We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Service, Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #2 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Memphis
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Service, Location”
Reviewed 7 December 2010

Booked this hotel upon a recommendation from a friend who had stayed there. Was in the city to do some Christmas shopping, touring and theater.
Pro's -
Staff... The owners should give everyone who works there a raise, cordial, friendly, professional, helpful, and it didn't seem forced or "just doing their job". Everyone appeared to be genuinely happy and eager to help in anyway they could (rare these days).
Location... Right in the heart of Times Square on a side street, but you would never know it. Once inside, the hustle and bustle was gone. Cabs, Subway, everything was easy to get to from this location.
Free Breakfast and Evening Reception... Rooms might be a little expensive, but these two amenities more than make up for it. The continental breakfast is very extensive, much more so then the usual juice, coffee and croissants. The evening reception will make you cancel your dinner reservations! All the champagne, wine, veggies, cheese, crackers, fruit, pastries and more! The ladies that work this reception are exceptionally accommodating, you never have to leave your comfy seat to get a refill! I wish they had a tip jar because they deserve one.
Cleanliness... They keep the place absolutely spotless! From rooms to public areas.
Size... I would consider this a Boutique Hotel. Not sure of how many rooms it has, but it has that small hotel feel. When you stay there for more than a day, you get to know your neighbors and it's easy to strike up a conversation with fellow travelers from all over the world.
Ambiance... Warm woods, casual furniture, themed to the "Casablanca" movie which is nice. Very comfortable and inviting.

Con's-
HVAC... Could never get comfortable temp wise. Even with heat turned all the way up all day, room was still cold. Then one night, it was too hot, even with the window open and the ac on. Management definitely needs to update HVAC system. Even in the public areas it was not warm and toasty after a chilly day of shopping and sight seeing. Would have been nice if the fire place in the lounge area was actually turned on.
Price... I booked a room for myself and friend who was meeting me in the city. My room was much more expensive than my friends but upon seeing her's, it was basically the same as mine if not better. Then I checked out an empty room that was close to mine, double beds, and it still wasn't much bigger than mine. My advise, don't pay extra for what they call the better rooms, they all are pretty much the same.
No fridge... They had the standard "mini bar" sensor set up, but the system was down when I was there and if I wanted a 5.00 water, I had to call the desk for it. Which I didn't of course, but I generally don't like that type mini bar system. I would much prefer a little fridge to store my own stuff, but that's just me.
Location... I know I mentioned this as a Pro, but I did have a problem with cabs at times. Especially on the weekend, cabs hate to get caught in the Times Square traffic, so many would refuse to take us to the hotel. Here is the secret... supposedly, it is against the law for a cab to refuse a fair based on location. Soooo... don't do the the roll down window, and tell them where you want to go. Open the door, get your butt in the back seat and give them address. They can't kick you out once you are in the cab. :) Just don't say Times Square, give them the hotel address.

Hope this helps, I would definitely go back to this hotel, just maybe not in the winter.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trebor1802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,513 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,681
    660
    107
    39
    26
See reviews for
1,163
2,914
197
303
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (950)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2010

I've been to New York City a few times before, and this was my first time at the Casablanca. I chose this hotel due to its excellent location, and due to the rave reviews on Trip Advisor.

I'm pleased to say that those reviews were spot on. This is a wonderful hotel - perfectly placed in the heart of midtown Manhattan, but so quiet and peaceful. Obviously, you will hear traffic noises and the buzz of Times Square nearby, but you soon get used to this. The room is a decent enough size for NYC, the bed is extremely comfortable (I had a perfect 8 or 9 hours uninterrupted sleep every night) and everywhere in the hotel is spotlessly clean.

There is coffee, tea, soft drinks and cookies available 24/7, and the free breakfasts every morning are very much appreciated. As you are on the edge of Times Square, there is also a huge choice of diners, restaurants and bars right on your doorstep (I went to the Brooklyn Diner next door on my first night and had a delicious 'lasagne pie'!).

The staff are very friendly and helpful - as I've been to NYC a few times, I didn't need much help on things to do and see, but I'm sure the concergies would have been excellent guides. The ladies helping in Rick's Cafe are always friendly and greet you with a smile, and even the cleaning staff always say hello and ask how your day is going.

The free wi-fi is also very welcome, enabling me to plan my day more accurately, and it is fast and very reliable.

I've never stayed at the same hotel twice, but I would be tempted to return to the Casablanca. Quite simply, there are no flaws here whatsoever.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John_M44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 7 December 2010

Customer service is by far the hotel's signature. Everyone is very friendly, welcoming, helpful and accomodating. The rooms are small but one doesn't go to NY to spend time in a hotel room. Besides, they have a great common area with a fireplace and refreshments available throughtout the day which is really nice. Their continental breakfast (included in the price) is really very good, and they serve some of the best coffee. Complimentary wine & cheese in the evening is another really nice bonus included with the room. One can't beat the hotel's location either - in the heart of Manhatten, close to everything. For the price, it is a GREAT value. I will definitely choose to stay there again whenever in NY.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VK2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, Maine
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2010

The furniture in the suite could use some updating, but this place is clean, clean, clean! I used to travel for a living, and know where to look to see if they surface clean rooms, (which many places do), or REALLY clean them.

The continental breakfast is very good, and the staff very helpful. My only complaint would be that there is no coffee maker in the rooms, but the staff will bring coffee to your room if you call them.

The location is great, and there are two very good restaurants next door.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaineFreqntTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
1,415 reviews
187 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 604 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2010

The numerous reviews praising Casablanca are based on facts and can’t be controverter. I had a pleasant stay for five nights and I got to love the Casablanca for several reasons. One has to think hard to find chinks in Casablanca’s armour. Here is my bit to help them change gears and move up in the scale of excellence…
1.Check in was a breeze but I was disturbed when they could not give me the room I booked for the first day. They tried to compensate by tossing in a free Champagne. Nice gesture.
2. Rick’s snack room was warm and cosy and I looked forward to touching base with other hotel guests here. However, over the five days that I stayed, I found that the food never changed even one bit. Predictable. Even the wine was of the same brand on all the days.
3. Surprisingly the rooms have bulky TVs from the old world which is very surprising. This assumes significance since the rooms are small and the TV and the cabinet take up precious space.See picture.
4. The rooms are surprisingly small for USD 500+ a night.
5. I noticed that the average age group of guests in the Hotel was 60+. Don’t know why .
6. The noise of trucks loading/unloading through out the night was sleep challenging.

All of the above are no match for the superb location and loving staff of the Hotel. Peter of the front desk made me feel so wanted and did favours for me without any fuss.

Times square is about 50 feet from the hotel and all the action is around the hotel. Loved the Casablanca

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SagarVS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chennI
Level Contributor
680 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2010

You just step out and you are in Times Square, Broadway and most of the shows are just walking distance.What more would you want. Excellent , cheerful and helpful staff. The free wine and cheese lounge was really good to relax before the night out. In fact you can walk into the lounge any time of the day/night and beverages and small bites are available. Felt the rooms were very Parisian in size for the price you pay.. but the over all experience would make you go back. Also very good restaurants nearby not really touristy considering the location..

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vidhusagar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2010

They make you feel like if you are at home.It is a very nice boutique hotel.All the positive comments that you read about are true.We have traveled quite a bit lately and even if New York is more expensive than most european cities if you want a treat and be right in the middle of the action,the Casablanca hotel is the place to go.The rooms are small but big enough to fit your needs and if you want more space,you are always welcome in Rick cafe.It is a very warm atmosphere .We were very surprised to be so close of Times square and not being disturbed by the noise from outside.It is not the Corinthia in Budapest,it is not the hotel Muguet in Paris,it is not the hotel General in Prague but it is a nice mixture of all those great places.For an european atmosphere in one of the most interesting city in the world,you will enjoy your stay at the Casablanca hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank montreal011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,333 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#10 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#12 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
Financial District
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
#11 of 467 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection

Property: Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Address: 147 West 43rd Street, New York City, NY 10036-6575
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#2 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#3 Family Hotel in New York City
#7 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the magic of Times Square just steps from our door, and then escape from it all at this oasis of hospitality, The Casablanca Hotel. Guests are welcome to unwind in Rick’s Cafe with complimentary refreshments 24 hours a day, including the Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning, wine and cheese receptions each evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fruit served throughout the day. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and bottled water is provided daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casablanca Hotel New York City
Casablanca New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing