We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel we have ever experienced!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #2 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 October 2010

Anybody who stays at this hotel and does not enjoy the experience has an issue with life.

Great location, walk out the door and you are virtually in Time Square. As such you are in the heart of New York.

Nothing is a problem for the staff at Casablanca. Little wonder they have the number 1 rating on Trip Advisor

We had a Premium Room with King Size Bed that was tastefully furnished and very comfortable. The bathroom was fantastic.

The healthy continental style breakfast at Rick's Cafe was great and made all the better as a result of the friendly service provided by the two young ladies working there. I am normally keen to have a fully cooked breakfast when on holidays, but Casablanca's presentation of fresh fruit, bagels, cereal, yogurt, juice etc etc more than satisfied my breakfast needs and has nearly converted me to a healthier breakfast regime.

Happy hour at Rick's Cafe from 1700 to 2000 was fantastic. It is an opportunity to meet other guests, share a wine and nibbles and generally relax after hard day exploring the wonders of New York or as a prelude to attending one of the many shows that are in very close proximity to the Casablanca.

We stayed at the Casablanca for 5 nights and could not fault any aspect of the hotel. It was a wonderful experience and we will be back.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Muggsy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,930)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,285 - 4,291 of 5,930 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2010

Expensive...yes, worth it yes. It was a great stay at the Casablanca. I know now why it is ranked #1 out of all the NYC hotels. Thanks for a wonderful time!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dadofEandL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2010

Like most all other reviews say... Superior 3 star hotel, clean, great staff, updated, great bed, pillows, towels, great location. When looking at pricing, keep in mind free breakfasts, rolls and coffee all day, free wine and cheese in the evening. Excellent value. Stayed 4 nights and will be the place we stay in NY from now on...

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cpetemn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2010

My best friend and I stayed at the Casablanca for four nights, the hotel was recommended by friends who has stayed there a year ago, what a great choice!

From the minute you walk through the door, the service is warm and friendly, the staff on the front desk cannot do enough to help you, from assisting you with subway and walking routes to booking Helicopter tours. Our room was a deluxe twin bedded room, which was a great size, the bathroom was fabulous too, with a great shower and also a great size for New York Hotel standards. The only down side is the air conditioning units outside are slighty noisy, but compared to the loud buzz of the city (which you cannot hear) it is a minor complaint.

The breakfast, coffee, tea, pastries and evening wine and cheese are included in the price and well worth it as it is all delicious, the hotel staff on duty are again, helpful and cannot do enough for you.

This was a repeat trip to the Big Apple ffor myself and the first for my friend, we will definately return and stay at the Casblanca or one of the sister properties.

Don't forget to visit Tony's restaurant next door, a great place to eat with delicious Italiian dishes, designed to share, with great service.

Many thanks to Vinny and Raymond on the front desk for making the trip so easy !

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VBurts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2010

Just returned from a week at the Casablanca and can't say enough good things about our stay !! It is absolutely fabulous !! It is like being in your own home. It is just steps from Times Square and Broadway. The location couldn't have been better. Coming back to the hotel at the end of a long and fun day was like returning to an oasis in the middle of NYC. The rooms are spacious and spotlessly clean. Fresh sheets and towels every day ! Breakfast and Happy Hour are a real bonus and a great way to meet other guests. The staff are exceptional. We loved the Casablanca and if we are lucky enough to return to NYC we will definitely stay there again. Hi to everyone on staff, especially the "girls" in Rick's Cafe !!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VancouverIslandAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2010

Stayed six nights with my partner and teen, and picked this hotel based on its excellent TA reviews and availability of a suite for the three of us. This hotel is chic, understated and spotlessly clean, the rooms were surprisingly spacious and the bathroom positively roomy compared to most hotels. At all times staff were courteous and attentive without being in any way overbearing. Ricks Cafe is a great amenity, we used it every day for great breakfast and to relax with a tea or coffee when we returned from our day and evening activities.

There were a few niggles, our room faced into the street and it would have been very noisy had we not come prepared with earplugs (we had read previous reviews and decided not to leave it to chance!). The rooms are quite dark, in fact we couldnt see the sky at all from ours! Also the computer in Ricks Cafe is a great and thoughtful idea but we found it difficult to use most times, unfortunately some guests seemed to be using it like a work or home PC. A politely worded sign asking guests to limit their use to 10 or 15 minutes at busy times would definately help. There is free WiFi in rooms after all. We didnt actually like being situated so close to Times Sq in the end, but thats personal preference and nothing to do with the hotel.

These are very minor points, and overall the Casablanca Hotel was one of the best we have stayed in, not the most luxurious or pricey, but the most welcoming with many home comforts. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank weemoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2010

Casablanca was EVERYTHING we expected and more. The hotel staff were friendly and extremely helpful. The breakfast (including gluten free bread & cereal for us Celiac's!) was fresh and plentiful. The coffee was excellent. The evening wine & cheese was also much more than we expected. It was a great way to relax at the end of our busy day before we hit the town for the night. The rooms were elegant but small (we were in a single gueen room with a tub), hanger space was limited. Bath amentities were very nice except for the toilet paper - single ply! The location was perfect. We walked in different directions every day and night. Just around the corner from NASDAQ, it seemed to be the centre of everywhere we wanted to go. We are definitely going back to NYC soon and will either stay at Casablanca or try one of their sister hotels.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan210662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Crowne Plaza HY36 Midtown Manhattan
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 471 in New York City
1,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Chinatown
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
#7 of 471 in New York City
655 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 471 in New York City
3,825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection

Address: 147 West 43rd Street, New York City, NY 10036-6575
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#2 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#7 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £158 - £304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the magic of Times Square just steps from our door, and then escape from it all at this oasis of hospitality, The Casablanca Hotel. Guests are welcome to unwind in Rick’s Cafe with complimentary refreshments 24 hours a day, including the Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning, wine and cheese receptions each evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fruit served throughout the day. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and bottled water is provided daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casablanca Hotel New York City
Casablanca New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing