We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #2 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Aurora, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great stay!”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The staff was friendly. The room was very clean. Complimentary waters in the room and cold water, coffee, tea and snacks available in the 2nd floor lounge area. Perfect spot to stay in the theater district since we were in town for a show. Great continental breakfast in the morning to start our day.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jennifer K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,509 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,677
    660
    107
    39
    26
See reviews for
1,161
2,914
196
303
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (950)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 June 2014

My wife and I returned to the Casablanca Hotel and had a wonderful 3 night stay. All the staff were very friendly, courteous and helpful. We enjoyed the complimentary breakfast, teas and coffees throughout the day and evening cheese and wine reception. This meant we could use the Casablanca as a base for shopping or sightseeing and return for refreshments or relaxation at any point in the day. We had a top floor room which was quiet and although the individual A/C unit was noisy, we didn't need it during the night as the room also had a ceiling fan. Complimentary wifi was a bonus, having been charged previously a high fee at a large chain hotel. We joined a party for dinner in Tony's restaurant next door and enjoyed several pasta and risotto sharing size dishes. Having missed the pre-theatre rush, we ate after 7.30pm, the service was more relaxed.
I thoroughly recommend the Casablanca Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AofLSpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This is an awesome boutique hotel just 50m off Times Square, yet remaining an oasis of relaxation. This location is a great jump off point for all the Manhattan sites. The room we had was great & quiet. The "club room" for breakfast & evening drinks & canapes was fantastic. We will we gong back!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

We started our honeymoon in New york at the Casablanca hotel. Very Nice hotel. Especially the Staff is very friendly and helpfull. The location is right on times square, but we had no problems with noise, very quiet in our room.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Pieterfr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014


Good:
Fantastic location just off Time Square.
Staff went out of their way to be helpful and friendly.

So So:
Rooms/bathrooms are on the small side but this is NYC.
No desk if you need to work (not really a business hotel. I stood out like a sore thumb).

Poor:
Air conditioning sounded like being under a 747 on final approach. I had to switch it off to get any sleep. Fine when the weather is not baking, would have been intolerable in high summer.



Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank Hgrieves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnTaboadaNYC, Manager at Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Hgrieves,

We are so glad you enjoyed our wonderful Times Square location and our kind staff, but we are saddened to hear your comment about the air conditioning noise. We actually just installed a new a/c unit in that room prior to your arrival. We did not have any note that you were having a problem with the A/C; had you mentioned it to anyone when you were here? We did go into the room as soon as we read the review and it seems to have corrected itself, as we did not hear any noise. We are watching it closely. I am so sorry if this disturbed you even for a short time. Just FYI to the other readers here, we do also have a ceiling fan in every room for your comfort in addition to our new air conditioning units.

It is true, we have mostly leisure guests, but our sister hotels have a mix of business and leisure travelers and you can enjoy the same free amenities such as continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi, and complimentary wine and cheese in the evenings, and of course the kind caring staff we are known for, plus, the other hotels do have desks in each room. At this hotel, only our suites have desks but we do have a breakfast table in every room, which can be used as a desk.

I hope you will be so kind to give us another try or allow us to welcome you at one of sister properties in New York. If I may be of service in any way, or if there is anything else you can share with me please feel free to contact me at John@CasablancaHotel.com or 212-201-1150.

Sincerely,

John Taboada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ile-de-France, France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We had selected the Casablanca based upon the many positive reviews, and can only confirm the other opinions.
The hotel is truly an oasis in the heart of New York having a character that makes it stand out from the crowd..
We cannot praise the staff highly enough for their kindness and devotion.
We stayed in one of the mini suites which exceeded our expectations.
The original decoration, the wine and cheese in the afternoon and the excellent WIFI connection deserves a special mention.
Thanks again to all who made our stay memorable and we'll be back!

Room Tip: Try the mini suite if your budget affords it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Homme R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level Contributor
66 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Totally agree with the other reviewers - great boutique hotel. Location couldn't be better - Times Square just a few steps away - yet once in the hotel you wouldn't know it. Rooms are very small and dark, but that is the norm on Manhattan. Staff are very friendly. Simple, but totally adequate, breakfast included as is free wine and cheese in the evening. I wouldn't even consider staying somewhere else now we've discovered this gem!

Room Tip: We chose the mid range room and it was quite small compared with hotels in other cities - i wouldn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gindog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,332 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#10 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#12 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
Financial District
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
#11 of 467 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection

Property: Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Address: 147 West 43rd Street, New York City, NY 10036-6575
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#2 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#3 Family Hotel in New York City
#7 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the magic of Times Square just steps from our door, and then escape from it all at this oasis of hospitality, The Casablanca Hotel. Guests are welcome to unwind in Rick’s Cafe with complimentary refreshments 24 hours a day, including the Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning, wine and cheese receptions each evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fruit served throughout the day. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and bottled water is provided daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casablanca Hotel New York City
Casablanca New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing