We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location and Atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #3 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Perfect location, small rooms,breakfast and coffee lounge great. The location is just around from Times Square so you can walk to most things in Midtown. The outside noise is quite loud most of the day and night so getting good rest is hard to get here. But few people come to NYC to sleep.

Room Tip: Get an inward facing room or you won't sleep.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wade29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,757)
There are newer reviews for Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,382 - 2,388 of 5,757 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2014

Wonderful location, steps from Times Square, yet largely quiet. The breakfasts were excellent, and the snacks throughout the day so liberal that we skipped one dinner before our theatre. The ambiance was excellent, with beautifully decorated rooms, and Rick's café elegant and cosy at the same time.
The three concierges we dealt with all went out of their way to make our stay as perfect as possible, and helped us secure tickets to a sold out show through a broker. They were always ready with information about things to do in NYC.
We will definitely be back

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NIcoletteOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Our taxi almost missed this hotel but we stepped inside to a recreation of the movie set with free wi-fi. The decor is rich and Moroccan. The staff are extremely polite and eager to help. There was even a pianist who obliged us with "As Time Goes By" as we had our daily free wine and cheese reception (good enough for our dinner). Humphrey Bogart and Ingrid Bergman would have chosen this hotel for old times sake.
Next door is a nice Italian restaurant,Tony's di Napoli, that serves good food at a decent price. (the serving for one was good enough for both of us) The nice part is a connecting door to the the hotel reception, a welcome protection from the bitter winter cold.
50 meters away, at the end of the street, we stepped into Times Square surrounded by fashion shops, theaters and Asian restaurants. You can't find a better a better value-for-money hotel to stay in New York.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Virtually on Times Sq but surprisingly quiet
It's small with I think 46 rooms, so has quite an intimate feel and this is reinforced by the very friendly and helpful staff
The atmosphere is also helped by the interior design which has a deliberately dated North African feel
Room was well appointed and bathroom modern and clean
There's no restaurant and breakfast is served in the 1st floor lounge area which can get a bit busy at times. This may not be to everyones' taste since table (and I mean coffee table!) sharing is sometimes required. Not a problem for us but maybe for others
The upside to this arrangement is that the lounge is open 24 hours and there is always tea/coffee and snacks available...and between 4-7pm, free wine which is very welcome after a day's touristing
Obviously being so close to Times Sq, the lack of a restaurant in the hotel is not an issue
If we go to NY again, we'll very likely stay here

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hoohoobug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

The night before our stay at Casablanca i badly twisted my ankle. We arrived early. Victor set me up w ice in the second floor lounge and cafe while my husband explored the city. Not only was I well tended but I watched many of the guests feel at home. A wonderful mix of international and US travelers. I knew we were close to Times sq but I had not appreciated how convenient everything was, transit, shops, jazz.. Until I wanted and needed it to be. We enjoyed the wine and cheese before heading out to a show and dinner. It says a lot that even in this situation we did not need a cab. The room was comfy. Sleep welcome. The next morning we stayed thru to check out and then made our way. All..front desk, hospitality, housekeeping could not have been nicer. We both wanted to stay longer and we will return.

Room Tip: We didn't find any noisy areas. Being on the second floor for a good amt of time, I would have k...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goonatrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

The location of this hotel is excellent. It is literally 35 steps to Times Square. We had two rooms for the duration of our 12 night stay and we slept peacefully. We were there for polar vortex part two and it was bitterly cold outside but the room was warm. On one occasion it was a bit cold so the front desk sent up a space heater.

The best thing about this hotel is the 24 hour "snacking" which means at any time of the day or night you can help yourself to cookies, tea, latte etc and the free continental breakfast.

Rooms are older but that is irrelevant. You are in New York, who is going to be in their room other than to sleep?

Staff are exceptional, rooms are clean.

Highly recommended

Room Tip: We stayed in a double...two double beds and then the mini suite with two full size beds. We like the...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dragonfly1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

sure we have all been to vagas etc huge rooms 20 floors up in the gods , with staff that look like zombies lol , the casablanca offers something different ,, a more intimate atmosphere , from the moment i checked in the staff couldent have done more helpfull , what a great little hotel just yards from time square , yet an oasis of tranqility ,, stay here you will have just the best new york has to offer .

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 802mollychops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 468 in New York City
1,403 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
#4 of 468 in New York City
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoHo
Crosby Street Hotel
Crosby Street Hotel
#5 of 468 in New York City
783 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#11 of 468 in New York City
3,666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection

Address: 147 West 43rd Street, New York City, NY 10036-6575
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#2 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#3 Family Hotel in New York City
#7 Business Hotel in New York City
#45 Best Value Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £196 - £353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the magic of Times Square just steps from our door, and then escape from it all at this oasis of hospitality, The Casablanca Hotel. Guests are welcome to unwind in Rick’s Cafe with complimentary refreshments 24 hours a day, including the Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning, wine and cheese receptions each evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fruit served throughout the day. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and bottled water is provided daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Odigeo, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casablanca Hotel New York City
Casablanca New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing