We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a good place to enjoy NYC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Vanderbilt YMCA
Reviewed 1 June 2012

this is a nice option if you want to enjoy NYC without spend a fortune.. It's a hostel you share bathroom but the rooms are for 2. the rooms are small but if your plan is explore the big apple and enjoy the city, that small room is all that you need..!!
the prices are acceptable and definitely this is a good option around christmas when everything getting expensive there...

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank PAOLACC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,362)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

407 - 413 of 1,362 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2012

I stayed here for three nights in May and it was very nice, comfortable, and clean. Instead of using the shower on my floor, I went to the downstairs locker room where I was not only able to shower without waiting, but I used the wonderful steam room and sauna. I could have used the gym for workouts, but time did not permit on this visit. The staff was friendly and helpful. I will always stay there when I visit or have business in Manhattan.

Room Tip: I would request a room away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank msaurelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012

I stayed at YMCA Vanderbilt for 3 nights end of April 2012. I had a single room really small but was enough since I was the whole day out. I was a bit disappointed about it since it was pretty expensive. The window had a small part broken. In the first night was really cold, after I was lucky since the weather improved considerably. During the night it was some strange noise, like somebody knocking on the heaters in front the window (btw the heaters did not work). So I'd recommend YMCA only during summer (the AC was working). Anyways, I would not stay once more there.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaUcsare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012

Bed was great! Perfect to rest, and that's it. Absolutely tiny, as much as I had to close and lift my both luggages, otherwise I couldn't move in the room (single bed). The shared bathroom wasn't bad either, but there were anyone on my floor sharing it with me, so it was very clean, not sure how it would be with full floor using it. The terrible part is that you have wifi access, but it doesn't work inside the rooms, so people sit on the corridors outside their room to use internet. Safe..people at front desk check if you have the key to get into the elevator, which I haven't seen in any other place I've stayed in.

Room Tip: Try to get rooms far from the bath...people slap doors all the time..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nina_Novelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

I went with about 30 other students to the YMCA Vanderbilt, Jesus Christ, this place is worst then hell. The window had a gap in, which i thought it would ventilate the room, but no, it was the hottest room ever. The bunk bed didn't have a ladder, so i had to use the chair provided as a ladder. The metal under my top bunk was bent beyond belief, and every time i moved, the whole bed shook, and i often woke my friend up from just turning over. The showers where small and grotty, but that wasn't the worst part. In one of the rooms, there was a cockroach in the light.
So, if you really want to stay in Hell, be my guest.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank J J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2012

Stayed here last week for 2 nites at $105 pn, everything written below is fair and its depends whether you are a fusspot used to 3 star hotels (4/5 star hotel guests will walk out straightaway after looking at the room and the bunk bed which is no bigger than your wc (again this depends which state you live and the size of your wc corrrespond w size of wc). The best reasons for staying here: walking distances to major sights esp Time Square, Top of the Rock, Grand Central (for the market and food halls yes !!. Longer walks say 1.5 miles to Central park or Macy. Near to many eating joints esp good for salad, breakfast (i do not mean fine dinning), big gym with free access to work out.

The downsides - yes it s true, bunk beds that looks like falling apart, rooms with windows that open up to back of building, lino floor (suggest you bring a pair of slipper which is also handy for walking to wc).

Do not expect your room to have a washbasin, mirror, luggage rack, digital tv, window with a view. The wc are designed for men and women and i ll be surprised to see any naked women showering in the men's room (which has only 2 shower heads) and open. If you are a prude, shower with your underwear. Free shampoo but no soap (there was a used one but i rather not catch any exotic disease.

As for transfer to the airport, yes the man at the counter does not take booking after early afternoon. However if you are not luggage big suitcases without wheels it is 20 mins walk to the shuttle bus to airports outside Grand Central station.

Yes, i would come back again but that is because i cannot afford the Grand Hyatt and only need a bed for sleeping.

By the way, wifi is free and okay at the lobby and no reception inside the rooms, which is likely blocking the wifi waves.

Good or bad, its really down to your expectations and wallet size.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Highadventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights seeing the sights of NYC

And for that its almost perfect
Its easy to find and so near everything, this isn't somewhere to be lounging around all day
Sleep there, regroup there and you will do so in comfort and cleaness.

Fine friendly staff, the rooms simple but you get a TV and a fridge and cupboard, my bed was totally fine. If anything the rooms just smelt of cleaner..which to be frank was conforting givent the cheap price I paid for and that its a YMCA

Toilets and showers, yeah they are shared and in locked rooms, but that was fine to , felt comfitable using them all.

This place is more than fine for a place to sleep whilst you are spending your days out exploring the city.

I really recomend

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andrew U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#232 of 470 in New York City
5,007 reviews
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#415 of 470 in New York City
555 reviews
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#383 of 470 in New York City
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Hostelling International - New York
Upper West Side
West Side YMCA
West Side YMCA
#23 of 163 in New York City
1,355 reviews
Upper West Side
Broadway Hotel and Hostel
Broadway Hotel and Hostel
#16 of 163 in New York City
1,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vanderbilt YMCA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vanderbilt YMCA

Address: 224 E 47th St, New York City, NY 10017-2102
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 163 Speciality Lodging in New York City
Price Range: £73 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Vanderbilt YMCA 2*
Number of rooms: 400
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Vanderbilt YMCA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Vanderbilt Ymca Hotel New York City
Ymca Vanderbilt
Ymca New York
New Vanderbilt Ymca York
Vanderbilt Ymca New York
Ymca Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing