We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What's not to love”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #3 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Where to start when looking for somewhere to stay in New York....lots of choice and plenty big name hotels all offering the same plastic and impersonal service. A quick scan of google (hotels near Times Square) was the place to start and up popped this Hotel that stood out from the crowd. A themed hotel based on a classic film. This just had to be investigated, and what an inspiration it turned out to be. Online booking was made very easy, with lots of different options and packages available. The whole process was dealt with very speedily with confirmation via email in an instant. We needed a pick up from the airport, this was sorted in one phonecall and they even phoned a week before our arrival to check everything was ok for our trip.
So imagine the scene, arriving in New York, never been before, total culture shock (That would be Times Square) and we walk into a cool oasis of tranquillity to be greeted by very friendly and helpful reception staff who took the time to explain everything that the Hotel had to offer and also what to expect and ideas on places to go in New York.
The room was as expected and shown on the website, very clean and a good size with everything you could need for your stay.
The whole stay at the Casablanca was brilliant, the staff were friendly, unobtrusive but very helpful should you need something.
Would we stay there again, most definitely. Would we reccommend the Casablanca to anyone travelling to New York, without question.
A wonderful and calm place to stay in the madness that is New York.
Only one small suggestion, there is a need for some sort of cold drinks dispenser, vending machine as there was not a lot of choice in Rick's Cafe when returning hot and thirsty from a day on the town.

Room Tip: Book early for if the word really gets out about this place there will be a long waiting list
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tonyvintner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,803)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,218 - 2,224 of 5,803 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014

Stayed Friday and Saturday nights the end of July 2014. Interestingly, we were in Room 305 (across from the room the previous reviewer complained about). Heard very little noise - possibly because it was the weekend. When settling in for the night, we did hear a siren, and could also hear someone walking by in the hall, but within moments we were fast asleep and no noises disturbed our rest.

The service was outstanding! The staff is friendly and helpful, and the amenities and breakfast at Ric's on the second floor are great!

Like most NY hotels, this is expensive, compared to much of the rest of the country, but it isn't bad by NY standards. Similarly, the room is small, but not for NY.

Room Tip: If you are concerned about the noise, you may want to ask for one not close to the elevators. The de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Scott T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Simply put the location and friendly staff were excellent but if the lack of insulation in room 304 means you hear really well the garbage trucks, sirens and almost everything all night long and will not not get decent sleep! for this reason I can't recommend this hotel or room. To be fair to the manager he accepted my issue and offered me a free night next time I'm in town. He said a hotel of this age this was difficult to solve and a few other things but I'm sad to say I would not return even if it was free. I appreciate I'm out of sync with most reviews here so let's assume it was room 304, or any room on that side of the building, these perhaps are the ones to avoid. I did not want to write this negative review but I'd hate someone to go through this same experience and then get on a long flight already knackered. Ps. I am completely deaf in my left ear so when I say it was noisy I truly mean it.

Room Tip: Don't accept room 304 or perhaps any on that side of the building as it simply way too loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Koatsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnTaboadaNYC, General Manager at Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Koatsey,

We were all saddened to read your review and we are sorry it was not quite quiet enough for you. We apologize that your sleep was disturbed, and I want you to know that we do appreciate that it is very important for us to provide our guests a peaceful stay. We have taken several steps to make our front facing rooms more quiet. Earlier this year, we added insulation to the wall, changed the windows, and replaced the air conditioner with a quieter model. The vast majority of our guests do find the hotel a peaceful oasis, but please keep in mind we are only steps from Times Square and on occasion, a guest, such as yourself can find it difficult to adjust to the hum of the city. It is true that 304 is located on our lowest floor and it indeed faces the street so it is not the best choice for the more sound sensitive guests, but we have many travelers who request the 04 rooms because they prefer a city view and enjoy the extra light the room affords, not to mention the vibrancy of Times Square. Had your stay been longer, we would have been happy to move you to another room the next morning, either within our hotel or to one of our sister hotels. For the guests that let us know that they need a more peaceful environment, we also have rooms that face the back or the courtyard and we would love to have you back to try one of those. If you or any of our other guests have any questions for us on this or any other issue, please feel free to contact me personally, and I will be glad to answer honestly with only your best interests in mind. My email address is John@CasablancaHotel.com or please feel free to call me directly at 212.201.1150. We want to help you choose the ideal hotel for you. I look forward to hearing from you.

Sincerely,

John Taboada
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We stayed at the Casablanca 9th-12th July 2014 on a short break from the UK. The service we received was excellent at all times, including arranging champagne for birthday celebrations. No fuss, just quick and efficient handling of requests.
Our two rooms on 5th and 6th floors were in excellent condition and of a good size for a central hotel in Manhattan.
The hotel is in a street directly off Times Square but is quiet and peaceful.
Best - complimentary breakfast pastries, bagels, cereals, coffee, juice etc and coffee/tea and drinks/nibbles in the evening.
Least - nothing.
Recommended - excellent value for the location and price point.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Whenever I bring family or friends to New York for their first time, this is where we stay. This hotel is simply fabulous and located right in Times Square. From the hospitality to the freebies, this hotel is perfect. The rooms are immaculate with comfort and style. The staff is wonderful, everyone very knowledgeable of the area. The free breakfast, bottled water, and wi-fi make the stay so much more enjoyable.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank MinervaNichole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Staff made us feel very welcome. Cheese and wine was a lovely way to start the evening. The continental breakfast was substantial and had a very good selection which really set us up for the day. If you want a more substantial breakfast for a change, try Good Enough to Eat on the west side of Central Park.

Stepping out of mayhem that is Time Square in to the lobby was like turning the volume off. We have rarely had such a good sleep in a hotel, although we were towards the back of the hotel. We went to four shows and were always five minutes walk away from the theatre. TKTS same day discount tickets is literally round the corner (https://www.tdf.org/nyc/7/TKTS-ticket-booths). We were queuing at 9.30am for the 11.00am opening and were at the front of the queue (you can take it in turns to queue and go back to the hotel in between) - got 50% discount on tickets for the Kinky Boots matinee on Sunday. Had we realised it was so easy we might have used it more. Also great location for shopping.

If leaving the hotel in rush hour, consider booking a private hire. Staff at the hotel are great at getting a yellow taxi, but took more than 10 minutes to flag down during rush hour.

Room Tip: We had a room towards the back of the hotel - couldn't believe it was so quiet so close to Time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank KillieCannings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The location of Casablanca Hotel was perfect. Close to Times Square - which was fun (for a few nights) but central and close to everywhere we wanted to go in New York. The hotel itself is very boutique, quite quirky but like staying in an old fashioned B & B. We hadn't realised that breakfast is free every morning, as are pre-dinner drinks and nibbles, but this made a big difference to value of the stay. On the downside, the room was quite small - but because the breakfast and drinks are served in 'the library' and there's so much else to do in NYC - we didn't spend much time there at all. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We loved the Casablanca and would definitely go back.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room and got one considering the proximity of Times Square. Casablanca staff do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 469 in New York City
1,418 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
#4 of 469 in New York City
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoHo
Crosby Street Hotel
Crosby Street Hotel
#5 of 469 in New York City
788 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 469 in New York City
3,704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection

Address: 147 West 43rd Street, New York City, NY 10036-6575
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#2 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#3 Family Hotel in New York City
#7 Business Hotel in New York City
#28 Best Value Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £194 - £350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the magic of Times Square just steps from our door, and then escape from it all at this oasis of hospitality, The Casablanca Hotel. Guests are welcome to unwind in Rick’s Cafe with complimentary refreshments 24 hours a day, including the Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning, wine and cheese receptions each evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fruit served throughout the day. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and bottled water is provided daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casablanca Hotel New York City
Casablanca New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing