We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #2 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
uk
1 review
“excellent hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2010

I never write a review on hotels even the 5* hotels I stay in Dubai - but this hotel was also in the same class for a number of reasons - If went back to New York I would always stay in this hotel you would not get a better hotel - its excellent value for money

If you pick this hotel you will not be disappointed !!!!!!

Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank everton123uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,374 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,560
    644
    105
    39
    26
See reviews for
1,129
2,839
190
296
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (916)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2010

Coming from the midwest we did not know where to stay and a friend suggested the Casablanca Hotel. The location was perfect. I flew off the USS Intrepid in Vietnam and wanted to see the old gal for her 67th birthday. We also wanted a location near Times Square and the ship. On check in we were treated by staff as if we had stayed there many times. All staff were gracious hosts. Our stay was perfect and when we return to New York we will stay at the Casablanca. My wife is already planning a trip with our daughter to take in some shows.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kctravelers39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdeleGutman, VP Sales & Marketing HKHotels at Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection, responded to this review, 20 August 2010
From the bottom of our hearts, we thank you for your service. Thank you for the movie reference; we loved it! Most of all, thank you, your family and all or our guests for being a part of the Casablanca Hotel/ HKHotels family. We love being in hospitality and we are always moved beyond words by all the kind comments and the privilege of being able to welcome so many wonderful people from around the country and around the world to what we like to think of as a home away from home. We look forward to welcoming you back to your new york home. - Adele and everyone at the Casablanca Times Square.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2010

My partner and I visited the Casablanca Hotel and found the staff to be really friendly and keen to help. On a couple of occasions, we asked for advice on how best to get around or to get somewhere and staff were more than happy to give directions and recommendations. The room was comfortable and clean. The breakfast service and complimentary cheese and wine each afternoon was nice to come back to after a day of sightseeing. It's in an excellent location just off Times Square, but surprisingly very quiet and comfortable sleep. We will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mwightman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2010

First time I have ever bothered to comment on a hotel but this hotel realy is the nicest my wife and I have ever stayed at.
Lovely room and bathroom totally quiet which is hard to beleive as room is a stones throw from Times Square , The staff could not be more helpfull from manager to cleaning staff, we were recomended the hotel by friends and they were so right it is realy the best.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kb143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint John, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2010

This was our first time in NYC and we wanted to stay close to Times Square. This hotel was top notch. Front desk was very helpful throughout our stay as we were constanly asking for directions and best ways to get to...

Rooms were well cared for. Older hotel and a bit cramped for space, but it is Times Square and it was to be expected.

The lounge downstairs for refreshments and wine and cheese was a very nice touch. Always had a server and lots of "stock"

It made our first trip to NYC very comfortable and enjoyable.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Staalers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, England
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2010

We stayed 3 nights and were really pleased with the hotel. We had 2 rooms, ours was on the inside of the bulding and our daughter's was on the outside. There were complimentary shower gels, soaps, shower caps, shampoos and moisturisers in the bathrooms and slippers and dressing gowns in ourt rooms. The air conditioning was rather noisy outside our window as all the air conditioning units were on the roofs there. The glass was frosted so we weren't looking at them and they weren't a problem otherwise. (We switched our air-con off overnight and it was much quieter.)
The staff were all very helpful and polite and everywhere was kept clean.
Breakfast was plentiful and we could eat as much as we wanted. It consisted of cookies, breads, fresh fruit, cereals, bagels, cream cheese, fruit juices and a variety of coffees and teas. During the day, fruit, coffee, tea and cakes were left out and replenished regularly. In the early evening, fruit, biscuits, cheeses, wine, coffee and teas were available and regularly topped up.
A computer and printer were available with access to the Internet at all times. The location of the Hotel, just half a minute's walk from Times Square, was excellent.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ho11ie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le Noirmont, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2010

Our family spent 14 days in NYC in the Casablanca Hotel this summer and we were really delighted to be there. All the staff was just wonderful, helpful. They helped us making a reservation to watch a baseball game for example or everytime you come out of the hotel (or when you come in) the say a word to you: it's an atmosphere that is really peaceful, respectful and not anonymous at all. We are Swiss and we are used to cleanness which was really good in this hotel. The room was big enough, very quiet (except maybe the clim outside), we had a mini suite on the 6th-floor (2 adults, 3 children aged 14, 10 and 4). The situation is perfect: you get out of the hotel and in 30 seconds you're in Times Square... The cheese and wine was really appreciated (especially by children who were hungry after a 5 or 6 hour walk...) and the waitresses were very nice.
One last word: if you go to NY, go to the Casablanca Hotel!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank veyen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,263 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#13 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
#5 of 467 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#16 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection

Property: Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Address: 147 West 43rd Street, New York City, NY 10036-6575
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#2 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#3 Family Hotel in New York City
#7 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the magic of Times Square just steps from our door, and then escape from it all at this oasis of hospitality, The Casablanca Hotel. Guests are welcome to unwind in Rick’s Cafe with complimentary refreshments 24 hours a day, including the Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning, wine and cheese receptions each evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fruit served throughout the day. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and bottled water is provided daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casablanca Hotel New York City
Casablanca New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing