We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #2 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 2 January 2011

I must say my wife and I had a great time in this hotel. Many hotels in midtown treat you like your a number, but not casablanca. We felt like we mattered and that their staff wanted to make sure we were cared for. We especially like how quiet the hotel was even though your in the bustle of the city. We highly recommend this hotel to everyone and we can't wait to come back and stay again. This is truely one of the best hotels in New York.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,930)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,205 - 4,211 of 5,930 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2011

This was our third stay at the Casablanca, but our first (and hopefully not our last) experience doing the New Years Eve package. It seems pricey at first glance, but it's truly the only way to see the Ball drop. At 3pm, the staff delivered each room their own complimentary bottle of champagne, at 4pm the bar down in the lounge opened and complimentary (and limitless) wine, mixed drinks, cheese, fruits, were offered. The meal down at Tony's was phenomenal, the entertainment there was enjoyable as well. After the meal, another visit to the lounge for some more schmoozing, and then up to the roof where the New Year's Eve ball seems close enough to touch. And again, up on the roof we were greeted with cases upon cases of champagne. After the ball drops, and you catch yourself confetti to your satisfaction, it's back to the lounge where the DJ played an excellent mix of different music to keep everyone interested. My only criticism of the event was that both in the lounge and the restaurant, they could have done a bit better getting folks to loosen up and dance. But still, a fantastic time - a fantastic event.

You are literally 50 feet from the chaos and mayhem of Times Square, so you can venture out if you wish. But who wants to get stuck in a viewing area, with no refreshments, no toilets, no seats, craning your neck for hours on end?

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank jgrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2011

This was our first trip to NYC, and we found the Casablanca Hotel to be perfectly located in Times Square for shopping, dining, shows, and subway travel to everything else we wanted to do and see. The late afternoon wine and cheese provided a great opportunity for us to relax after the days events, and it also provided us the opportunity to socialize with other hotel guests. We made some great friends from England and Australia and very much enjoyed our evening social time with them. The staff was professional, friendly and helpful throughout our stay. We would most definitely return to the Casablanca.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LtColRiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2010

We stayed here for two weeks and it was such a wonderful stay! Friendly staff, clean rooms, and overall hotel was very clean.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank coolmanhotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2010

This was our first time to New York City... and what a great place to stay! Great location..close to so much, and right next to Starbucks!!! The hospitality was wonderful, everyone we talked to was very pleasant and always extended a smile! The lounge was the best part.. cozy, warm, and always stocked with great snacks! The room was perfect.. and quiet.. I never heard anything beyond our room. We did not have a view.. but we were rarely in our room so who cares! I was really happy with the bathroom .. Since it is a smaller, older hotel I assumed maybe the bathroom would be small and little water pressure, etc.. but I was WRONG! After a long day of walking in the cold weather, I looked forward to a long hot bath!! I reserved and paid for my room in advance to take advantage of the discount offered.. would recommend that!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank javagirl39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2010

It is hard to review a hotel with as many glowing comments as the Casablanca Hotel. It was an excellent small boutique hotel in a great location … if you want to be by Times Square. However, after reading all the reviews my expectations were probably too high. Lets start with the good. Creatively decorated hotel that is big on service. The continental breakfast and wine and cheese party every day was wonderful. All but one of the staff went out of their way to be friendly and helpful. Would I stay there again, yes (and I gave it an Excellent rating), but things were not perfect. As I said, most of the staff went above and beyond … except for the head of the front desk. He seemed to look down on everyone and was unwelcoming and at times less than helpful. As an example, we were there right after a blizzard and the streets were a mess. We had reservations at a great restaurant and asked him about getting a cab. His answer was, we can’t get you a cab. He said we should walk a block to Times Square and “leave extra time.” When we went to leave the bellman asked if we wanted a cab, we said yes and he hailed one in about a minute. A couple of people noted street noise. We were on the street side and it was very noticeable about 4 AM when the garbage trucks and delivery vehicles arrive. There is no view (huge skyscraper on the other side and lights from Time Square are noticable) so next time I will ASK FOR A NON-STREET SIDE ROOM. The rooms are typical NYC older hotel size, but if you are not used to them be prepared ... they are small. Making matters worse, there is a huge armoire to accommodate a big, bulky analog TV that had a rather poor picture and a mini bar. Note to the hotel: get rid of the cabinets and old TVs and hang a flat LCD TV on the wall and put the mini bar in one of the bed side tables to give your guest a bit more room. Finally, we were there in December and on the top floor. Our room was hot. The staff said the heat in the heat in the hotel was off and seemed surprised at our comment. As any kid who has taken science will tell you, “heat rises.” In addition, it appears that the vent from the dryers went through the wall by out bathroom since each afternoon a section of the wall was hot to the touch. The windows do open, but then you get more street noise. Next time I will REQUEST A ROOM ON A LOWER FLOOR.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 124C41NewEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnTaboadaNYC, Manager at Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2011

Dear 124C41NewEngland

1. Regarding your suggestion about the televisions and armoires, we have already begun the process for one test room to eliminate the armoire replacing it with something smaller, and wall mounting the television to see how that works out. From there we will be able to decide if we should do the same or try something else for the other rooms.
2. Regarding the heat, we have discussed your comments on this issue with the owner as well and we are going to bring in a few specialists to see if someone can suggest a way of improving the temperature control that hopefully does not involve closing the hotel for a few months.
3. Regarding the Front office Manager, he has taken your comments to heart. It does seem that there was some misunderstanding and he realizes that it is completely his responsibility to communicate more effectively. We assist guests by flagging down cabs all the time and it is our great pleasure to provide that service. During the blizzard, at the time you first asked about a taxi, the police had blocked 43rd street to make it easier for the ploughs, so cars including taxi’s were not passing in front of the hotel at that time. However a short time later the barricades were lifted and taxis were driving by again, which is why Remi was able to assist you. Sometimes as well, there is some misunderstanding with guests who ask for a taxi to be arranged for when they plan to go out a short time later. Although setting an appointment with a taxi is a common practice in other cities, in Manhattan that service is not provided by our yellow cabs. Some guests misunderstand that we don’t want to help, but we are not saying that at all. We just have to wait until you are ready to leave and then we are delighted to flag a cab down for you. Although you can set an appointment for a car and limousine service, there is an hourly rate with a two hour minimum for that service, and that is not usually what our guests are looking for.
Thank you once again for writing. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Please let me know if there is anything else we can do to be of service to you.

if you need further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me at john@casablancahotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2010

We stayed five nights in late November 2010 and choose the Casablanca after reading lots of positive comments in TripAdvisor reviews. And we were not disappointed. Our welcome at 1am was friendly, room was not large but had all we needed, Location was excellent for what we wanted, (to be in middle of action in NYC in a smaller quality hotel), the first floor lounge was the real asset, where we could slip back there for a quiet recharge of coffee, papers, TV, internet, than back out into it. Staff were all very friendly, hotel was clean, everything worked, only about 44 rooms, so nice and intimate. 100% satisfaction

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlanSG053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Crowne Plaza HY36 Midtown Manhattan
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 471 in New York City
1,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Chinatown
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
#7 of 471 in New York City
655 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 471 in New York City
3,825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection

Address: 147 West 43rd Street, New York City, NY 10036-6575
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#2 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#7 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £158 - £304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the magic of Times Square just steps from our door, and then escape from it all at this oasis of hospitality, The Casablanca Hotel. Guests are welcome to unwind in Rick’s Cafe with complimentary refreshments 24 hours a day, including the Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning, wine and cheese receptions each evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fruit served throughout the day. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and bottled water is provided daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casablanca Hotel New York City
Casablanca New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing