We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Service With a Smile” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #2 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
532 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
“Service With a Smile”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

We stayed at The Casablanca for two nights on arrival in New York, then for one night after a trip up-state for a long weekend. We had told the hotel in advance that this was part of our wedding anniversary celebrations and they looked after us extremely well. We were upgraded to a mini suite, which meant that we had a comfortable sitting area and more room for our cases. We had asked in advance (via a form on the website) for optional extras: in-room fridge, coffee-maker, make-up mirror and extra feather pillows, all of which were in the room on arrival.

The bed was large and comfortable. The bedrooms were smallish and very dark at night, although they were a bit too hot. There was an air-conditioning unit built into the window, which we used to some extent. Opening the window meant letting in more of the noise from 43rd Street, which is quite considerable, pretty much all night long (well, it is the city that never sleeps). It didn't disrupt my husband's sleep, though. The rooms overlooking the internal courtyard are probably quieter.

The bathrooms were small but well-eqipped and spotlessly clean.

The continental breakfast selection was good, with fresh fruit, a good variety of cereals and fresh bagels, toasted to order. Wine and cheese in the evenings was good, too, with a relaxed atmosphere and a generous amount to drink - the staff kept offering top-ups.

We left one of our cases in storage at the hotel whilst we went away for the weekend, which was no problem at all.

All of the staff (reception, breakfast and wine servers, porters, housekeeping) at The Casablanca seem to be happy in their jobs. They all greet you with a smile and ask whether they can help in any way. It seems a shame to single out one person, because they were all so good, but the Front Office Manager, Asim Burondker, really helped to make our stay special.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bluesprout61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,379 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,565
    644
    105
    39
    26
See reviews for
1,129
2,843
190
296
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (917)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Antrim, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

As with all my reviews I like to take some time to reflect and give a balanced view of the experience....hopefully this will be taken in to account by anyone reading!

We stayed here 13th-17th April 2014 (2 adults and a 15 year old) - it was booked last September following the reviews on TA.

The reality is very different to the hype....

Don't get me wrong, this is a very pleasant hotel with many good features...however, how it has earned the accolade of #1 hotel in New York is now beyond me.

In my opinion there are several key factors when considering whether a room was good to stay in........daylight, fresh air and a good power shower are critical. Our room had none of these unfortunately. We found it extremely difficult throughout our 4 night stay that we didn't know if it was night or day if we were in our room on the 4th floor. Not being able to open a window and get fresh air?! The one 'window' in the room was blanked out (presumably as it overlooked an internal area).....

Other things to consider.....there are c40 rooms in the hotel. There are 8 tables in the breakfast room......do the Maths.....it was totally hit or miss in having somewhere to sit. 4 normal tables and 4 low (beneath knee height) are not a great mix either!

Positives
- Location to Times Square will not be beaten (50 yards)
- 'Free' (although you pay for it in your price) Wine & Cheese between 5-8pm
- Breakfast is more than good for continental
- Free Wifi
- Staff are all very pleasant and efficient, (however after 5 days I still could not tell you a single person who stood out for me)

In conclusion we stayed in a 'chain' hotel 6 years ago in 44th St and would stay there again.

It is probably best to review the '3 stars' of this hotel rather than the '5's' as I found a lot of first time reviewers giving 5 stars.

Hope this may help some folk out there......any questions feel free to ask.

Room Tip: We were at the back of the hotel so it was quiet, but there was no daylight!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
18 Thank Chucklers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnTaboadaNYC, General Manager at Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Hello Chuckler,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. It truly saddens me that the Casablanca Hotel was not what you were expecting for your stay this past week. I would like to assure you we do take all of our guest’s comments very seriously. We are very grateful for feedback such as yours as it helps guide our decisions in an effort to provide and maintain the highest level of quality in both product and service.

Occasionally, we do hear from guests that they wish there were more tables during peak breakfast hours. For that reason we do revisit the conversation each year looking for options on how to improve the guest experience in this area. During the week you stayed with us, we experienced higher-than-usual occupancy per room due to families traveling together for the holidays. One reason why there is reluctance to convert the tables to restaurant height in Rick’s Café is because it is a multi-purposed public space. In the morning, Rick's Café is used to serve breakfast; however, it’s also a 24/7 lounge area so the style of seating must be designed with the rest of the day in mind. A concern that always comes up when we consider changing the seating arrangement is that we’ll lose the atmosphere and sofa seating which our guests tell us they enjoy the other 22 hours of the day. Currently, Rick’s Café currently has 37 seats with an additional 10 seats in the adjacent Blue Parrot courtyard for the Spring and Summer seasons. Thanks to feedback from previous guests, we’ve recently increased our seating. We will certainly keep your thoughts in mind as we move forward with future ideas to handle the peak 30-45 minutes a day when it can occasionally be challenging to find a table right away. For other travelers considering staying with us, we would like to mention that every guestroom also has a breakfast table and that we’re more than happy to send breakfast up to the room via room service. However, we highly recommend Rick’s Café because it enables our guests to enjoy a sense of international community as they share the experience with travelers from around the world.

Our location next to Times Square offers many wonderful conveniences and delights, but also brings with it some limitations which are important to consider when making your hotel decision. One such consideration is that some of these rooms do not offer views. In comparison to our surrounding Times Square neighbors, we are relatively small in height with just 6 floors. The particular room you stayed in was one of our quietest rooms in the building. Unfortunately, the trade-off for being nestled quietly in the back side of the hotel is that it doesn’t allow for much natural light. We have glazed windows in a few of our rooms, including the one you stayed in, because we believe it’s more aesthetically pleasing than staring at the backside of another building. With that said, we know that sending up extra lamps or installing brighter light bulbs could never equate to natural light; however, please know that it would have been our pleasure to customize your room in any way to increase your overall comfort. Based upon your window remarks, we’re discussing how to more effectively convey to our guests that in every bathroom is second window which can be opened for fresh air. Generally, we suggest opening the window when you step out for the day to increase air circulation, as well as, offering you the opportunity for a more peaceful room upon your return at day’s end. We encourage all of our guests to visit the Casablanca Hotel website for more travel tips and information. In addition, we encourage everyone to view the countless photos provided by actual guests on TripAdvisor so you can see a very realistic view of the Casablanca Hotel and our rooms.

With regards to the shower heads, I do apologize if you experienced low pressure. All of our showers are equipped with oxygenated rain shower heads. These are high pressured products, but I am not sure how they compare to what you may be used to at home. I personally went to your room to investigate the water pressure, and it seems to be working fine now. Unfortunately, I was not made aware of any problems with the shower pressure during your stay or else I would have personally sought out a resolution for you even if it meant purchasing a different shower head for you.

I’m pleased to hear you enjoyed our complimentary continental breakfast and wine and cheese receptions, as well as, our wonderful guest service. We do our best to form personal connections with each guest, and it’s important that we sense whether or not each individual guest would prefer more engagement or more personal space. I apologize if we failed to establish this heartfelt connection with you that we always strive for with all our guests. Most of the time we hit the mark and it’s the reason why we’ve received thousands of five star reviews on TripAdvisor thus far. In the future, we’ll work harder to improve our guest service and use your comments as our inspiration.

I would love to speak with you directly to find out if there was anything else that our staff, including myself, could have done to provide a better service to you and your family. If there is anything else you would like to share with me about your experience, or if I can be of service in any way, I would very much appreciate you contacting me at john@casablancahotel.com or 212-869-1212. Should you return to New York and wish to give one of our sister hotels a try, I would love to help you find something within our hotel collection that would be a better match for your needs based on your comments. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you another time.

Sincerely,

John Taboada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

All I can really add is that every 5 star review here is spot on. We had an excellent stay, the room was great and quiet at the back of the hotel. Room service was done twice a day and the wine/ cheese in the evening was excellent. Fantastic location but quieter than anywhere else in Times Square. Awesome hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are probably quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vicken11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
240 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

We stayed at the Casablanca Hotel to celebrate a special anniversary. The staff ensured that our stay was very special. Everyone we encountered was genuinely warm, friendly and helpful.

We opted to take the limousine service to and from the airport, which the hotel arranged for us. For the convenience and comfort, it was well worth the extra cost over taking a taxi. The room quality at the Casablanca was excellent, as was the complimentary services in the lounge including a great buffet breakfast, 24 hour coffee and cheese & wine each evening.

We had a premium room with king bed - which was beautifully and comfortably furnished. We have previously stayed at the Library Hotel a few blocks away, which is part of the same hotel group and also very good, although we liked the Casablanca Hotel better and the location is so convenient. Overall however, its the service at this hotel is what makes it so good. You won't be disappointed if you stay here. We'll definitely be back.

Room Tip: Premium room with a king bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Foxymerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

This was my first trip to New York and this hotel made the trip experience complete!!
Great service, great location, and great happy hour!!
Cant even explain how great it was! :)
I will defiantly stay here on my next trip.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ruttenlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

My wife and I found real southern hospitality in the middle of New York City at the Casablanca Hotel. Entire staff is excellent. Dining and theater requests were not a problem, the staff was very well informed and made sure we knew where to go and how to get there. Did not want to leave We will stay again. H.S. Tuscaloosa,Alabama

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Our stay at the Casablanca April 11-14, 2014 was wonderful. The staff very friendly and helpful in every way. The morning breakfast and afternoon happy hour was great. We enjoyed having a glass of wine each night before leaving for dinner or a show. We would absolutely stay here again. They made our first trip to NY a great one!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cynthia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,266 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#13 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
#5 of 467 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#16 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection

Property: Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Address: 147 West 43rd Street, New York City, NY 10036-6575
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#2 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#3 Family Hotel in New York City
#7 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the magic of Times Square just steps from our door, and then escape from it all at this oasis of hospitality, The Casablanca Hotel. Guests are welcome to unwind in Rick’s Cafe with complimentary refreshments 24 hours a day, including the Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning, wine and cheese receptions each evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fruit served throughout the day. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and bottled water is provided daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Southall Travel so you can book your Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casablanca Hotel New York City
Casablanca New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing