We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 sleepless nights”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #3 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“3 sleepless nights”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We had a King room on the 3rd floor at the front of the hotel. The noise level from the street was unbearable and we suffered through three nights with almost no sleep. There is a window air conditioner in the only window in the room, with flimsy plastic on either side. As a result, we could hear entire conversations perfectly from the street below and of course heard traffic and construction noise all night. Hotel management told us they would be replacing the windows - but didn't know when. I suggest you either avoid this hotel until the windows are replaced, or demand a room at the back of the hotel. If they can't guarantee a room at the back, I would suggest finding somewhere else to stay. Management is well aware of the issue and they offer ear plugs and a white noise machine, but that's not going to help at 3 am when a building is being demolished nearby.
Too bad, because otherwise the hotel is great. A nice breakfast and a lovely afternoon reception is included in the price, but sleep quality is the most important thing on my list in finding a great hotel and this one just doesn't measure up.

Room Tip: Avoid the front rooms. According to Management, there are very few King rooms that aren't at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank AbruptlyBiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,696 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,842
    677
    111
    40
    26
See reviews for
1,216
3,016
208
309
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (982)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

What a gem. Just a few yards away from the hustle and bustle of Times Square and yet this lovely hotel is an oasis of peace and tranquillity. Staff were all very friendly and extremely helpful. Our room was very comfortable and had all that we needed and, just to make sure we were happy, the staff contacted us each evening to see if there was anything else that we wanted. A good breakfast and then free tea or coffee with pastries available all day. What a place. If you are visiting New York look no further.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roger E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

My daughter and I stayed at the Casablanca for our annual mother/ daughter trip to see Broadway shows. We have stayed the last two years at their sister property, the Library Hotel and have loved it. We were only staying two nights this year and thought it would be more time efficient to stay closer to Broadway. The staff were very eager to help us. When I realized that I had booked petite room with just a double bed, I inquired about a larger room and they did everything they could to accommodate us, even to move us to the Library Hotel. We chose to stay. While our room was very small, the location was perfect. In the cold weather, it was an easy walk to all of our shows which was really nice. A couple things to note - the bathroom is so tiny in the petite rooms, that I do not think my husband would ever be able to use the toilet The toilet buds almost right up to wall and toilet paper holder. I am 5 feet 2 in and barely fit. Shower is large though! And then on our first night, we did hear an alarm going off constantly which was the parking garage that is right beside the hotel. While it was annoying, on our next day/night we did not hear this so I am not sure if there was a problem at the garage that first night. The 2nd floor area where the breakfast and wine & cheese are served is the best part of the stay. We enjoyed the food and beverages and took full advantage of this wonderful reception area. The concierge made a dinner reservation for us and it was very nice. I recommend for its perfect location and wonderful reception lounge.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mshtx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We were traveling with our two small children and my mother, and this hotel was PERFECT! Great location (right near Times Square and subway stops). Exceedingly nice staff. Convenient parking. The complimentary continental breakfast began our day as it should - fortifying yet relaxed. The room layouts worked for us as well - definitely recommend the suite for a family of four. This will be our go-to hotel for any future visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wonkavator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Really enjoyed our stay here. Room was very clean and spacious Staff were great - very friendly and helpful.
The hotel has absolutely great location! Closed to everything. Just a minute from the subway, Time Square. Within walking distance to Rockefeller Center.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IrinaDyukova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

I cannot say enough nice things about this hotel!! This was our first family trip to NY (2 adults and 2 kids 9 and 11) and we were not sure what to expect. I selected this hotel based on other internet reviews, and I am SO glad that I did!! The staff at Casablanca are extremely friendly, helpful and eager to make sure that our stay was a wonderful experience-which it was. The hotel is located just off of Times Square and within walking distance to all the major tourist attractions and a subway station. The hotel was clean, and the suite room we stayed in was plenty big for the 4 of us-our view was unfortunately of the top of another building, but since we were barely in the room it was no problem for us and I think we probably slept better without the street noise. One other thing I would note is that some of the carpet and upholstery may be getting a little "tired"- but just barely enough to even mention. In my opinion, the Lounge area is a big part of what makes this hotel great. The breakfast selection was plentiful, the 24/7 availability of cappuccino and cookies was so much fun for our kids, and the wine and cheese reception each night was delicious. I especially loved the Prosecco (wish I would have written down the name of it!). The week we stayed the other guests we met were lovely and internationally diverse, we seemed to be the only guests with children. I would highly recommend Casablanca!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

From start to finish our stay at the Casablanca was first class.

A perfect place to stay to experience New York in all it's glory.

The staff, the facilities, the rooms, the peace and quiet what more can I say.

100% recommended!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 467 in New York City
1,381 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
#4 of 467 in New York City
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoHo
Crosby Street Hotel
Crosby Street Hotel
#5 of 467 in New York City
774 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#11 of 467 in New York City
3,626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection

Property: Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Address: 147 West 43rd Street, New York City, NY 10036-6575
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#2 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#3 Family Hotel in New York City
#7 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the magic of Times Square just steps from our door, and then escape from it all at this oasis of hospitality, The Casablanca Hotel. Guests are welcome to unwind in Rick’s Cafe with complimentary refreshments 24 hours a day, including the Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning, wine and cheese receptions each evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fruit served throughout the day. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and bottled water is provided daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casablanca Hotel New York City
Casablanca New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing