We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #3 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Ontario
1 review
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Very friendly and helpful staff. Room was clean and bed comfy.

Complimentary coffee/tea in Rick's lounge along with free WiFi. They also have a guest computer/printer in the lounge for guest use... and we needed it to print the Theater tickets we forgot to bring!!! Will book here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quinn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,585 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,743
    669
    108
    39
    26
See reviews for
1,183
2,955
200
307
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (962)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West of the Drink, East of the Swamp
Level Contributor
55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

The excellent staff was sympathetic and helpful our entire vacation. They were knowledgeable and gave good directions as to how to get around the city. Even though snowstorms delayed our departure for several days (no airplanes to take us home!) and our stay was running into Valentine's Day, they extended our stay without our having to change rooms. Everyone from the manager, desk clerk, door man, server, and maid for our room was extremely efficient, cheerful, and just plain nice!

You really cannot beat the location if you want to be near the theater district. The airport shuttle dropped us off at the nearby Port Authority Bus Terminal, which is about 3 blocks from the hotel. We wheeled our suitcases from 8th and 41st to 7th and 43rd, and voila!

We ended up seeing 3 plays, a movie, and an opera. We went to two museums, visited the 9/11 Memorial, and were enthralled with Times Square on Valentines Day when a couple got married there. We mostly walked or took the subway but took cabs when we felt it was too far, too late, or our feet hurt. Oh, and I forgot to mention all the good places to eat!

The breakfast room/lounge made it seem as if we were staying in the owner's suite. We enjoyed the complimentary breakfast and happy hour wine and cheese. We loved always having access to coffee, tea, fruit, cookies, and lemon water. Such a luxury to read the New York Times by the fireplace. We would run back to our hotel in between outings to sit and recover from the bitter wind, snow, and cold. We checked our email and printed documentation of our cancelled flights. Then there were the chocolates and piano player on Valentine's Day and the movie "Casablanca"! What a beautiful ending to our great New York adventure.

The place is spotless and well-run. Our room was quiet and a bit dark, but they are working on improving the lighting.

When we come back to New York we definitely will stay at the Casablanca.

(Mostly written by Jan, with some touchup by Larry.)

Room Tip: I would ask for a south-facing room next time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LarryAt27N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnTaboadaNYC, Manager at Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Jan and Larry,

Thank you for the wonderful review! We thoroughly enjoyed reading it again, and again, and again. At the Library Hotel Collection, we do our best to provide our guests with that ‘home away from home’ experience in one of the busiest cities in the world. As you mentioned, it’s difficult to find a place like Rick’s Café that can provide you with the serenity necessary to recharge your batteries after long day outdoors. Nothing beats a delicious cup of coffee or hot cocoa next to the fire place at Rick's Café!

I truly appreciate your kind words, and I will be sharing them with our entire staff. When you plan on visiting us again, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at 212-201-1156.

Already, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Casablanca!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed 17 March 2014

The Casablanca hotel goes the extra ten miles to make the experience wonderful and memorable for its guests. From the consistently cheerful welcome from the front desk, to the complimentary breakfast and wine and cheese, from the upgrade to an available suite, to the free wifi and passes to the New York Sports club, to the remarkable location from which almost every entertainment (Broadway theater, fine dining, Madison Square Garden) is just a short walk, to the successful effort to keep the place a tranquil oasis in the midst of the craziness of Times Square, the Casablanca is simply magnificent. And to top it off, the price was very reasonable for a boutique hotel of this remarkable quality in this location.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We have recently returned from our trip to New York, having booked a five day break to celebrate our Silver Wedding Anniversary.

Even prior to our arrival, it became clear to me that this is a hotel which prides itself on his customer service. I had emailed the hotel a few weeks prior to our arrival, in order to check upon the locality, restaurants etc, and on three occasions I received extremely prompt and very informative email responses from various concierges who were working on the front desk at the time.

We received a warm welcome upon arrival, check-in was instantaneous and we were immediately accompanied up to our room (308) on the third floor. An initial inspection of the room led us to agree that it wasn't one of the largest rooms we had stayed in, however the facilities provided and standard of cleanliness were second to none. In addition, we were planning on being out for most of the day so the room was mainly to be used for sleeping purposes.

The bathroom was spotless - a deep bath and wonderfully powerful shower were most pleasurable after busy days of sightseeing!! Towelling robes were provided for use during our stay (along with complimentary slippers), shower gel, shampoo, conditioner, moisturiser and shoe shine pads were replenished on a daily basis. There was an ample quantity of bath, hand towels and flannels (changed daily) together with a black 'make-up' flannel (which I thought was an excellent idea). Additionally, tissues, cotton buds and cotton wool puffs and chocolates were provided.

The room itself housed a queen-size bed (our request), two bedside tables, a table and two chairs, chest of drawers, large flat screen tv, alarm clock/radio (with Ipod functionality). In addition there was a spacious walk-in wardrobe which housed a safe (free), extra bedding, ironing board and iron. Although the room wasn't huge, we had plenty of room and were able to store the suitcases etc out of the way.

The bed itself was extremely comfortable - and we only experienced a small amount of sound produced by the air-conditioning unit (we had requested a quiet room upon booking). As I am a light sleeper I did make use of the ear-plugs which were available upon request from the front desk. Both myself and my husband slept amazingly well all in all (just as well as we were exhausted from our busy sight-seeing days).

Interestingly (whilst available upon request) the hotel does not automatically provide tea/coffee facilities in the room - there is a good an simple reason for this. Hot/cold beverages (together with biscuits, pastries, fruit) are available in Rick's Cafe which is located on the second floor 24 hours a day.

A complimentary continental breakfast is served each morning in Rick's Cafe (7-10.00am Mon-Fri, 7.30-10.30am Sat-Sun) - this offers a wide choice of cereals, breads, pastries, yoghurts, juices, fruit, eggs, bagels, together with tea, coffee, hot chocolate - the staff are extremely obliging and happy to rustle up toast upon request. This little 'oasis' provides an extremely relaxing setting, and is a world away from the hustle and bustle which is immediately outside the hotel (more on location further on.....) Complimentary newspapers are also available.

Another unique touch was the daily wine/cheese/nibbles which are provided in Rick's Cafe between 5.00-8.00pm - this became the perfect 'wind-down' time prior to going out for evening dinner, and offered the opportunity to chat with other guests. The people we chatted to were either using the visit as a short stopover before flying on elsewhere or staying for a similar 5 day break to ourselves.

Location-wise - well you literally are just around the corner from Times Square - it's VERY busy as soon as you leave the hotel (see photo I have attached). This means that everything is very close by. We ended up only using the subway once, we walked everywhere - from 12th street right up to 71st street (never even needed a NY taxi!!)

Nothing was too much trouble - we did have a small query regarding prosecco/chocolates which our son had arranged to be available in our room upon arrival, however this was sorted out immediately with much professionalism by Asim and his team (many thanks and very much appreciated). Any time we required assistance with directions, again the concierge team were happy to help, providing tips and helpful information (very much appreciated when we used the subway!!)

If you haven't visited New York before, be aware that there is a lot of construction work in general going on - hence the noise outside is quite loud - I think therefore that it was of benefit that we had been located at the rear of the building (we had no outside noise in our room).

The free wi-fi worked amazingly well (available from 2nd floor upwards) - we had no problems whatsoever and this meant that we were able to Skype home each day at no cost.

There is no bar/restaurant in the hotel (although Tony's DiNapoli restaurant and Brooklyn Diner (both next door) are available and I understand both provide room service if required. We never actually ate in either as we were out for most of the day and ate somewhere differently each night.

Having read many other reviews for many other hotels, I booked the Casablanca hotel purely on the ratings and reviews which were submitted by previous guests. I understand that this is a particularly small hotel ie only 48 rooms (by NYC standards) however we would not have changed our booking at all - we really did make the perfect choice and the Casablanca staff went out of their way to enhance our stay.

We did happen to chat to Asim in the lift one day and he clarified that the hotel really did try to provide exceptional service - if that is the case, then the team have definitely succeeded!!! Many thanks again for making our first experience of New York so special.

Room Tip: We were in room 308 (on the back) and didn't experience any external noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank GoodwinsStoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

It was our first time to NYC. The location of the hotel is excellent if your looking to be next to Time Square. The service was also excellent from start to finish. The rooms are small but to be expected for NYC. They are clean and very well equipped and comfortable. We had a queen sized room. The breakfast in the morning and the wine receptions in the evening were very nice. The one evening it did rain they provided us with two umbrellas to use as we went out for the night. They are definitely worth considering when staying in NYC.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roger J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Stayed here at end of February for 5 nights. We wanted to stay somewhere with a bit more character and more boutique style than some of the bigger chains of hotels. We were also drawn to the free wifi, help yourself drinks and snacks during the day and the wine and nibbles from 5pm to 8pm every day. It was freezing when we were there so were very glad of the lovely warm sitting room. The continental breakfast was good and the staff there were great and happy to help with any request.

We stayed in Room 302 - rooms are smallish but clean and comfortable although steamy bathrooms!! We struggled a bit with the noise from the street - being on Sydney time wouldn't have helped - and also there was a neon parking sign that flashed on our wall that I tried to cover in vain. After 3 nights (silly to wait so long!) we asked to be moved and were moved to 601 - an interior room which so much quieter. (although I could then hear the bell ring when cars exited the car park next door, but I am a light sleeper).

The convenience of Times Square was perfect. We had a couple of quick dinners at the Brooklyn Diner next door which was upmarket for a diner and reasonable.

Would definitely recommend for all the little extras, just ask for an internal and higher floor if you are a light sleeper. The staff are happy to help you change with no problem at all.

Room Tip: Ask for an internal room and high if light sleeper….
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SB2901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights here during our New York trip from Maryland and Washington. Superb hotel, fabulous location, very helpful and friendly concierge team, free wifi. Clean and smart throughout. Breakfast was excellent with wide choice. Snacks through afternoon were moorish. Fun chatting and networking with lots of folk. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#2 of 468 in New York City
1,357 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 468 in New York City
3,553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#13 of 468 in New York City
937 reviews
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection

Property: Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Address: 147 West 43rd Street, New York City, NY 10036-6575
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#2 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#3 Family Hotel in New York City
#7 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the magic of Times Square just steps from our door, and then escape from it all at this oasis of hospitality, The Casablanca Hotel. Guests are welcome to unwind in Rick’s Cafe with complimentary refreshments 24 hours a day, including the Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning, wine and cheese receptions each evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fruit served throughout the day. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and bottled water is provided daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casablanca Hotel New York City
Casablanca New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing