We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Place for my Husband's 60th Birthday!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #3 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 May 2010

I'm not sure what more I can say that hasn't already been said in previous reviews....but I'll try!! The trip was a 60th brithday surprise for my husband and I had chosen the hotel from Tripadvisor based on it's theme and the reviews.The rooms, though a little small, are well decorated and spotless. The staff are all( and I mean ALL) friendly and helpful. We probably have even more to praise, as we were advised upon check in that we were upgraded to a "King" room.What a lovely surprise! The continental breakfast is much more than the usual you would get...the buffet including hard boiled eggs,fresh fruit salad,pastries,bagels,bread(could be toasted),cereals,etc.etc. We very quickly became addicted to the wine and cheese offered every evening! It is perfectly situated for the theatres and access to several subway entrances.Next time we head to New York we wouldn't stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveljunkie088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,835)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,367 - 4,373 of 5,835 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2010

The Casablanca was great! We spent 5 nights there and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The location is excellent, we walked and subwayed everywhere using a cab only once...to get to the airport. The staff were terrific, nothing was too difficult and they often went beyond the call of duty to be of assistance. I require a gluten free diet and after breakfast on the third morning I asked if it would be possible to get in some gluten free bread for me. Sure enough the next morning I was offered GF bagels and muffins...I was very impressed!! The breakfast is wonderful anyway and so is the complimentary cheese and wine that is on offer daily in Rick's Cafe. Rick's is a comfy, intimate lounge/dining area, with free access to a computer, newspapers, big screen TV and a good spot to chat with fellow travellers.
If in New York again, we shall return!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chilly063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2010

I have been to NYC about 4 times but I haven't enjoyed as much fun as this time!
Its location is the way too good to walk around the middle of Manhattan anytime you like.

Also, like others say, the staff were very helpful and friendly.Here's one of memories I had by staying at Casablanca. On the last day me and my gf wanted to have a dinner with a beautiful night view, I asked the concierge what they would recommend in NYC but the restaurant the staff called was totally booked. He said he would keep searching it while we are hanging out and would call at my cell when he finds somewhere else.

When we were in Staten Island he gave me a call, told me that he booked a restaurant for us, and gave me a detailed directions to the restaurant . After we came back to the hotel from the restaurant, I found an envelope on the table. He left a printout of the restaurant's website in case that we would come back to the hotel before dinner.

I've never seen a hotel staff this considerate, and I hope i will come back to Casablanca in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eveseyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2010

The hotel is located directly next to Times Square, subway station is in 1 min, the hotel staff is extremly friendly and help you in whatever you need! Perfect

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martina1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2010

Great staff, great location, great place to stay on a family, couple holiday.

The staff we fantasic, nothing was too much trouble and the advice on dinning etc was always great.
Always returned from a day out to their great happy hour where the staff and other guests were enjoying their great selection of red, white wine and Italian champagne.
Raphaela, Julian, Peter and all the staff were absolutely lovely , helpful and very friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mimmie26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2010

Great central location for travelling all over Manhattan and easily accessible from the airport via public transport. The room was spotless and well appointed and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Great bonus having a real relaxing lounge area and coffee and cakes available all day, as you can pop back to refresh yourself during a busy day out. Evening wine and cakes also a lovely option, although the tempatation is to over-indulge and have no room left for an evening meal! Nice little touches like internet access and printer for on-line check-in. The city centre location is inevitably noisy, despite double glazing, so light sleepers might want to bring earplugs.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AyJay70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2010

We loved this hotel. We were so impressed by the courtesy and professionalism of the entire staff. The decor and ambience of the hotel is unique and charming. We were celebrating a wedding anniversary, and the hotel upgraded our accommodations to a king (from a deluxe queen) and provided a bottle of sparkling wine in our room on arrival. The complimentary continental breakfasts were nicely done with a wide variety of food choices. The complimentary wine and cheese hour at the end of the day was a wonderful bonus. The hotel is literally steps away from Times Square and, as a result, can be a little noisy at night, so if you are a light sleeper, you might want to ask for a room at the back of the hotel. We were so pleased that we are already planning a return visit! We will never stay anywhere else in New York!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#2 of 469 in New York City
1,426 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
#5 of 469 in New York City
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#138 of 469 in New York City
7,332 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 469 in New York City
3,745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection

Address: 147 West 43rd Street, New York City, NY 10036-6575
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#2 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#3 Family Hotel in New York City
#7 Business Hotel in New York City
#24 Best Value Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £187 - £339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the magic of Times Square just steps from our door, and then escape from it all at this oasis of hospitality, The Casablanca Hotel. Guests are welcome to unwind in Rick’s Cafe with complimentary refreshments 24 hours a day, including the Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning, wine and cheese receptions each evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fruit served throughout the day. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and bottled water is provided daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casablanca Hotel New York City
Casablanca New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing