We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #3 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Hattiesburg
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 7 November 2009

From the moment we arrived until we departed the service was exceptional. Everyone was so friendly and helpful. Our room was extremely comfortable, the bed was plush, the bath room was very large. We especially like the delicious snacks and fresh coffee available 24 hours. We were very near great dining, broadway , everything fun. We could not have had a better experience for any price. The only way it could have been better was if we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twinkee51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,700 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,846
    677
    111
    40
    26
See reviews for
1,217
3,019
208
309
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (983)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Preston
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2009

We returned to the Casablanca three years after staying there as a couple for our wedding anniversary. We enjoyed it so much we promised our sons we would take them one day.

Stayed for four lovely nights. The hotels excellent standards and service have been maintained - it was like we'd never been away! Kids (teenagers) enjoyed it too.

There's no need to repeat other reviewers comments regarding the contintental breakfast, free cheese and wine, endless free coffee and biscuits etc - it's all true and most welcome before and after a heavy day's sightseeing.

Our room was fine, we were at the back so it was quieter -last time we were on the front and it did come with some late night and early morning noise -but it is central Manhattan! Don't expect a view though whichever part of the hotel you are in. The location makes up for it though - it is sooo peaceful and relaxing even though it's only a few yards from Times Square.

Overall this is a great small hotel with very good service and friendly staff. Nothing is too much trouble, whether it's sightseeing advice, an umbrella on a rainy day, help with airport transfersetc. We had an issue with the car company that we had booked through the hotel to take us back to JFK . An email to the Casablanca when we got back to the UK and they resolved the problem within 24 hours even though they weren't at fault in any way.

As and when we return to New York, there's only one place we would stay!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pneguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NH
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2009

If you want to be close to the action, and have a clean,QUIET room with service with a genuine friendly attitude, this is for you!
If you want a great view from your window in a cold impersonal sterile cookie cutter chain hotel, look elsewhere,
No, they dont have a bar or restaurant, but you wont go hungry or thirsty at any time. ( see emeneties)
Once you walk out the door, you can fall down,depending on which direction you fall, your in a bar, a restaurant or Times square or all the above.
Within walking distance of all major attractions in NYC, but bring comfortable footwear. Ashphalt and cement do a number on your feet after a day or so.
And bring $$$. It IS NYC! Its not, never has, and never will be CHEAP!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goooden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
1 review
Reviewed 4 November 2009

We got an upgraded room with a queen-sized bed. The room was a comfortable size as was the bathroom. I found the room and the hotel to be clean. The service was outstanding. Breakfast in the morning was excellent and having wine and cheese in the early evenings was very convenient for us. My only complaint? Our room faced the street and a couple of nights we were awakened by construction noise at one of the adjacent buildings. This was our first trip to NYC but we have travelled a fair bit throughout the world. We will definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mac1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castricum
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2009

Considering the fantastic reviews and the unique postion of the hotel near Times Square, we deceided to book 5 nights in this hotel as a start for our 7 week holidays in northeast USA and Canada. When we entered the hotel I must say I was rather disappointed by seeing a very modest lobby and a bit worn interiors. From the photos on the website I expected to see a very elegant hotel but it is definitively not! The disappointment worsened when we entered our (standard) room, situated on a small, dark courtyard where airco's were singing their tune. The room was absolutely very small and so was the bathroom. We had two suitcases but could not find proper room for their storage. The bed was very small, too, which was the worst. I suppose having a room at the front of the hotel has other disadvantages (streetnoise) and besides that, it appeared that no other rooms were available. The plus of this small hotel is its size (small boutique hotel) and it's nice sitting- annex breakfast room. You can watch TV there and there is a computer available for the guests as well. The afternoon glas of wine and cheese is a nice extra and the breakfast (included) was very good. However, looking at the price they charge you for room+breakfast, this is an expensive hotel. I have no experience with other NY hotels and I suppose price/quality in this city is worse than in other cities. I admit this hotel has a splendid position, right nextdoor to Times Square and the size makes it attractive compared to the big touristhotels. However, it has it's price, which, I said it before, is too steep.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tureluur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, England
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2009

I wanted a small boutique hotel in Midtown and after reading the reviews on the Casablanca decided this was the one for me. I was travelling with my teenage daughter and felt that it would be to our advantage to be in a smaller hotel as it was more personal. I was exceptionally pleased with The Casablanca. Our room was on the 5th floor and fortunately for us was on the back of the hotel so we did not experience too much noise. The only downfall is the view was an inner courtyard of airconditioning units but, it was a small price to pay for a bit of respite from the madness of the city. The room was immaculate and we felt of a good size for a city hotel room. All members of staff were very friendly, helpful and courteous and nothing was too much trouble.
Although initially it seemed a bit pricey, when you take into consideration the continental buffet breakfast ,constant flow of tea/coffee 24/7, complimentary cheese and wine in the evenings and the free internet service it actually is worth every penny.
The location is excellent just a couple of hundred yards from Time Sq.
A very warm, friendly and welcoming hotel. And when we return to NYC in the future we will be heading to The Casablanca.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gjlhtkhytmku,
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, NV
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2009

If you are looking for a small quiet centrally located hotel with good prices, this is the place for you. We found the service to be outstanding- the staff was incredibly helpful having a car arranged for us at Newark and also with getting my wife's birthday cake up in her room on our arrival. Then they were nice enough to keep putting it in and taking it out of the fridge for us! When you include all the free perks (breakfast, internet, gym) that a lot of other high price hotels don't include, this place is even more of a gem. The rooms aren't huge, but when we're in NYC, we don't spend a lot of time in our rooms anyhow! Rick's cafe makes for a great area to chill and relax when you do have a few extra minutes

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drewski711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 466 in New York City
1,385 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
#4 of 466 in New York City
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoHo
Crosby Street Hotel
Crosby Street Hotel
#5 of 466 in New York City
774 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#11 of 466 in New York City
3,631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection

Property: Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Address: 147 West 43rd Street, New York City, NY 10036-6575
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#2 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#3 Family Hotel in New York City
#7 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the magic of Times Square just steps from our door, and then escape from it all at this oasis of hospitality, The Casablanca Hotel. Guests are welcome to unwind in Rick’s Cafe with complimentary refreshments 24 hours a day, including the Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning, wine and cheese receptions each evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fruit served throughout the day. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and bottled water is provided daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casablanca Hotel New York City
Casablanca New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing