We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great & Historic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #2 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great & Historic”
Reviewed 23 May 2010

A clasic experience in hospitality. Great service with attention to every detail. Close to attractions and transportation.

Stayed May 2007, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank hospexp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,506 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,676
    658
    107
    39
    26
See reviews for
1,161
2,911
196
303
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (947)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Sussex
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2010

We stayed for 4 nights at this lovely Hotel, I had arranged a stay in New York on a stop over stay from Las Vegas as my wife had always wanted to visit New York, and was part of her Birthday treat.

I had informed the Casablanca about my wife’s Birthday and when we arrived and walked into our room we were greeted with Balloons and Champagne which was a lovely surprise.

We had booked this hotel after searching many Hotels in New York. This was after being totally confused after reading and changing our minds each time we read other peoples experiences on trip advisor, of other hotels and their experiences.

We then came across the Casablanca and the write ups were all very positive. The reviews were so good that we had slight concerns that we may be disappointed. However, this was not the case and our trip was made all the more special by staying in this great Hotel.

We had booked a Mini Suite which was lovely, our room was very clean and comfortable, the towels were changed twice a day, and the maid service was exceptional.

Our room was situated on the 6 floor at the front of the hotel; we had no problems with noise, even though we were only steps away from Time Square.

All that everyone writes about the afternoon Cheese and Wine and the all day Tea and Coffee with Pastries is a lovely treat after walking the streets of New York. We enjoyed the atmosphere in Ricks Café, and the conversations we had with various people each afternoon.

The staffs are very attentive and are always trying to please, for example, we had booked a Harbour Lights Cruise from pier 83 (which we highly recommend) and we were not sure if we could walk to this in time. The concierge said we would hail a cab for us. It was a very busy time and two of the reception staff were each end of 43rd Street trying to obtain a cab for us and were communicating with each other by radio, how great is that.

We can’t wait to return to New York and we will be staying at the Casablanca again. If you are in any doubt where to stay, you could not find a better Hotel than this.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BJKEastSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2010

What a beautiful hotel. Staff are great. Service is great. Rooms are very comfortable.
Breakfast is excellent - in very pleasant surroundings. When you are in the hotel it is hard to believe you are in Times Square, it's so peaceful. But you step out - and you are in the busiest place ever. Would definitely recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rainbowcymraeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hendersonville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2010

The hotel is less than a block from Times Square and all of it's hustle and bustle.
The service is exceptional. The staff attitude is that they are pleased that you are a guest and that they are eager to make sure that your stay is a pleasant one.
The room was smaller than what I would usually expect but, it was well furnished.
The breakfast buffet and the all day snacks were very good.
I would definitely recommend the Casablanca to friends

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gene6066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 May 2010

We arrived before check in and were offered coffee etc in Ricks Bar while the room was being prepared.
It was my birthday treat so the staff arranged for a bottle of bubbly in the room - very nice
The trip had been rearranged due to the dust cloud affecting the flights, and the whole rearrangement process was excellent with no question of our ability to change dates.
The room was small but then it was New York, very close to Times Square and very nicely furnished and equipped.
Ricks Bar was good for breakfast - coffee, juice, fruit, pastries etc etc and of significant value all things considered (as were the fruit, cookies and coffee tea throughout the day and wine/cheese in the early evening) considering the hotel was full it never seemed too busy and was a great place to sit for a few minutes whilst planning the next foray into the shops etc!!!!
Best thing for me was the service of the front of house staff, and there was absolutely nothing wrong with the whole experience.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank biggustimmus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 18 May 2010

I was surprised at how close the hotel was to Times Square and the Broadway district, yet it was so quiet! An oasis at the end of the night. Friendly, helpful staff, and a lovely continental breakfast buffet and a nightly wine and cheese party. Loved it!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conway, South Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 18 May 2010

For my girlfriend and I, this was our first trip to NYC, so we were a little apprehensive about our hotel and negotiating the City. All that went away as soon as we checked in. The staff were extremely welcoming and helpful. In particular Jeffrey and Hasan really went out of their way for us (cheers for the bottle of wine, Hasan).
The added benefit of the breakfast, wine bar, and espresso machine made this hotel an believable bargain.
I highly recommend this hotel for anyone looking to have a good time in NYC.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,331 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#10 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#13 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
Financial District
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
#11 of 467 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection

Property: Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Address: 147 West 43rd Street, New York City, NY 10036-6575
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#2 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#3 Family Hotel in New York City
#7 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the magic of Times Square just steps from our door, and then escape from it all at this oasis of hospitality, The Casablanca Hotel. Guests are welcome to unwind in Rick’s Cafe with complimentary refreshments 24 hours a day, including the Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning, wine and cheese receptions each evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fruit served throughout the day. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and bottled water is provided daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casablanca Hotel New York City
Casablanca New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing