We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Hotel for a New York Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #3 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The Perfect Hotel for a New York Stay”
Reviewed 11 May 2010

We loved this hotel. We were so impressed by the courtesy and professionalism of the entire staff. The decor and ambience of the hotel is unique and charming. We were celebrating a wedding anniversary, and the hotel upgraded our accommodations to a king (from a deluxe queen) and provided a bottle of sparkling wine in our room on arrival. The complimentary continental breakfasts were nicely done with a wide variety of food choices. The complimentary wine and cheese hour at the end of the day was a wonderful bonus. The hotel is literally steps away from Times Square and, as a result, can be a little noisy at night, so if you are a light sleeper, you might want to ask for a room at the back of the hotel. We were so pleased that we are already planning a return visit! We will never stay anywhere else in New York!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,576 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,735
    668
    108
    39
    26
See reviews for
1,179
2,950
200
307
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (960)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 10 May 2010

We recently spent 5 nights/6 days at the Casablanca and found that it was pretty much exactly what was promised -- and I do mean that in a positive way. However, it is important that anyone considering staying at this hotel understands that it isn't for everyone.

Plusses
As other travellers have noted, the staff at the Casablanca is outstanding. This is indeed a very friendly and welcoming place, where everyone from the front desk staff, to the manager, to the chamber maids are dedicated to making your stay comfortable, and attending to any need you may have. The fact the the hotel is very small, with only 48 rooms, helps create a very intimate feeling -- more like a B&B than a big city, bustling hotel. I understand that the Casablanca, along with its sister hotels that include The Library and the Giraffe, are run by a family, and it shows.

The focal point of the hotel is Rick's Cafe on the second floor. Everyone gathers here for the continental breakfast, the wine & cheese in the evening, to use the computer, or just to hang out and read the New York Times. There are refreshments there all day long, including expresso, capuccino, cookies, and more. For some guests, it really cuts down on expenses, since it's all complimentary. At the same time, it's important to note that there is no other service -- no bar, no restaurant -- so for example, if you want a beer you're out of luck. Room service is available from Tony's restaurant, which adjoins the hotel, but there's really nowhere in the rooms to dine comfortably. All the same, given the small size of the rooms, Rick's is a very important ingredient of the Casablanca's success, as it is always open and welcoming. Despite being well used by all guests, it never got overcrowded and we were always able to find a seat -- sometimes on our own, sometimes joining another couple.

To us, the location was a plus, despite our initial reservations about staying right in (or next to) Times Square. The foot traffic in Times Square is extreme at all times, but once you're in the hotel it is pretty calm and quiet. You won't get great views, as the building is small -- in fact our room faced an inner alleyway, so our view was of fire escapes. But, on the plus side we weren't really bothered much by car traffic or outside noise. Having said that, don't expect the room to be totally sound proof. Getting to and from the hotel by cab can be a problem, due to the congestion, but for people walking or using the subway, it is ideally located. It is perfect for Broadway theaters, and pretty much dead centre between Central Park on the north, and Greenwich Village/Soho/Chinatown on the south.

Minusses
The size of the rooms is only a minus if you need space -- for example I wouldn't choose this hotel for a family with small children. (We had a King room, 225 sq. feet incl. the bathroom - and that was slightly bigger than rooms with Queen beds). The bathrooms are actually the highlight of the room -- quite spacious and elegantly detailed. By contrast, the living area of the rooms is pretty basic with rattan furniture (what little there is of it), and comfortable beds with great linens. A big downside for me was the old, noisy window air conditioning unit. There is really no circulation, despite the ceiling fan, leaving one no choice but to run the A/C all the time, if for no other reason than to bring in fresh air. As mentioned, there was minimal outside noise (when the air conditioner wasn't blaring), but we weren't bothered at all by noise coming from other rooms.

My only other caveat, as already noted, is the lack of food service, bar, spa, fitness facility, or other "typical" city hotel amenities. Again, not necessarily a negative, as long as you are OK with it, as there are plenty of other options.

In summary, we found the Casablanca to be great value. Most of the other guests, like ourselves, knowing what to expect (and what not to expect) were very happy with the staff, the homey feel and the experience at Rick's. Many people we met were repeat customers, which speaks for itself.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sugarss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2010

When planning my trip to New York, I had read reviews about Hotel Casablanca on Tripadvisor and was really tempted to book, but I went with another friend's suggestion of Hotwire.........on arriving in New York, I checked into my hotel with Hotwire and although it was clean etc., I just did not feel comfortable and contacted the previous hotel I'd stayed in, but they had no vacancies. So I thought I'd should just make the best of it. Whilst enjoying a glass of wine in MOMA that evening, I looked through my old 2007 New York guidebook, and there was Hotel Casablanca. I called them and Jeffrey could not have been more helpful and kind to me - it was like he rescued me from an OK New York experience and elevated it to a fantastic experience. They had availability and without much ado, I booked in. The room(s) were very comfortable. Quiet - extremely comfortable bed, I would not have known I was by Times Square, the silence was great for a good sleep, very clean, spacious. Ricks provided an excellent breakfast - a continental self service but there were staff on hand to help out where needed. An PC with internet connection available at all hours in Ricks. Coffee and biscuits/cakes were available all the time. In the evenings apart from Sunday, they offered wine and cheese and on Friday, they had a pianist to entertain us.
As a solo traveller, I found the location to be perfect. There are plenty of places to eat round and about the area.
I would definitely consider returning here again in the future. I would like to thank Jeffrey and his colleagues for making my stay in New York so much more enjoyable, for being able to stay at their great hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdinburghGazelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corona, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 May 2010

As the name implies, this hotel is themed after the movie Casablanca but not in a kitschy way. The staff was attentive and very courteous. Our room was very small, but comfortable. The location was great, just a short few-minute walk to Times Square. The continental breakfast was not bad; they did offer fresh fruit and juice as well as typical cereals and pastries.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeAndColleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 May 2010

Great hotel - lovely bedroom clean and tidy - staff always courteous and attentive. Location superb - less than a minute from pedestrian end of Times Square - must be good soundproofing as never disturbed by outside noise. Good location for walking to sights or taking a bus. Impressed by Rick's cafe - liked being able to obtain drinks and cakes at any time. Liked even more the wine and cheese get-togethers each evening! We have no negative comments to make.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverwijk, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2010

TripAdvisor reviews made me choose this hotel, everything i've read was true!
What a great place! Great value for money!

Looking for great location? great Service?

Choose this hotel! You won't regret!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaartenW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brazil
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2010

My wife and I stayed at this hotel during the last week of April 2010 and we liked a lot!
The staff is extremely kind and atencious, mainly Hassam and Samuel that are always available to help you, give infos and wish a good day and/or a welcome back.
The location can't be better, Times Square is your neighbor, subway station very close, and with few minutes walking you can reach all the main streets, avenues and attractions.
Our suite (bedroom and bathroom) was excelent, as all other hotel's dependencies, very cozy, well organized and very good taste decoration, always very clean, sofisticated and beautful.
The breakfast buffet is very good, a lot of variety of coffe kinds, teas, cereals, yogurts and breads, great fresh fruit salad, really delicious.
The wine and cheese (nuts, cookies, popcorn) offered every afternoon is also great, and the breakfast/wine and cheese staff is also very kind and atencious.
The only point a little (please understand, really a little) down to us, and maybe also to some other "not so much sofisticated guests" like us, is the few ordinary tables and chairs available at the breakfast area.
We guess we completely understood the idea of the sofisticated and beautiful decoration, where some ordinary tables and chairs were replaced by very confortable sofas and glass low tables, but as we aren't used to have breakfast this way, we always were having some fruit salad and drinking some juice, during a couple of minutes, until we could really use a table and chair set to feel more home and have our breakfast properly on our own way.
We thank everybody at Casablanca for the hospitality and very good service, even more during our wedding aniversary week we spent at NY, it was really magical.
By the way, Tony's the Italian restaurant next door (or use the "secret direct access", like us) is also amazing! The salads, pastas and meats are incredible, delicious and very very very well served!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ginger_Up
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#2 of 468 in New York City
1,353 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 468 in New York City
3,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#13 of 468 in New York City
931 reviews
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection

Property: Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Address: 147 West 43rd Street, New York City, NY 10036-6575
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#2 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#3 Family Hotel in New York City
#7 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the magic of Times Square just steps from our door, and then escape from it all at this oasis of hospitality, The Casablanca Hotel. Guests are welcome to unwind in Rick’s Cafe with complimentary refreshments 24 hours a day, including the Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning, wine and cheese receptions each evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fruit served throughout the day. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and bottled water is provided daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casablanca Hotel New York City
Casablanca New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing