely seem to care about the guest experience and take pride in working at the hotel. The rooms are smallish (I stayed in a Cosy Classic room) and the Casablanca motif is somewhat hokey, but the hotel makes the most of the space available and the cleanliness is impeccable. The bathroom including a tiled walk-in shower was better than many luxury hotels in the city. Easy 4 stars on a price/quality weighted basis.

Room Tip: Ask for a room without adjacent wall view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MatthewB511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

The team members at Casablanca were beyond friendly and helpful. The location was outstanding and because it is small it is very intimate. The 2nd floor library/eating space is wonderful. Great breakfast in morning along with the wine and cheese at night. What set this apart though was the personnel upstairs would took care of us. ALL THE PEOPLE AT CASABLANCA WERE OUTSTANDING....I am not one to write reviews....so this had to be over the top and it was... from start to finish.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HTH43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

If you're after a hotel in the most central location in New York to start exploring from, look no further than here. Literally 30 seconds walk from the bright lights and buzz of Time Square. You can travel a few blocks North to Central Park or walk South towards Madison Square Garden, Rockefeller etc.

The staff are extremely helpful, leaving a bottle of wine in our room upon our arrival, letting us borrow travel adaptors for our mobile phones, even bringing me a $20 note the next day when they realised I must have over paid! Unlike other hotels we have stayed in, the safe in the room doesn't need to be paid for, also the same with the wi-fi. These are always niggles when staying in a hotel for me.

The rooms are somewhat small but well kitted out and very clean. I would like to see a change the breakfasts with a hot meal option, but other than that I can not complain.

Keep up the good work.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade to a larger room if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank khall888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield
Level Contributor
88 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

The theme doesn't quite work for me, whilst it maybe a novelty in NYC it's reminiscent of an average or budget hotel in North Africa/Spain. We got a suite and it was basic and very small, plus no room temperature control or fridge, both a heater and fridge had to be brought up.

Location is great for Times Square, service is good but not exceptional with a few stand out people and the complimentary wine from 5-8pm a lovely touch, but if they want 5 stars they have to update the rooms, and amenities within them, and just go a little further on being themselves when they look after their guests.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Godsownworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,264 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#13 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
#5 of 467 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#16 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection

Property: Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Address: 147 West 43rd Street, New York City, NY 10036-6575
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#2 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#3 Family Hotel in New York City
#7 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the magic of Times Square just steps from our door, and then escape from it all at this oasis of hospitality, The Casablanca Hotel. Guests are welcome to unwind in Rick’s Cafe with complimentary refreshments 24 hours a day, including the Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning, wine and cheese receptions each evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fruit served throughout the day. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and bottled water is provided daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Southall Travel and Odigeo so you can book your Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casablanca Hotel New York City
Casablanca New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing