We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #2 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

We were in Casablanca Hotel for 5 days. Everyone from the doorman to housekeeping staff were very friendly and lovely. This made our stay became even more memorable. Everything in the hotel is wonderful and Happy Hour in the late afternoon makes you feel at home. Just to say: Carmen, Karen, Maria, Brigido; Francisco and all others ... THANK YOU!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marcelo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,566
    645
    105
    39
    26
See reviews for
1,129
2,844
190
296
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (918)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bermuda
Level Contributor
54 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

We stayed at the Cassablanca for a week in late February and were in awe of the experience. Right from the very beginning the staff made us feel at home. We had a King room (601) with wonderful amenities, a terrific TV channel selection, and plenty of space. The room offered everything we could possibly need including premium toiletries!

The location was perfect! Whether we chose to stroll around Times Square, walk to a Broadway Show or just expierience the best NYC had to offer we were able to do it with ease. We never needed to hire a cab or catch a subway as the hotel is centrally located. When a hard shower came unexpectedly we were able to escape to the hotel within minutes.

The daily breakfast offered a pleasant variety of breakfast choices including hard boiled eggs, a selection of teas, coffees and juices. This perk provided a great start for each and every day and made a wonderful value add.

Thanks Casablanca. We will be seeing you again!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank world taster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solon, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Casablanca on a getaway weekend trip to NYC with friends.
We had stayed here on our previous visit to NYC several years before and were hoping for the same wonderful experience this time. We were not disappointed! The Hotel is an older building-nothing shiny and new-but very comfortable and inviting.
Our room was a premium king-not as huge as you would expect for a "king" room but certainly big enough. Only drawback is lack of counter space in bathroom-there is a tiered rattan shelf next to the sink, but it is awkward and not user friendly!
The best part of the Casablanca is its staff. Very helpful, friendly, gracious, and competent.
Location is fabulous; the complimentary breakfast is just right and the wine, cheese and prosecco afternoon "happy hour" is delightful.
Truly a great value for NYC or anywhere.
We would most certainly return again to the Casablanca

Room Tip: if size of the room matters to you, choose a king size room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank swebster5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Glos. England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

We booked a double room with one double bed --when we arrived we were offered a 48" wide bed. we showed it to some Americans staying there - the laughed !! In the morning we woke to insect bites all over our legs. We were told bed bugs are a problem in New York - we checked out and went to a proper 4* round the corner - I would give this hotel no stars if it were possible - oh!! the food poor - stale - had seen better days. I would not stay here again and recommend you don't !!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
17 Thank Denis_Linda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnTaboadaNYC, General Manager at Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear Denis_Linda,
We are fiercely committed to being leaders in our industry and champions of generous hospitality. We truly wish to give every guest a wonderful travel experience. Above all else, we take the safety and well being of our guests very seriously. Back in May, when you were upset about not getting a free upgrade to a King bedded room, and we could only offer a King bedded room for the first night of your stay, you raised the issue of the hotel being unacceptable for you. We refunded your prepaid non-refundable reservation and immediately called in the experts who thankfully were able to provide us with professional confirmation that upon thorough inspection, there was absolutely no evidence of any problem in our guestroom. If you were suffering, then regardless of where you received your bites, we certainly can appreciate how uncomfortable that might be and we are sorry if anything interfered with your enjoyment of your trip. We are very relieved to tell you that we did not have that problem here. Please find the attached report: http://www.casablancahotel.com/download/17611

We believe your overall dissatisfaction is the result of your displeasure with the size of the room you reserved and particularly the size of the bed which clearly was not an ideal fit for you. I have investigated and reviewed the details of your reservation thoroughly. You selected the Cozy Classic room with 1 full sized bed, which we have taken great care to describe and depict on our website. Since your stay, we have added the word Petite to the room name in hopes that future guests would have a better understanding of the room size, which is indeed our smallest room. We also created this guide to bed sizes: http://www.libraryhotel.com/download/15041

When you booked, about 6 months in advance of your May 2013 arrival, King bedded rooms were available at a higher price. You chose the smallest room type and asked for an upgrade if available. We happily noted your request for a complimentary upgrade but
on the day of arrival all the King rooms were taken and no upgrades were available. Since your stay, I have asked our Reservations Manager to personally contact each guest that books via our website asking for a free upgrade. Now, she lets travelers know that they have the option of either securing the larger room at the designated price or if they prefer, they may take their chances on an upgrade on arrival. Our hotel is sold out frequently and we do not have many opportunities to honor that type of request, but we are glad to if it is available. When you arrived at the hotel, we offered you the room you actually booked, which is the same room specified on the confirmation you brought with you. Regretfully, we did not have anything available to upgrade you to except for the first night. I am sorry that was very upsetting for you but we could not in good conscience downgrade another guest who had secured a larger room in advance. We are glad to have been able to honor the other requests and we are sincerely comforted to know that you were able to enjoy your alternative arrangements elsewhere after we refunded the balance of your stay. Although it was a non-refundable reservation, we sincerely try to do all we can to make travelers happy.

We greatly appreciate TripAdvisor and the opportunity it gives us to learn from our guests and make changes. We trust that the savvy members of TripAdvisor will judge us on the over 3,000 reviews that have been made by travelers over the last 12 years. We remain committed to 100% guest satisfaction. If I can answer any questions about these issues or if I may be of service in any way, please feel free to contact me directly at 212-869-1212.

John Taboada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
477 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

I don't really want to tell anyone how much I loved this hotel just in case I can't get a booking next time I go to New York. ....
It's location is brilliant, about 50 metres from times square and 80 metres from the Subway which has a shuttle to Grand Central station for any other lines you might want. On the doorstep of Broadway with Macys and fifth Avenue a 10 minute walk.
Nothing is too much trouble. The attention to detail is wonderful with free wifi, breakfast and pre dinner drinks and nibbles included in the price.
The room was comfortable, with good storage and a great bathroom. The room was also quiet considering it's location, we didn't hear any outside noise at all.
The Casablanca really is a home away from home and probably one of the best hotel experiences I've ever had.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank andream0402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverhead, Ny
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

We arrived, literally, in the midst of a bitter-cold downpour. One step inside put us immediately at ease. It was our second visit to Casablanca. Based on the first, the sense of quality service and comforting facilities, supported by a gracious staff, was not unexpected. Though not frequent travelers, we have stayed at a number of truly classic hotels. Casablanca is our secret gem.

Room Tip: During both of my stays, I woke up thinking I was in my own bed at home. The rooms were cozy and com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

Outstanding little hotel in the heart of Manhattan. Location, decor, cleanliness, comfort, staff & service are all superb. The hotel feels warm, cosy & friendly, and despite its location in the heart of the city it is very quiet & peaceful inside. So much attention to detail with the furnishings, the special little finishing touches. Breakfast was excellent, and the complimentary afternoon coffee & cakes, plus the evening wine & cheese were a much appreciated bonus! If I ever return to New York I will definitely be staying at the Casablanca Hotel - can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,266 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
#5 of 467 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#16 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection

Property: Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Address: 147 West 43rd Street, New York City, NY 10036-6575
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#2 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#3 Family Hotel in New York City
#7 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the magic of Times Square just steps from our door, and then escape from it all at this oasis of hospitality, The Casablanca Hotel. Guests are welcome to unwind in Rick’s Cafe with complimentary refreshments 24 hours a day, including the Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning, wine and cheese receptions each evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fruit served throughout the day. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and bottled water is provided daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casablanca Hotel New York City
Casablanca New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing